We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hamurana Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$151
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$153
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$111
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveller rating
372
48
11
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
372
48
11
3
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnespresso machinenew zealandwarm croissantscountry estatelong drivewayheated floorsbeautiful propertyour honeymoonboutique hotelrotorua towna wonderful staylovely roomshort drivetwo nightstwo night staypatrickmerlin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
189 - 194 of 436 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Exzeptionell style, warmly furnished. If you arrive late, there is an exzellent offer of the kitchen: a big platter of various ham cheese, olives, salat and much more next to the fire place.
For warmer seasons there is a garden view terrace with view over the beautiful park and its animals. Short drive of 12 min.to town of Rotorua. Rooms to the garden are beautiful and tasteful furnished with big bath.

Room Tip: If you don't want to stay in touristic Rotorua but at a romantic countryside style hotel in Short distance to town
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aline4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Aline you are very welcome and it was a pleasure offering you our platter options and that you indulge in a great cosy stay during your time in Rotorua. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this quiet and fine hideaway. Lovely location, estate, decor, facilities. It definitely delivered on quality and service. It was the little details that made this place special, from the warm welcome by Patrick, to the lovely chocolates left on our bedside table. Everything was done with great care and finesse. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west as it gives a view of the hill with sheep grazing. Quiet
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytraveller162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely review of your hideaway time with us. We hope to see you again very soon for more chocolate and indulgence - Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

From the minute we turned into the leafy, winding driveway and were greeted warmly at the front door, Hamurana Lodge promised to be a special place to stay for our brief over night escape. We were served with a pot of Earl Grey and home made nougat before being shown to our spacious suite on the first floor. This was beautifully furnished with real attention to detail - our own Nespresso machine, complementary sweets and roasted nuts and a nice surprise - an IPod already loaded with an excellent selection of Jazz classics. The bathroom was spotless - always a big deal with us and the bed linen was top quality. Our host immediately set about recommending a restaurant for dinner ( which turned out to be excellent) and promptly made a booking for us. Breakfast hit just the right spot - a generous selection of cold meats, cereals and fruit and some very special home made croissants. We sat on the front porch over looking the stunning gardens and felt rather wonderful ! We thoroughly recommend this lodge for a very quiet break - you'll truly be looked after.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rresti1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Kia Ora - Wonderful feedback shared , many thanks, a real pleasure to know we impressed and you fully enjoyed your escape. Hope to see you again soon for more croissants :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

These guys provide great boutique service and customer experience.

The long and winding road to the hotel entrance was a nice way to get used to the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

The service was exceptional and professional.

Breakfast was fresh and very nice.

We arrived before checkin time and they were all too happy to settle and check us in.

The rooms are very nice with a great country feel.

The destination is a great escape into a different world.

Couples only. Not suitable for families.

Room Tip: All quite nice. try to get the rooms in the main building above the restaurant/living areas.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fishinwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you so much for your feedback - wonderful to have hosted you and that you fully relaxed and enjoyed the varied services of our team. Come back again soon and try our Suites for those added extras. See you again soon, warmest regards from Hamurana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Beautifully appointed lodge. spotless.
From arrival met at the car, complimentary coffee, bags carried to the room, provided with local knowledge, activities were booked with pick up from the lodge.Loved the decor friendly warm staff. Fred and Alex target was to achieve a perfect hotel and they have succeeded

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank williamkelly2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fred n, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Many thanks William - pleasure reading your feedback and sharing them with other travellers. We are both very proud of the services provided and the wonderful team onsite working with us who are the ''gem'' of the property. Come back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews