We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in New Zealand”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Córdoba, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best place in New Zealand”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I spent 5 days in this fabulous location after a trip to the South Island, and I can tell this was the most charming hotel I have been. Rooms are cosy and warmly decorated, the spa and the heated floor in the bathroom gives it a distinctive feature, and breakfast is generous, served in a lovely room with a great vista of the garden.
The staff here is the highlight. They were after every single inquiry and arranged tours around Rotorua, which is a central place with lots of attractions to see.
I would definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LauraLaLoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Laura, thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you liked our rooms, facilities and our service. We look forward to your return. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
270
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

What a lovely stay for just one night at this beautiful lodge - greeted at the drive, had bags carried to my room, a beautiful share mezze platter, lovely room, heated floors - can't wait to stay here again for leisure rather than business.

Room Tip: Large rooms, lots of space, Occitane products, just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maddie1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thank you Maddie for sharing your experience, you have included the most popular features of Hamurana Lodge in your review. We will be pleased to host you again on a more relaxed occasion to let you unwind and forget about work :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitianga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a delightful one night stay for a special occasion. The welcome and hospitality was extra special, the room met all expectations and was beautifully presented, and the Continental style breakfast was of a very high standard with a great range to choose from.. All in all we would find it hard to fault our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Kia Ora Richard, It's our pleasure to host you on your special day and we are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the queen's birthday long weekend and we look forward to welcoming you again. warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 May 2014

From the initial booking, with lots of help to organise trips, to returning left items after our visit, the staff were remarkable.
We never wonted for attention, were offered Tea/Coffee, assistance and casual conversation at just the right amounts throughout our four night stay. Excellent, thank you for making our visit to Rotorua all the more enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaimeinMoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Hi Jaime, glad to hear that the phone charger has reunited with you. It was our pleasure to have you and your family stayed with us. Glad that you had a chance to enjoy Rotorua in its busy days, the around the lake marathon is held here every year, hope to see you all again next year. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elgin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We were greeted at the door of the hotel every time we drove up. The place was beautiful - full of olde worlde charm. The staff were just perfect - helpful, attentive, fun and knowledgeable; they made our stay most enjoyable. The hotel was just lovely, room was spacious and well equipped. The bathroom even had a heated floor! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would love to return. There was lots of space and rooms to go in. Snooker room, gym, beautiful lounge, outside terrace for dining or just sitting and drinking tea. Also a small pool outside - too cold for us tho' - wrong time of year! The hotel is situated in beautiful grounds and has a donkey, a goat and a dog - all very sociable!

Room Tip: I suspect that all the rooms are beautiful. Ours was a suite as we had children (grown up ones) the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMariaK25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Hostess at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Kia Ora, Thank you for your kind words. It was a great pleasure to have you at Hamurana Lodge. Very glad you enjoyed your stay here and hope to see you again. Hope you had a nice stay in Auckland for the extra night and are all rested up after the marathon. Do hope to see you again to experience more. Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 5 nights in room 1 in January. Excellent room with separate bath and separate WC. From memory lacked facility to make own coffee or tea. Adequate gym facility but pool unheated (bit nesh me!). Lovely breakfasts on balcony. Although no evening eating facilities, they will do cold meat and salad platter - one serves 2 people very adequately. Although on North side of lake was OK as base for area. Hotel was very quiet, so not really for young kids which suited us.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnG4683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Kia Ora John, it makes me jealous that you could do a long tour in the Far East, I'm sure you had a lot of great memories to bring back with.
Thank you for sharing the tips about staying at Hamurana Lodge. Room 1 is our Superior Suite, in fact all of our rooms are equipped with Nespresso machine, coffee pods, kettle, tea bags, jelly beans and salted nuts, these are all complimentary. Only wine and crisps in minibar are priced.
I see that your enjoyed the breakfast on the balcony and many of our guests enjoyed the gourmet platter like you did. Thank you again for staying with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed one night here with our son and another couple and we all wished we could have stayed longer! The staff was very welcoming, and we enjoyed meeting the animals residing on the property as well! The rooms were very comfortable, grounds beautiful, and continental breakfast was delicious! Highly recommend this boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Gao, Manager at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Hi Lynne, we are glad to hear that you will recommend Hamurana Lodge to other travelers. Merlin the donkey and Lee the goat is waiting for you to come back and give them some apples. Wish you a great weekend and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#44 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing