We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old World Charm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Old World Charm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I were lucky enough to spend three nights at Hamurana Lodge in November 2013 and cannot express how much we enjoyed our stay. Upon arrival we were greeted by our hosts Patrick and Joey. The service from that moment was exceptional and could not be faulted.
Our room was immaculate and sheer luxury. We slept wonderfully in the very comfortable bed.
On our first night we did not feel like going out for a meal and enjoyed the amazing platter that is offered. Make sure you have a big appetite.
Breakfast was a treat with fresh croissants served, we could have eaten them for breakfast, lunch and dinner.
We spent our time exploring Rotorua but ensured we enjoyed everything Hamurana Lodge had to offer. There was something special about sitting in the lounge area listening to classic music and just being relaxed. Oh and the chandeliers are so beautiful.
Nothing was too much for our wonderful hosts who ensured we were always taken care of and were always helpful. We cannot thank Patrick and Joey enough for making our stay so special.
Thank you for providing good old fashion service and great hospitality.

Room Tip: I am sure any of the rooms will be suitable. We stayed in a queen room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkantlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Wonderful to hear from you and Patrick&Joey were delighted to host you in style and pamper you during your stay with us. Glad you loved that platter it's an awesome way to relax inhouse with a nice bottle of wine. We look forward to your return visit and Happy New Year to you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
264
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cloverdale, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had just gotten off of a cruise ship, 4 days prior to arriving at Hamurana Lodge, so we were expecting a downgrade in service, compared to the ship, but this was not the case. Patrick was there to meet us when we arrived and from then on, treated us like Royalty. The owners are lucky to have Patrick as a manager, and he seems to do the work of what would probably be a number of people anywhere else.
The lodge is absolutely beautiful , has a ton of character , even down to the chickens greeting you outside the front door in the morning.
If you're going to Rotorura , don't even consider a hotel, stay here, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ianhadden2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

the place has a very nice atmosphere (old house, quiet pool area,..). The host were very nice and helpful. We've been upgraded and the room was so nice that we're thinking taking some ideas to refursbish our own home! best hotel of our holiday in NZ

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bibbouze42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Kia Ora Bonjour - a real pleasure reading your feedback. We were delighted to host you and let you escape from the rush of the city while enjoying the service we pride ourselves in. Thank you for the nice comment on being one of your favourite in NZ. Come back soon and have a fabulous 2014
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013

Had a wonderfull stay, very friendly and helpfull people, super location, very good massage,very nice and big room with nespresso, what else..... super deluxe bathroom, it was all perfect and will be back next year

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank filip m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Filip, So great to hear from you and read your superb feedback. It was a pleasure for the team to host you for your week retreat and we look forward to having the chance of seeing you again. Have a fantastic New Year for 2014 and all the warmest wishes from the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andorra la Vella, Andorra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

This property is classed as a "luxury lodge" but it is a dated house in urgent need of refurbishment. The stair carpet is threadbare as you enter, there is a ridiculous rolls Royce parked outside the front door which does nothing other than obstruct the entrance so that you park a little further away and carry your bags further and give the false impression of an upmarket property ! The bedroom furniture is second rate at best, the bathrooms are dated, the lack of light in the dressing/suitcase area, as pointed out in another review is irritating, the tv is tiny, wall mounted and has only 2 or 3 channels, and no international news channels, the breakfast is no better than one would expect at the most basic motel, and to charge $25 for a half bottle of wine in the room when the basic room rate at already more than $600 is a joke. The saving grace of this property is the staff, Kim, in particular is excellent, a really great girl who cannot do enough for you, but everything else is seriously over rated and over priced. This place could be so much better with lovely grounds, it is a beautiful location and a great size, they should totally refurbish and be offering mountain bikes, golf clubs, and hiking guides, all complimentary at the very least and then it could be a "luxury lodge", in the meantime the prices should be halved !!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Benji3636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Kia Ora to you both and thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We are very sorry you didn't enjoy our facilities and property which is a shock to the team as nothing was mentioned during your one night with us. We have shared your feedback for future improvements of the property and commended Kim on her excellent work. We are very proud of our team's services which have awarded us many accolades. Thanks again for your visit. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Lovely refurbished manor in beautiful countryside with very attentive service. We were lucky and received an upgrade on arrival. The suite was large and well decorated, stylish and welcoming. The heated floors in the bathroom were a nice addition and the luxurious bathroom products were an unexpected treat. Located about 20 mins drive from Rotorua it isn't the easiest place to find but it's well worth the stay and certainly looked like one of the best places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexHo2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexSogno, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Alex, Wonderful to read your comments and to have hosted you. The team was delighted to provide the services we are known for and let you experience what true genuine hospitality is. Hope you will return soon Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
187 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

This is a hard review tio write because while we enjoyed our stay at Hamurana Lodge and the people there were very welcoming and friendly, we didn't feel it was value for the money spent. We had two adjoining rooms, each with there own bathroom and bedroom. We stayed for three nights at a cost of around $1100 per night for ourselves and the two boys. For that sort of money we were expecting something with a 5-star, 'special' feel to it. While our bedroom was comfortably furnished we had only one bedside lamp on one side of the bed and no in-room fridge although we did have a Nespresso machine and pods/milk, etc. The wardrobe under the eave of the roof had no light in it which made finding items in one's suitcase a bit of a challenge at times. The bathroom was not what we would regard as 5-star. For a start, we were given only one cake of soap to use at both the handbasin and in the shower. This is a pet peeve of ours as a cake of soap is only about 90 cents and yet the lack of a second cake really annoys! The shower was over the single-sized spa bath and the fittings were less than 5-star with a plastic cistern and standard plastic toilet seat to match.
Breakfast should have been something memorable and it was, - but for the wrong reasons. While there was a selection of meats and cheeses for those that like that sort of breakfast, as well as stewed fruit and cereals, etc, we were only offered a hot breakfast on one of our three mornings and that was a choice of eggs boiled, poached or fried. We were also given home-made croissants each day, fresh from the oven, but that was the limit of the breakfast. Again, we felt it was rather meagre for the amount we were paying to stay there.

Overall, we were quite disappointed - we expected a lot more than we got. We will not return and nor would we recommend it to others which is a shame because the staff really were terribly nice people and very helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs at the front have a nice lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fred N, General Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for your feedback. Very happy to hear of your enjoyment of your stay and our team's services and very sorry to hear of your disappointment in our rooms. We could have easily assisted you with these items directly during your stay. We have taken all your recommendations into consideration. In regards to breakfast we do indeed offer a French and Continental breakfasts only to all guests as per the offerings on our website. Once again our sincere apologise for your disappointment and thank you for your commending comments for our team. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
12.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#40 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing