We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
New Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #39 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff were extremely helpful kindly doing 2 loads(for the price of 1) of washing late in an evening, returning it dried and folded a few hours later. Free wifi, good location for getting into town, free parking, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

106 - 112 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 12 February 2014

Easy access to the town centre but also a good location to the highways for the local attractions, staff friendly and also a lot cooler when we found the fan in the cupboard to cool the room down. Good information on the local attractions and discount vouchers in reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ijwebb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Staffs were very nice and helpful. We got a unit with spa and we had a good soak after our bike day out. Free wifi for us during our 2days stay. Free parking and quiet and relaxing during our stays. Comfortable bed and a kitchen for us to make our dishes. Nothing much of an issue during our stays.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We chose this motel for the award it had gained last year. it was really disappointing to see that the room service was below par. The beds were never done,no hand wash, no tissues, toilet and bath tub not cleaned,room was not vacuumed during our 3 nights stay,we came back to see the dishes never done. There are many other motels nearby with similar prices and much better service since we have stayed in Rotorua on three previous occasions. I would not recommend this place for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback.

We do practice Towel replacement. (we do have a small notice pasted on the toilet door, "Leave the towels on the floor if you want them to be replaced".)

Many guest would preferred their room Not to be touched during their duration of stay (and we have to respect individual's privacy and living habits), unless they put forward any specific request on room make up (over and above the standard room service we provide).

Many of our guest has re-instated the room back to almost its initial condition (despite the length of their stay with us) which is a very good reflection of themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had three nights here and were expecting more than we got for the price we paid. It's in a reasonable location, but Rotorua is small so most places are. We were 'upgraded' to a family room, it had a room with 2 single beds that you walked through to get to the room with a double bed, kitchenette, small table, which the bathroom was off. The shower did have good water pressure and was nice and hot. The bed was comfortable enough. Wifi is free for 100Mb.

However, there was no housekeeping done during our stay other than being given a roll of toilet paper each day. Our bedding was never touched (I can make it myself, but I thought the housekeeping fairies always made it up like new! part of the upside of staying somewhere), our dishes were never cleaned meaning we came back one day to ants all over the place, the milk/tea/coffee wasn't replaced. We reused our towels until the last day they were still soaking so we asked for them to be replaced - we were given only a towel each, not the face towels, or bathmat we had also given to be replaced. There was no towel rail in the bathroom to hang the towels, nor a handtowel to use. The shower/toilet/basin wasn't cleaned. We had to ask for soap to wash our hands when we first arrived. All the little details that you don't expect to have to chase up so for that price I would save the hassle and find somewhere nicer to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback.

We do practice Towel replacement. (we do have a small notice pasted on the toilet door, "Leave the towels on the floor if you want them to be replaced".)

Many guest would preferred their room Not to be touched during their duration of stay (and we have to respect individual's privacy and living habits), unless they put forward any specific request on room make up (over and above the standard room service we provide).

Many of our guest has re-instated the room back to almost its initial condition (despite the length of their stay with us) which is a very good reflection of themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here one night on 29 December as we drove from Taupo and on our way to Auckland. This place is nothing special - we needed somewhere cheap with a bed and easy to get to. This fit the bill as a functional stay.

We were upgraded to a family room and although arriving early, were able to check in. We had an upstairs room which was clean and spacious. We found it to be more comfortable than expected. We had a good night's sleep in it. We didn't try the spa bath tub in the bathroom but we appreciated the shower being powerful and hot.

The motel is close to Redwood bike park - less than 5 min drive away and also a quick drive to town where all the restaurants are.

Would recommend this as a budget stay if you want something really simple, practical and functional but I wouldn't stay here for more than a couple of nights. The room we had was very clean, no sign of mould as per other reviews.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank meichan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

Booked for 2 nights and was disappointed to find infestation of ants behind kids beds on 2nd night, too late to complain, so highly suggest you do not take a room on ground floor!

Bathroom fixtures were old and worn, had to buy basics, like handsoap ourselves. White towels provided were well used and had yellow stains on them.

Kitchen coffee mugs and plates still had dirt marks. Had to switch on the fridge on arrival so ended up chucking food in our Esky since it took 12 hours to get going before we could put anything in it.

Wifi didnt register on our ipad and reception was unmanned after 7pm, not very helpful.

Overall very disappointed and rather astonished at reviews already listed. They have a tripadvisor plaque in reception, how they scored that is a wonder to me.

It is cheap though, so I guess you get what you pay for. It certainly was not good value in my opinion compared to other motels visited in the same price range.

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank RealFamilyTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for taking your time on writing this review.

However, after detail investigation, we have found no record of such feedback/complaint filed by any of our guest.

Thanks & Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
PURE Motel & Guest House
PURE Motel & Guest House
#55 of 92 in Rotorua
15 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
53 reviews
0.9 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#32 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#66 of 92 in Rotorua
90 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#31 of 92 in Rotorua
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
Apollo Hotel Rotorua
#53 of 92 in Rotorua
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Castle Motor Lodge

Address: 18 Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £50 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Castle Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing