We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
New Castle Motor Lodge
Ranked #38 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at the New Castle Motor Lodge for two nights. We had a studio which had lots of room and a nice kitchen. It is conveniently located in Rotorua and also a great value. It was very quiet without being away from the attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wisconsinron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

103 - 109 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

Stayed in March 2014 and had a very pleasant stay. The room and bathroom was big. The floor plan is open so gives you lots of room for your luggages. Internet was unlimited. And the owner is very nice. He will spend as much time with you as possible as you try to get lots of information about the area and attractions. Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelb4workl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A nice and clean room with attached huge toilet and spa facility. The pantry was equipped with the necessity utensils. Very good location to the city center and various attractions.

The staff were extremely helpful and polite and knowledgeable in recommending the attractions.

We will highly recommend this motel to all and would definitely stay with them again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TGL66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff were extremely helpful kindly doing 2 loads(for the price of 1) of washing late in an evening, returning it dried and folded a few hours later. Free wifi, good location for getting into town, free parking, quiet, clean and comfortable rooms.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

Easy access to the town centre but also a good location to the highways for the local attractions, staff friendly and also a lot cooler when we found the fan in the cupboard to cool the room down. Good information on the local attractions and discount vouchers in reception.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ijwebb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Staffs were very nice and helpful. We got a unit with spa and we had a good soak after our bike day out. Free wifi for us during our 2days stay. Free parking and quiet and relaxing during our stays. Comfortable bed and a kitchen for us to make our dishes. Nothing much of an issue during our stays.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We chose this motel for the award it had gained last year. it was really disappointing to see that the room service was below par. The beds were never done,no hand wash, no tissues, toilet and bath tub not cleaned,room was not vacuumed during our 3 nights stay,we came back to see the dishes never done. There are many other motels nearby with similar prices and much better service since we have stayed in Rotorua on three previous occasions. I would not recommend this place for anyone to stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boon_Sharine, Owner at New Castle Motor Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thanks for your feedback.

We do practice Towel replacement. (we do have a small notice pasted on the toilet door, "Leave the towels on the floor if you want them to be replaced".)

Many guest would preferred their room Not to be touched during their duration of stay (and we have to respect individual's privacy and living habits), unless they put forward any specific request on room make up (over and above the standard room service we provide).

Many of our guest has re-instated the room back to almost its initial condition (despite the length of their stay with us) which is a very good reflection of themselves.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.9 mi away
Accolade Lodge Motel
Accolade Lodge Motel
#34 of 92 in Rotorua
224 reviews
6.2 mi away
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
Lakefront Resort Rotorua
#65 of 92 in Rotorua
54 reviews
0.4 mi away
Green View Hotels
Green View Hotels
#69 of 92 in Rotorua
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fernleaf Motel
Fernleaf Motel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apex on Fenton
Apex on Fenton
#11 of 92 in Rotorua
363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Geneva Motor Lodge
Geneva Motor Lodge
#39 of 92 in Rotorua
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Castle Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Castle Motor Lodge

Address: 18 Ward Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £52 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New Castle Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Castle Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Castle Motor Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing