We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended boutique B&B”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night on our way to Hawkes Bay from Auckland. As we pulled up Patrick was waiting outside to greet us, park our car and arrange for our luggage to be brought to the room. The room was lovely, cozy and really just what a boutique b&bs room should be. It is close to town so we drove into Rotorua for takeaway, the drive took 10-15 minutes there and back on a well lit road. Patrick and Sil were great hosts and we both agreed we would definitely back on our next trip to Rotorua.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Kia Ora, it's our pleasure to have you at Hamurana Lodge for a short night's stay and let you experience our hospitality. Hope you also enjoyed Hawkes bay as there are some great vineyard around that area and a couple of our house wines are from that region. Do come back and experience more. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (410)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 410 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hamurana Lodge was one of the great treats and finds during our travel to New Zealand this April. The hotel is everything it says it is, plus more. It is an intimate, truly 5 star hotel, offering ambience, impeccable service, superb rooms outfitted perfectly, and an array of services that made our stay not just a delight, but a pleasure. Upon our arrival they helped us book activities in Rotorua, and during the duration of our stay they were attentive to our needs. It is a classy hotel with classy staff. It is true the drinks were expensive - but where in New Zealand are they not? This hotel was a highlight of our visit, and we plan to return on our next journey to the North Island. New Zealand has much to offer, but you will be hard pressed to find a building, location, and atmosphere of intimacy and luxury that beats the Hamurana Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It is a small hotel, and each room shares a similar rural view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you Karl and Camille for sharing your experience, our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hamurana Lodge. One night is definitely not enough to experience what Rotorua has to offer, but it gives you a reason to return. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We booked our seats for the "Paul Potts" Concert. Several weeks later I saw a Wotif special for the Hamurana Lodge. We watched this being built and always admired the traditional architecture and the rural setting so we were quite excited to take the opportunity to stay there - despite the atrocious Easter weather the quiet location was perfect. We were spoilt with an upgrade to a luxurious suite. The French style breakfast was delicious. Thank you to Patrick and his attentive staff for contributing to a very special weekend break with the wonderful concert and perfect accommodation.
:-) Z & M

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Kia Ora Mike, it's our pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay at Hamurana Lodge. Rotorua has a lot going on year round, events, activities, our beautiful lakes and mountains are always there. Do come back for your next weekend getaway. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My Husband and I stayed 2 nights recently and we thought we were staying in a 5 star boutique spa hotel. When we booked 5 th March the website said the Hotel had a restaurant, spa and included 8 minute scenic helicopter flight. No Restaurant a 10 K trip for food. No Spa and No helicopter flight. Very old information. We had booked this hotel as our first 2 nights to relax before our journey of the rest of New Zealand. The rooms were comfortable but not 5 star. The breakfast was very nice and the staff also very friendly . We had a couple of drinks the first night and at $10 each for a very small standard glass was very disappointed. My husband complained about the misrepresentation so our drinks bill was halved. $20 off was no where near enough after paying$700 for 2 nights accomadation. Also very dark entrance no lighting and very difficult to find. I think it has seen better days but would not recommend this hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gabriellew463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Kia Ora Gabrielle & Stephen, thank you very much for your comments and we are disappointed to hear that our offerings were different from your expectations.
We do occasionally have promotions and special offers on different booking websites, such as the "Pure Bliss" package you booked on wotif.com, which included a bottle of bubbly and late check-out. Our helicopter flight promotion on the other hand was only available for direct bookings made on our own website, and we made sure this information was accurate and exclusive to our own website also tripadvisor. Our spa therapist can always be arranged with advance booking and our Gourmet Platter has been enjoyed by many guests, it concerns me as these offers weren't communicated to you successfully. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable room and our fresh ingredients at breakfast. Our team at Hamurana Lodge looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the lodge for 3 nights in April. The lodge is set in beautiful surroundings and from the drive in you feel welcomed. Patrick was so helpful on arrival and each time we returned inquiring about our day and stay. All our requests were catered to (even gluten free breakfast). Our room was well appointed with all top amenities and a coffee machine! If you are planning to walk to and from dinner this is not the place for you. It is a 20 min drive into Rotorua central where most of the restaurants are. A great place to unwind and relax and if a full dinner was available it would be perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Kia Ora Sue&Shane, thank you very much for sharing your experience and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, hope you also enjoyed the complimentary helicopter flight being part of our special offer. Many guests just love our Nespresso machine in the room.
Wish you a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a lovely night stay here. Hotel is in stunning location and everyone was very welcoming. Stayed in Superior Suite which was just perfect. Very nice, healthy homemade breakfast. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lindsey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Kia Ora Lindsey, it's glad to hear that you enjoyed our Superior Suite, it is indeed spacious and comfortable. We will make sure the croissants are ready again for your next breakfast at Hamurana Lodge. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

It is always great to have your expectations exceded, but when they were already high and still exceded, that is truly a treat. Our warm welcome coupled with the initial impression when entering the Lodge only hinted at what was to come. It is so pleasant to have such an intimate and comfortable setting. We of course were late in arriving (flight delays) so when we got there we were tired and frazzeled and hungry. Our room was warm, with great music playing, fabulous views and plenty of space to relax. My wife wanted wine, the selection was great and she was happy. i wanted a mixed drink and what was really nice was the way Patrick and i einteracted in order for it to be exactly the way I prefer. While we were having drinks Patrick & Sylvain prepared our "platter" which was certainly enough for four and delicious. The Lodge beds were comfortable and the area was quiet so we slept well. The night sky was something to behold. The recommenadtions for dinner the next night were great and Eat street is a trip. We really enjoyed our stay, thank you for truly making us feel like guests.

Room Tip: The suite was very nice and wireless internet speed was exceptional.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhillyJim69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

It's our pleasure to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here at Hamurana Lodge. Our gourmet platter is best enjoyed with some NZ wine and I had the opportunity to learn to make a new drink. We are planning to add some new entertainment based on the beautiful night sky we have above us every night, so stay tuned :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
722 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
6.6 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
223 reviews
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £97 - £315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing