We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamurana Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (435)
Filter reviews
435 results
Traveller rating
371
48
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
371
48
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinenew zealandwarm croissantscountry estatelong drivewayheated floorsbeautiful propertyour honeymoonboutique hotelrotorua towna wonderful staylovely roomshort drivetwo nightstwo night staypatrickmerlin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 435 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The amazing hospitality at Hamurana started with Alex coming out to greet me as my taxi arrived. I was shown to my room which was spacious and clean with great views over the grounds. Having settled in I was given a tour of the lodge and invited to join my hosts for a drink. I was made to feel so at home and within a very short time we were chatting away as though we had known each other for years. Fred and Alex gave me loads of great suggestions of things to see and do while in the area and it was clear that they were very knowledgeable about not only the local area but also the rest of New Zealand. I spent a very enjoyable evening in their company and slept so well thanks to the combination of the comfortable bed and tranquil surroundings. The attention to detail from the hosts and staff at the lodge was impeccable. Breakfast the following morning was great and the views from breakfast table were lovely. I was given a lovely tour of the grounds too, taking plenty of photos to show people back home. I would go back in a heartbeat. Thank you so much for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Kia Ora Chris - a real pleasure welcoming you to our Boutique Hotel, the team is delighted to know you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and indulged in our awesome beddings with peace and quiet - do visit us again soon , warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My Husband and I visited the restaurant for dinner and I can honestly say it was the best meal I have had in New Zealand. Perfect lamb, and the beef was mouth watering - and as for the chocolate desert - heaven on a plate!! Charlie (the chef) came out to talk us through the meal and the organic focus and local sourcing of all foods is impressive. Fred and Alex were perfect hosts, and made us feel so welcome. I can not recommend the lodge highly enough. The decor is fabulous, and its warm and inviting 'feel' is wonderful and all set in the most amazing gardens - Can't wait to go back. Thank you so much to all the team at Hamurana Lodge - you're amazing!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

If you are heading to Rotorua - this should be your stop. We stayed at the Lodge for 3 nights during our honeymoon, and this was our 2nd stop. Upon arrival, you are greeted by one of the hosts (Charlie or Jenna), and immediately offered a beverage and a tour of the grounds. Although there are 10 rooms, we really felt like we were there all alone due to the level of attention and privacy. The Lodge is about 10-15 minutes outside of Rotorua, so there is no sulphur smell - just a beautiful view of the lake. The food and wine selection is top notch, and the view from the patio while having breakfast is an excellent way to start the day. Alex and Fred have truly created a lovely boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnylynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Kia Ora and again congratulations on your wedding. It was a real pleasure for the team and especially Jenna and Charlie to host you during your stay and let you experience our award wining cuisines and wines - Looking forward to your next visit for the anniversary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2011

We have just returned from a rugby trip to New Zealand. Our first stop off was Hamurana Lodge, What a fantastic start to the holiday. The hotel and grounds were beautiful with extremely high standards and attention to detail. Alex and Fred were brilliant - friendly, warm and helpful. Drinking in the bar with them was like being with old friends. The fine dining restaurant was excellent with food sourced from the local area and Charlie took the time to go through our choices with us. Everything about Hamurana was first class including the location, just minutes from central Rotorua but set in a haven of tranquilaty. Thanks Alex and Fred for such a lovely first experience in New Zealand. Sue and Glyn

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have stunning views of Lake Rotorua.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Humdinger707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

My husband and I stayed two nights at Hamurana Lodge and we were very impressed by the warmth of our welcome and the wonderful service we received over those two days. Everything about the lodge is five star and had a warm wonderful feeling. The fine dinning restaurant was also excellent.
We travelled onto Huka lodge and apart from the scenery, wished we had stayed at Hamurana lodge those extra couple of days.
We would like to thank everyone at Hamurana Lodge for their kindness and especially the information on that lovely walk by the river which we would have missed and not known the beauty of the spot.
Rhonda & Rick Lawrence

Room Tip: The suite had all you could want.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhonda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2012

Kia Ora Rhonda & Rick, warm thank you for your wonderful feedbacks and we look forward to hosting you for the full 4 days on your next visit to the region. The Hamurana Springs is indeed our little hidden gem, off the beaten tracks which shows the real soft pure NZ. See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews