We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Week-end stay at Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Ca
2 reviews
“Week-end stay at Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Last week-end my husband and I spend two wonderful nights at the Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua. Traveling is our passion and we go out of our way to find unique accommodations where we can relax and be pampered. We definitely hit the jack pot with Hamurana Lodge! From our beautiful, well appointed room to the delicioius breakfast we thought things couldn't get any better until we arrived back at the lodge on a rainy afternoon to find Patrick coming to meet us with umbrellas! That evening we ordered one of their delicious platters for dinner....cheese, salmon, breads, spreads,, etc. etc. ....another example of the 'above and beyond' service you will receive in Hamurana Lodge. We are anxiously awaiting our next stay in July!

Room Tip: We had a wonderful room...#9...on the top floor. It was sunny, comfortable, and very quiet. Didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimDAuburn_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Kia Ora and thanks for your lovely message. It was a pleasure for Patrick and the team to host you and provide you with a unique home for your weekend away with the luxuries of the platter and home cooked croissants - See you again in July
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
268
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This is a truly unique experience. It is a historical lodge with all the amenities of of a boutique luxury hotel. The staff is amazing; very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was delishus! The only downside is that some parts of the hotel seem a bit worn down.

Room Tip: Go for the smaller rooms with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jorge G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Kia Ora Thanks for your lovely message - delighted you enjoyed a peaceful and unique experience with us and we will look at those areas in more details to spring them up :) - See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

This was a really great place to stay:
The rooms are spacious and beautiful with confortable beds.
The staff are really helpful for diner and activities.
The house is awesome with great common part: a nice pool room with bar, beautiful restaurant to have your breakfast with the view on the lake.
The breakfast was really good.
This is definitively the place to go to visit Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Hello and warmest thanks for your lovely words, pleasure hosting you and making this stay special . The northern part of the lake is indeed a divine and peaceful sight and we look forward to seeing you again in the future for more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

My son (14) and I stayed at Hamurana Lodge in the Family suite. It was the highlight of our trip to New Zealand from the moment we arrived until we checked out. My only regret is that we only stayed 1 night. To add further weight to this review, I work in quality, risk and safety and I also conduct audits. I could not fault anything about the place or the staff....only praise and more praise!!!!

Hamurana Lodge's staff were exceptional (Jenna, Alex & Kelsey); the best customer service I have ever experienced!!!! Highend service in a relaxed homely atmosphere. The staff are a credit to the themselves and the owners.

Rooms are large, clean, airy and the beds are just devine. Property is located in a quite position with lake views from our room. The surrounding gardens are beautiful and loved the animals on the property as well. Be sure to give Sunny the dog a good pat.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlobaltravellerG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
What a review - very proud to share this with the team and to see we exceeded - it was a real pleasure to host you both. Our team is indeed very special and takes great pride in all they do so they very much enjoyed providing you with a special experience. As for Sonny he will get a hug from you both and looks forward to having you visit again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

My partner and I relished the opportunity to experience Hamurana Lodge. We stayed for 2 nights which was incredible as we were close enough to Rortorua but managed to be away from the hustle of the city! This is the ideal base to explore the surrounding regions such as Lake Taupo & Mt Manganui which are both an hour's drive away. The hospitality and feel of the lodge makes Hamurana stand out from the rest. The staff members were very accommodating and personable. We also very much enjoyed the L'Occitane amenities. We highly recommend Hamurana Lodge as your Home away from Home in Rotorua! Many thanks to the team for the commitment to service excellence!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank procritic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Thank you so much it was a pleasure hosting you at the lodge and yes it is a great base to explore. come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2013

We had four days to experience the north island after spending two weeks in Australia. We decided to use Rotorua as our central location and the Hamurana Lodge as our home away from home. Wow! We had very high expectations after reading all of the reviews and Fred, Jenna, and Alex exceeded all of them. We stayed in a fabulous suite overlooking the property with a slight view of the lake. We arrived at 9pm the first night and starving -- and the most amazing platter was prepared in short order (so good we dined in again the fourth night!!). We were given excellent suggestions and directions by the staff for hikes, activities in the area, and restaurants. The service and amenities were wonderful (breakfast, wine, pool table, reading rooms, walking the grounds). Every time we returned from an outing a staff member greeted us in the driveway, welcomed us back, and asked if we needed anything - "Why yes, how about a glass of Syrah." Thanks Hamurana Lodge. You made our vacation.
-Greg & Cheryl

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 May 2013
Kia Ora to both of you, thank you for your lovely words shared amongst our great dedicated team. The Superior Suites are indeed a real pleasure to indulge in and guess what- The Syrah is poured so we are waiting for your next visit :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2013

My husband and I spent a few nights at the lodge! We loved the our room. The heated tile was a treat on a chilly fall morning!
The owners were so wonderful and gracious. When we first arrived after traveling half way around the world, a platter of cheeses, meats and salads were suggested as our evening meal. This could not have been better! except for the glass of wine or 2 that we had go with it.
In the morning breakfast buffett had a nice fresh variety for everyone. The fresh out of the oven croissant was to die for.
I have to say one more thing.... the bed was heaven at the end of the day. Thanks for making our visit to your area even better!!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcizzz123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
A real pleasure reading your feedback - it was superb to host you and delighted to know you indulged in our new dinning concept of gourmet platters with some great wines. Beds are indeed heaven and they will await for your return soon - Warmest regards from the entire team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#23 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing