We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable :-)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Memorable :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2010

Fred provided fantastic hospitality. Warm, caring & yet extremely professional at the same time.

A lovely property located in a rural setting with beautiful views. The room was comfortable and we felt Fred went out of his way to ensure our toddler was also content.

The restaurant provided a relaxing atmosphere and the food delectable.

Would certainly return to Hamurana Lodge in the future.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Starlet_Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    339
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
265
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

I have travelled all over the world with my 20+ year old son and daughter. We sometimes tire of the typical hotel experience even if the accomodations and service is acceptable. We enjoy trying something new but have come to expect a value for my hard earned vacation dollar. What a happy surprise to find the Hamurana Lodge located off the beaten path. (make sure you get good directions). The country estate sits high atop the hill after a drive through beautiful landscapes in a bucolic setting complete with grazing donkeys. This is a high end experience but well worth the money. The personal service was exceptional, we really were treated as honored guests. I was concerned that my jaded children might find the peaceful setting too boring but they loved the experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dTabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

The Lodge is situated with an extensive garden and grounds about 15 minutes outside Rotorua.

The Lodge is tastefully furnished and imaculately clean. We had dinner in the Lodge and the food quality was of a quality one would normally expect in a fine dining restaurant in a City. Breakfast was the highlight with freshly cooked French pastries.

The owners of the Lodge are excellent hosts and made us feel very welcome.

Expensive destination but nevertheless good value.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexSal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

My wife particularly enjoyed staying at Hamurana Lodge, and indicates it was among her favorite places in New Zealand. Our suite was spacious and well furnished. The bathroom and the L'Occitane toiletries were particularly well done. The Lodge is quiet, off the road, and was very restive. We were graciously welcomed and offered cocktails upon arrival. Pre-dinner canapes' and cocktails were complimentary, and dinner we very nice with open doors to an outdoor terrace. My only suggestion would be installing dimming for the dining room lighting (I am a big lighting critic, don't read too much into my comment here). The bed, whirlpool, and shower all were great. I snuck out to the swimming pool before dinner (everyone told me the weather was too cool to swim, but I enjoyed it nonetheless). Rotorua is largely touristy, so being a bit off the beaten track, overlooking the lake, in a quiet, welcoming, and hospitable place was a welcomed change.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rowingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner Host at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 9 March 2010
Kia Ora - a warm thank you for your very positive feedback. The dimmer is a great idea and will be installed very shortly - looking forward to hosting you in the future - Regards from sunny Hamurana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Everyone knows how frenetic touring can be and so it was wonderful to take a couple of days out and stay at the Hamurana Lodge. We were welcomed with a refreshing glass of wine the moment we arrived, we were treated like Royal guests. It was a home from home but better as our every wish was accomodated. Food excellent, service exemplory, it was as if we were friends from way back coming home....what more can we say?

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2010

All the Hamurana team did a very good job to make our stay there like at home.
The food was great! (own garden, vegetables, herbs, etc..) and everything we asked, they make it real.
We also want to let know the familiar, and extremely friendly wliiligness for service, which really make the difference.
Thanks Guys!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

All too often when you go away, you’re left with a sense that something was missing, something you can’t quite put your finger on.
Staying at Hamurana Lodge left me with a feeling that nothing was missing, and it was all so easy.
Upon reflection it was the ability of the hosts (Alex and Fred) to read your requirements as an individual that allowed for the venue, the food, the service, the conversation and suggestions to come together and create a sense of ease and comfort as if they had known me for years.
It’s this subtle ability to adapt to the individual, that for me, got the balance right.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoonieMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
12.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing