We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical engagment to be remembered for a lifetime”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
“A magical engagment to be remembered for a lifetime”
Reviewed 2 October 2010

What can we say other than "Wow"....Fred, Alex and the team went out of their way to make our engagement the experience of a lifetime.
When I contacted the lodge I was looking for someone to help me plan a real surprise. Help me they most certainly did. They arranged a surprise yacht trip in the afternoon before converting the Lodge's intimate restaurant into a romantic setting of roses and candles. Perfect for popping the big question. What made it soo special was that Mel was over the moon (and said yes whew!!) and Fred & Alex were as excited as we were. The setting of the lodge is exquisite, the food is incredible and the hosts are warm and friendly. What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinTaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Dear Mel&Kev, thank you so much for your lovely comments now coming to a year after your engagement. We all still remember the excitement and it was our pleasure to make the restaurant yours for the night. We wish you both many years of happiness and love and look forward to hosting you again
The Hamurana Engagement Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    346
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
271
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2010

place was fabulous room outstanding, Fred and Alex great hosts. will get baby sitters for children longer next time

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dav014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2010

Stayed three nights on three week tour of Australia and NZ. Excellent hospitality. Owners went out of their way to make our stay most enjoyable. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlmmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2010

As the editor of a travel magazine, I get to stay in a range of properties, some good, some great and some downright awful.
I recently had the pleasure of enjoying a night at Hamurana Lodge, a boutique hotel on the outskirts of Rotorua.
I arrived late afternoon on a very cold and blustery day, and was welcomed by the smell of a real fire crackling away in the hearth, real coffee being brewed just for me, and real warmth and friendliness of owner/operators Fred and Alex.
My suite - you can't call this a room - was spacious, beautifully made up, and enjoyed a host of amenities that would put many five star hotels offshore to shame ... not only was there an iPod docking station, but also an iPod - fully loaded .. They take the time to enquire what music their guests prefer and have that playing in the room on arrival. Bathroom amenities included decadent L'Occitane products, the fluffiest towels and luxurious robes.
For the business traveller, there's free WiFi (and no passwords - just click and log on!), a large desk and comfortable seating - to be honest, the hospitality was so great that I gave the emails a miss and enjoyed my stay to the max instead!!
I didn't get a chance to try out the pool, gym or spa on this trip, but I have every intention of making a return visit!
What a pity I didn't have an excuse to stay in Rotorua longer on this trip!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gayle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2010

We stayed for a couple of days. It was a really special place. Fred and Alex were extraordinary hosts really helping you to have a pleasant and memorable stay. We have a really nice dinner and the estate was remarkable.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seija15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We were looked after really well. The venues in a residential area but because the grounds are so big it feels very romantic and secluded. Great dining on site and they grew their own veges and inhouse chef cooks up a storm. The Lodge hosts a gym beautiful swimming pool and tennis court. Not to mention the many secluded outdoor areas for relaxation. There is also a wide variety of adventure activities close by.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hamiltonaitcheson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
1 review
Reviewed 24 August 2010

We’ve heard of this lodge for its elegance and romantic settings, this time we were amazed by its ability of holding business functions. We had a four days business retreat, and we were very well taken care of. They have up-to-date facilities like 55 inch LCD TV, Wii, fitness studio, spa and a tennis court where we spent the entire afternoon at. The meeting room is very functional. We also did some trekking at the nearby Okere falls recommended by the staff, beautiful lakes and nice walk. Really happy with my company’s choice, hope to come back again!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kyliePhipps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 26 August 2010
Dear Kylie and team - we are delighted to hear that your business trip with your team at Hamurana was a succesful one. we have a great combination of small luxuries with business facilities and i am glad you all enjoyed your four days with us - looking forward to hosting you next year - warm regards Fred
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
181 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#23 of 92 in Rotorua
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing