We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just great”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #7 of 53 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a delightful one night stay for a special occasion. The welcome and hospitality was extra special, the room met all expectations and was beautifully presented, and the Continental style breakfast was of a very high standard with a great range to choose from.. All in all we would find it hard to fault our experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Kia Ora Richard, It's our pleasure to host you on your special day and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the queen's birthday long weekend and we look forward to welcoming you again. warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the initial booking, with lots of help to organise trips, to returning left items after our visit, the staff were remarkable.
We never wonted for attention, were offered Tea/Coffee, assistance and casual conversation at just the right amounts throughout our four night stay. Excellent, thank you for making our visit to Rotorua all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaimeinMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Hi Jaime, glad to hear that the phone charger has reunited with you. It was our pleasure to have you and your family stayed with us. Glad that you had a chance to enjoy Rotorua in its busy days, the around the lake marathon is held here every year, hope to see you all again next year. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were greeted at the door of the hotel every time we drove up. The place was beautiful - full of olde worlde charm. The staff were just perfect - helpful, attentive, fun and knowledgeable; they made our stay most enjoyable. The hotel was just lovely, room was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom even had a heated floor! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return. There was lots of space and rooms to go in. Snooker room, gym, beautiful lounge, outside terrace for dining or just sitting and drinking tea. Also a small pool outside - too cold for us tho' - wrong time of year! The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds and has a donkey, a goat and a dog - all very sociable!

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are beautiful. Ours was a suite as we had children (grown up ones) the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMariaK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Hostess at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Kia Ora, Thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to have you at Hamurana Lodge. Very glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. Hope you had a nice stay in Auckland for the extra night and are all rested up after the marathon. Do hope to see you again to experience more. Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here 5 nights in room 1 in January. Excellent room with separate bath and separate WC. From memory lacked facility to make own coffee or tea. Adequate gym facility but pool unheated (bit nesh me!). Lovely breakfasts on balcony. Although no evening eating facilities, they will do cold meat and salad platter - one serves 2 people very adequately. Although on North side of lake was OK as base for area. Hotel was very quiet, so not really for young kids which suited us.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JohnG4683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Kia Ora John, it makes me jealous that you could do a long tour in the Far East, I'm sure you had a lot of great memories to bring back with.
Thank you for sharing the tips about staying at Hamurana Lodge. Room 1 is our Superior Suite, in fact all of our rooms are equipped with Nespresso machine, coffee pods, kettle, tea bags, jelly beans and salted nuts, these are all complimentary. Only wine and crisps in minibar are priced.
I see that your enjoyed the breakfast on the balcony and many of our guests enjoyed the gourmet platter like you did. Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed one night here with our son and another couple and we all wished we could have stayed longer! The staff was very welcoming, and we enjoyed meeting the animals residing on the property as well! The rooms were very comfortable, grounds beautiful, and continental breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Hi Lynne, we are glad to hear that you will recommend Hamurana Lodge to other travelers. Merlin the donkey and Lee the goat is waiting for you to come back and give them some apples. Wish you a great weekend and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My friend and I stayed here one night on our way to Hawkes Bay from Auckland. As we pulled up Patrick was waiting outside to greet us, park our car and arrange for our luggage to be brought to the room. The room was lovely, cozy and really just what a boutique b&bs room should be. It is close to town so we drove into Rotorua for takeaway, the drive took 10-15 minutes there and back on a well lit road. Patrick and Sil were great hosts and we both agreed we would definitely back on our next trip to Rotorua.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WITravellingDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Kia Ora, it's our pleasure to have you at Hamurana Lodge for a short night's stay and let you experience our hospitality. Hope you also enjoyed Hawkes bay as there are some great vineyard around that area and a couple of our house wines are from that region. Do come back and experience more. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Hamurana Lodge was one of the great treats and finds during our travel to New Zealand this April. The hotel is everything it says it is, plus more. It is an intimate, truly 5 star hotel, offering ambience, impeccable service, superb rooms outfitted perfectly, and an array of services that made our stay not just a delight, but a pleasure. Upon our arrival they helped us book activities in Rotorua, and during the duration of our stay they were attentive to our needs. It is a classy hotel with classy staff. It is true the drinks were expensive - but where in New Zealand are they not? This hotel was a highlight of our visit, and we plan to return on our next journey to the North Island. New Zealand has much to offer, but you will be hard pressed to find a building, location, and atmosphere of intimacy and luxury that beats the Hamurana Lodge.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. It is a small hotel, and each room shares a similar rural view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khess4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thank you Karl and Camille for sharing your experience, our team is happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Hamurana Lodge. One night is definitely not enough to experience what Rotorua has to offer, but it gives you a reason to return. We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. Warmest regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 91 in Rotorua
767 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#24 of 91 in Rotorua
851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#40 of 91 in Rotorua
188 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Rotorua Marama
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | Rd7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: £109 - £301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing