We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will travel 20 hours to come back here”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Will travel 20 hours to come back here”
Reviewed 6 January 2010

Hamurana is just perfect. We drove in and fell in love with place at first sight. The rooms and the service didn't let us down, it just added to my already euphoric state!! Fred and Alex were perfect hosts and charming company. Great food,excellent wine and a lovely atmosphere. Gao was most helpful and unobtrusively available to help at all times.

Fred recommended the QE spa and the short redwood trail which were both very nice but in different ways!!!! We changed all our plans and stayed put in the lodge for most part of the stay just enjoying the people, place and its gardens.

I am definitely looking forward to making another 20 hour trip from India to go back there. Thanks for making this a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harrrypot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    43
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
276
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Hamurana Lodge is just perfection, Fred and Alex were the most perfect hosts. Fabulous food,company and atmosphere. Thank you both for making it an experience we will both never forget!

Charlotte Mann

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank char2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
1 review
Reviewed 2 January 2010

Extremely nice lodge with a wonderful, friendly, attentive staff. The food is excellent. The hotel is well out in the country so if the sights and activity of the city is what you are looking for, having a car would be helpful.

The 4 km hike to the springs and Redwood forest is an excellent early morning hike.

We truly enjoyed our stay and would return in the future!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TXTravelFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

From the moment we stepped out of the taxi we knew we were in for a great few days. Fred & Alex came out to greet us and from the start made us feel really welcome. Our room was very well appointed and had good storage, the bathroom and the separate toilet and shower rooms were off the small dressing area adjacent to the bedroom. There were quality toiletries provided (L'Occitane) and luxurious fluffy towels plus dressing gowns. Tea/Coffee (instant and ground) were also provided.

Canapes and aperitifs were served, as the weather was good, on the terrace outside the Dining Room. Then we retired to the well appointed Dining Room with its crisp linens for
Dinner (which is optional) which was excellent with a good choice offered for each course.

Breakfast was served in the Breakfast Room adjacent to the Dining Room, and was Continental, with freshly baked breads and pastries, home made jams, cereals, cold meats, cheese, fresh fruit, fruit juices, tea/coffee.

After breakfast we got to know the donkeys, the pig and the dog whilst admiring the grounds that Hamurana is set in before setting out to explore Rotorua.

When we returned in the afternoon Fred took us out to a local beauty spot in his car and gave us a lovely guided walk through the forest.

Nothing was too much trouble for Fred and Alex. We particularly liked the little notes left on our pillow at night with the chocolates.

The whole ambience is one of quietly understated luxury and great attention to detail.

We wished we could have stayed longer than the two nights we had booked we were made so welcome and felt so comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Autumnlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2009

It's not often you can reflect on a stay at a hotel or lodge and say that you felt completely at home. My wife and I felt that Hamurana Lodge did just that.

Fred and Alex were perfect hosts, intuitively picking the right times to leave us to our own devices and providing us with excellent company when we felt sociable.
With both having prior backgrounds in high-end hospitality all over the globe, Fred and Alex are well positioned to know what works well with respect to excellent service and the quality of their guests' experience.
An excellent example of the attention to the detail of a quailty experience is that demonstrated in their cuisine.
In the morning, we awoke to the aroma of freshly baked pastries and bread that formed the basis of a complimentary Continental breakfast - beautiful brie, prosciutto and pancetta. This was the genuine article - no sliced cold-cuts here. Fresh fruit, cereals and juice rounded the meal out.
We enjoyed complimentary aperitifs and canapes in the evening as we enjoyed an easy social atmosphere with the other guests.
And although our itinerary prevented it, we wished we'd had the chance to experience dinner at the Lodge restaurant with its beautiful French/Mediterranean menu - with most ingredients sourced from within 100 miles of the lodge and supplemented with fresh vegetables stocked from their own organic garden, dinner is obviously a unique event crafted to offer the same experience of quality that underpins the Lodge.

We couldn't recommend them more highly and will be back the next time we visit Rotorua. We left feeling not only relaxed and refreshed. Even though we had never met them previously, it felt as though we had gained new friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndrewPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2009

We just had a great time...one of the finest small inns we've ever stayed at. The Hamurana is both sophisticated and cozy, full-service and personal. You can see it was designed and is run by people with great taste and who give attention to detail. And for an added note, try some champagne on the beautiful lawn or from the upper terrace with a grand view of Lake Rotorua. We're grateful our travel agent found this retreat for us.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ttowncraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2009

Fantastic rooms and service - hosts couldn't do enough for our special weekend away. Lovely dinner and breakfast, and hosts went the extra mile to set up a special rugby viewing room for the AB's vs England! Would recommend to all for a touch of luxury and indulgence.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stumpcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.9 mi away
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing