We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Our stay was just perfect. The standard of accommodation is 5 star. Without any doubt the service is perfection and aimed at making each guest feel pampered and special. In this case the word "guest" is an understatement because we were made to feel like we belonged.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RvO58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Truly thankful of your lovely feedback. The essence of our offering is very much summarized in your two words of ''guests that belong'' . It was a pleasure having you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel while in Rotorua and we look forward to your return. Warmest Winter Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
265
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beechworth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

This absolutely delightful boutique hotel was just what we needed for our weekend mini break! We felt like the lord and lady of the manor from the moment we arrived. Our room was wonderfully comfortable with views over Lake Rotorua. Quality toiletries in the bathroom and bath robes in the cupboard ensured we could start and finish the day in luxury, but really it is the service that sets Hamurana Lodge apart. Patrick and Laura ensured we felt welcome from the moment we arrived, producing tea and coffee for us at odd hours of the day and night. Our dinner bookings were handled with a smile and every single time we arrived or left, Patrick was there to see if we needed help with anything. For a quiet weekend, a honeymoon or a pampering experience, this is the place to go.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora and our warmest sincere thanks for a lovely review. It was a pleasure for Patrick and Laura to host you on your mini break and trust we will have the chance of you returning soon and sharing Hamurana Lodge with many others .
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

Upon arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and offered drinks while we settled in. The staff provided wonderful suggestions on where to drink and dine in town, and the best sites to visit and things to do.

The grounds we stunning, surrounded by farmland with gorgeous views of the lake while being far enough away to avoid the sulphur smell!

Will definitely be back and raving about it to everyone who will listen!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
KiaOra Amber, lovely to read your review - pleasure having you on a relaxing time away while visiting central North Island. Come back on a longer escape soon. Warmest regards to both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katikati, New Zealand
Level Contributor
137 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

We only had one night at Hamurana Lodge but it was a very pleasant place to stay. We were welcomed by Fred who made us feel very welcome. He had great local knowledge and was very chatty and friendly, he pointed us in the direction of eat street and told us all about the local eateries and we went into Rotorua for dinner and ended up at an excellent pub called the Pig and Whistle which I would also recommend.
Our room was very comfortable and warm and spacious, looking out over lovely green fields to the lake beyond. We had a very nice breakfast of warm croissants, cereal, fruit and cold meats and cheese. A nice way to start the day. I would definitely recommend this boutique hotel. It is a short drive into Rotorua city so close to all the fantastic attractions but with all the benefits of being in the countryside. My husband went fly fishing in a local river and was very happy to have caught 4 fish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 610Margaretd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you Margaret, a pleasure hosting you and delighted to be part of a great fishing positive fishing day - come back and visit soon ,
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

What a wonderfully romantic and relaxing venue! Our room was magnificent and the hospitality was above and beyond. We were greeted instantly upon arrival and the staff were always eager to make our stay a memorable one. I wish we would have had more time....
Treat yourself with this one....

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora William, Cheers for your review shared with the team. Glad you enjoyed the hospitality and the wonderful cosy facilities we provide and we hope you will visit us again this year..why not? :)
See you soon
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
252 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We arrived in the evening and the weather was terrible but the welcome was lovely. We did struggle to find the entrance in the fog and rain but was not disappointed when we arrived. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and shown to our room. The stairs are steep and narrow but there is a lift. The room was spacious as was the bathroom. Loved the underfloor heating in the bathroom. That was the only heating we had on and it kept the room warm all night. Bed was comfy and wanted to bring the duvet inner home with me. We didn't want to go out so had the platter. At $95 was not cheap but was more than the 2 of us could eat. Well cooked prawns, salmon, meats, cheeses etc. The breakfast was wonderful if you like continental. Plenty of variety. Staff were attentive but kept in the background and nothing was too much trouble. There wasn't any SKY in the bedrooms but in a separate room downstairs which was opened up for us to watch the sports game. The free WIFI was a bonus as well.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaupoSheryll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Kia Ora, Thank you for your wonderful feedback and delighted to hear you made use of our facilities for a cosy and enjoyable escape including our lovely gourmet platters. The underfloor heating is indeed a real delight at this time of the year. Visit us again soon,
warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

If you want somewhere relaxed, with a warm cosy feel, then stay at Hamurana Lodge. The house is beautiful, the staff go above and beyond making you feel welcome. It really was an absolute perfect get away. Don't miss out!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Cheers Rosie for your feedback but first of all for choosing Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your stay in Rotorua. A pleasure hosting you and hope you will return soon
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing