We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lodge with exceptional proprietors and staff.”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2011

From the moment thay we were warmly greeted in the driveway, this was an exceptional stay. The lodge is like a visit to an English manor in the country-side with all the most up-to-date annenities. Fred and Alex, the proprietors, attended to our every need but without any pretentiousness. They even helped our daughter with her other travel plans. Charlie, the chef, prepared delicious and innovative dishes using local ingredients. His homemade croissants will be a lifetime memory! Since our visit was during the winter, there was a crackling fire to enjoy with our glass of New Zealand wine. Staying at the Hamurana Lodge is like staying with relatives that you really, really like.

Room Tip: Each bedroom and bath is unique. The bathrooms have just been redone and have heated floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wanderer1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2011

Kia Ora From Hamurana - its a real pleasure reading your feedbacks and we are delighted w emade your epxerience a special one. Hoping your daughter's trip to Bali was fantastic and our recommendations worked out. It's always a pleasure sharing our travel experiences. Looking forward to seeing you again Warmest Regards Fred

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Hamurana Lodge as part of our honeymoon in December 2010 (this review is well over due!). It was a real highlight of our trip to New Zealand. We stayed at the lodge over Christmas and Alex and Fred went out of their way to make us feel incredibly welcome and well looked after. In fact it felt more like staying with friends than being in a hotel. The facilities were fantastic from a gorgeously relaxing room to a very well stocked bar and the food cooked by Charlie was just fantastic. I would recommend the Hamurana Lodge to anyone and hope that we can return to stay there again one day.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kweekes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Excellent stay. Hosts are very welcoming, organized and full of good recommendations for activities and dining. Chef was excellent and passionate about the art of cooking. The lodge felt very comfortable and cozy. Nice location near town but far enough away to avoid the sulphur smell of Rotorua. Very well kept grounds. Great views from every room. Loved the pre-loaded itunes in the room. We also enjoyed the nuts and cookies in the room. One of the highlights of our trip and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jj711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

My partner surprised me with diner here for my birthday and I swear this will be one night I will never forget! We felt very welcome and comfortable. The staff we’re amazingly friendly and checked on us thru the night. We found the menu to be very clever and mouth watering! We also had the privilege to meet the head chef and also the owner who were both most helpful with all our questions and made us feel ‘at home’. Our Waiter Jamie kept us well entertained at the bar and was also kind enough to take us for a tour thru the hotel. All and all this was an amazing experience! And we will definitely be returning again.


Thank you so much for a beautiful night.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonz091285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2011

Staying at the Hamurana was one of the most relaxing experiences of our lives (and we have travelled extensively, to almost forty countries). The Lodge and rooms are beautifully appointed. Fred and Alex are delightful and attentive hosts; Jessie was wonderful and professional; and Chef Charlie Browne is truly gifted and innovative. There is no need to have dinner anywhere else!

The grounds are also beautiful and delightful for strolling (and admiring the sheep and donkeys as well). A special treat is playing with Bo and Sonny, two loving dogs who also function as co-hosts!

In short, the Hamurana team understands hospitality and the needs of high-end travellers. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to New Zealand.

Drs. David Boyd & Larry Helfer

Room Tip: The first floor suite is just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoydHelfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

lovely stay! fantastic service & breakfast! the environment is very nice and comfortable. we'll be back!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob_Glyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2011

Kia Ora- thank you so much for your review and we are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your Rotorua getaway with us. Your review arrives on the day we also receive a Service Excellence Award and we are delighted to share it with you-looking forward to hosting you again soon - Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

As you turn into the picturesque property, you know that you are in for something special and with the greeting you receive (probably by the owners- we were) your expectations turn into reality.
The staff seem to be influenced by the warmth exuded by the Lodge itself ...and then there is the food .. not last... not least but simply amazing. Here is a place to spend a week or so and relax...any longer and you may not want to go back to reality.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view to the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsyawch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | Rd7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £175 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing