We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil and friendly”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil and friendly”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Overwhelmingly friendly welcome set the tone for our brief stay here. We were made to feel very special and well looked after from the moment we drove up the long driveway. We left a pair of earphones which were sent back to Australia the following week. Great service guys.

Room Tip: Room 6 not the best for those needing to get up during the night due to the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Kia Ora Mike & Jan, it was a great pleasure hosting you both. I believe Rotorua is a bit different from busy Melbourne.Hope you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and come back to visit the neighbour some other time. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
276
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was such a relaxing place to stay - we really felt at home from the very beginning. They met us at the steps, carried our bags up, asked us if we wanted a cup of tea or coffee. We were shown to our room and it was simply great. Very spacious, clean and comfortable. Great views of the country-side and lake. They helped us with recommendations for activities and even arranged the bookings and transportation for us. The breakfast was just right. We were sad we only planned to stay one night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VM_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
it's sad to say good bye to families, but it also means a return in the near future. Rotorua has lots to do and see, do come back and explore more. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We really enjoyed staying here. Probably the nicest place on our tour of new zealand. Fantastic staff (little touches like meeting us on the steps as we drove up, to great tour advice, etc) Very nice room. Lovely light breakfast. Enjoyable evening playing Snooker!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
Thank you Stephen for your review, we are very happy to hear that you recommend us as the place to stay. We do hope to see you again also your family and friends in the near future. Have a wonderful weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Currumbin, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here recently and we were warmly treated by the staff. The customer service was excellent but we found the rooms pretty run down and needing a face lift. My husband and I remarked, if you came here thinking this was a 4 star establishment, you would be pleasantly surprised but 5 star expectations might leave you a little under whelmed. Don't let this turn you off though....the country setting is stunning, the service is first rate, the breakfast is beautiful, the people are friendly. We would definitely stay here again. The manager was very helpful in suggesting excellent local restaurants and private hot pools and gave us a bag with towels to take along on our trip....lovely touch.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SherelleFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Kia Ora Sherelle, thank you very much for your comments. We constantly look into improving our room facilities, and have included your suggestion into our next maintenance programme. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we will be delighted to see you again at Hamurana Lodge. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We only had one night here but it was lovely. The driveway leading up to the house really sets the stage for a gracious home. Very helpful staff and service. Beautiful view of the lake. very good breakfast with croissants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loc123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you very much for your review. Many guests like to take a walk along the driveway, Merlin the donkey and Lee the goat are always around to say hi. We are glad to hear that you also enjoyed the breakfast here and our croissants are always fresh from the oven. Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 March 2014

A brilliantly different hotel located a couple of miles out of town, away from any aromas of sulphur; Hamurana Lodge is located in its own very large, beautifully tended grounds & provides everything a discerning traveller could wish for, from a wide choice of breakfast items, a small gymnasium, outdoor swimming pool & beautiful gardens to roam. The staff were all excellent - friendly without interfering - helpful above & beyond the expected level - knowledgeable & efficient - & they provided us with an excellent stay with their overall very high quality.

Room Tip: We were given a top floor room, accessible via fairly steep stairs, but it was worth the small extra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hello Alan, thank you for your review. Many guests agree with you that our distance from town is just right, away from the smell and handy to access most sites. Our rooms have different layouts and colour schemes, do come back and try another room. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Wow. This was by far my favorite place we stayed in New Zealand during our 3 week tour.

The staff and accommodations were lovely. The vibe is a mix of old and modern, with a very warm staff. They will always greet you at the door and are quick to offer you a beverage or help you with your luggage/reservations/things to do. The room had a great mix of old and new furniture that really complimented the beautiful architecture and surroundings. The bed was huge and very soft... it was hard to get up each morning, until you realized that you were going to eat some home made croissants (to die for!). It felt like you were staying with a very wealthy family member at a luxurious estate-- at home with just a touch more sophistication.

We loved Patrick (!!) the most. My husband, unfortunately, got a horrible sinus infection. Patrick was able to help us get an appointment with a local doctor and offer lots of hot tea before he turned down our beds at night. And Sunny-- the lab. What a great dog.

The best part of the experience were all of the small surprises throughout our visit. We got large chocolates on the luxurious down pillows each night after turn down. Heated towel racks? Don't mind if I do! Relaxed music on the ipod powered radio in the room each night when we returned from dinner-- YES! They even gave me tupperware to pack breakfast for my husband before we left on a long day trip. The best surprise was when we left. We left on Christmas day and found a small gift with a card from the staff. This was truly the icing on the cake.

We loved the Hamurana Lodge and can't wait to come stay again!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elisa334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Elisa, it's great to hear from you and thank you very much for sharing your experience. It was my pleasure to be able to help out with the doctors. Sonny has been waiting for you to come back and give him a scratch behind his ears :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
182 reviews
6.9 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing