We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places we have ever stayed in!”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #8 of 54 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed in Hamurana Lodge to celebrate our engagement and I can easily say that it is one of the best places we have ever stayed in! The house was beautiful and immaculately clean. It felt like stepping into a stately home but with none of the pretentiousness. The staff members were fantastic! They were incredibly friendly and helpful and made sure that everything was perfect for us. The food was exceptional - they were able to cater for my vegetarian requirements at short notice and provided us with a mouth-watering platter full of fresh ingredients and locally sourced produce. Our room was sensational with an absolutely giant bathroom and everything was decorated stylishly. We loved feeding the donkey and goat outside and saying hello to the pigs! The fresh croissants served for breakfast were a nice touch as well. Hamurana Lodge is a wonderful place and we can fully recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mairi87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback - again our warmest congratulations on your engagement, delighted you chose Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel to celebrate it. The platters are a pure delight in the evening for a cosy time glad you enjoyed it. Come back soon
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 429 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I were there as part of our honeymoon in NZ and it was amazing. The whole staff was very warm and close, they all helped us to prepare our trip in Rotorua. As the hotel was almost empty they upgraded us to the biggest room, an exceptional one with all the facilities! Also the food was excellent, the breakfast was delicious, JUST PERFECT!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clpedmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Hola Kia Ora, Pleasure reading and sharing your comments with the team. Glad to hear you loved our services, room offerings and award winning hospitality. Come back soon for more croissants :) Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Beautiful property with a lot of charm and character. Rotorua is a dumpy town, so you'll appreciate being in such pleasant surroundings.

Patrick was outstanding and couldn't do enough for us. Lauren was more distant, but completely efficient.

Get the gourmet platter--it's excellent. Two areas for improvement: towels and amenities in the bathroom are weak, and the cold breakfast is repetitive and uninspired. The worst we've had in New Zealand though still not bad.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 136ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for your review and constructive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the charm and character of the property and our team's services and hospitality. Come back and visit us again soon, Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a house! From afar, it looks like an old English cottage...and well, the Rolls Royce waiting for you just by the etrance door won't make you feel any differently. Very warm staff, always there to help without being too intrusive. The room was just a dream : very, very large, with full equipment (coffee machine, bathtub AND shower, hifi system...) and a lovely decoration.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Delroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Hello and many thanks for your lovely review. A real pleasure to know that your stop in Rotorua while visiting NZ was filled with pampering and indulgence at the lodge and that you enjoyed the entire facilities and room amenities - especially the Nespresso coffee machine for that early morning wake up. Looking forward to your return. Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

My entire family of four loved the Hamurana Lodge. It was a great change from hotels and the long hours of flying to New Zealand from the US. Patrick and the entire staff couldn't have been more gracious or welcoming. Breakfast was exceptional - on par with the Sofitel in Auckland. The lodge was charming and serene. Patrick helped us make the most of our three day trip to Rotorua. The only glitch was the distance from Waitomo where we went through the glowworm caves. But the roads were good and our daughter was used to driving in NZ as she had been there for her spring semester. Zorbing was tremendous fun - ten minutes away and the Maori experence was fascinating. Thanks to the entire team for a great stay.

Room Tip: we stayed on the top in the two room family suite - the kids loved the heated bathroom floor tiles...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdmom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Kia Ora, Hello - Great to hear from you and the family. It was a real pleasure for all of us to host you at Hamurana Lodge Boutique Hotel for your extended stay. Delighted to know we have been equally compared to a large luxury brand - a real pride especially as being one of our favourite hotels in Auckland :) . Come back soon as many more activities are awaiting and more of the pampering at the lodge. Warmest regards, the entire Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We spent two nights at the Lodge and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was comfortable and well-appointed and the service was attentive without being obtrusive. Our hosts were very accommodating and made us feel welcome. A comment in another review resonated with me, "Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff". This is true and in my opinion the very best part of staying at Hamurana Lodge.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank bronwen_kerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Kia Ora Bronwen, thanks for your lovely feedback - the team is delighted to know their genuine care and hospitality as works once again - come back again soon
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

What a breath of fresh air and so what we needed...to be pampered with exceptional service, spectacular surroundings, ease of access and a definite need to return sometime soon. It was lovely to come home to visit NZ (expat) and stay somewhere so warming. Drinks were offered on arrival, food offered on our return from sightseeing daily and breakfast was nothing short of delectable. We were always greeted getting out of our car and walked inside as if we were family. Nothing was too much bother for the outstanding staff. I also wanted to comment on the wonderful underfloor heating in the ensuite...wow.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2013

Thank you immensely Jacqui for wonderful feedback. Wonderful having you back home. Come again to enjoy soon, Warmest regards from all of us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
795 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
6.7 mi away
Prince's Gate Hotel
Prince's Gate Hotel
#22 of 91 in Rotorua
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#38 of 91 in Rotorua
190 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
4.6 mi away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | Rd7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 54 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £108 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing