We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lakeside Beauty and a Lodge with personality!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lakeside Beauty and a Lodge with personality!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

Hamurana Lodge is a gem situated on the northern shores of the lake at Rotorua, a spectacular property with beautiful grounds and views across the lake and hills. Fred, Alex and the team couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome, thoroughly spoiled and completely at home with nothing too much trouble and an extraordinary ability to anticipate our every need. The kids loved the relaxed atmosphere and especially Sonny the dog, the donkeys and sheep and helping pick vegetables in the garden. Fred and Alex's local knowledge really helped us get the best out of our time in Rotorua as there is so much to do and the Lodge is the ideal base from which to explore. After tiring days of outdoor adventure we returned to delicious meals created by the talented chef Charlie from locally sourced produce. Our spacious two bedroom suite was perfect with luxurious and thoughtful touches that made for the best experience we could have had. Thanks Fred and Alex for making this such a special break.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahJS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    337
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
264
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We arrived at the Lodge and were immediately greeted by Fred. Our luggage was attended to to while Fred poured us a glass of wine. Whew! what a nice introduction.

Our room was beautifully decorated. I am still talking about the heated floors in the bathroom. They are such a nice introduction to the morning.

The Lodge has a nice location, just north of Rotorua. The views from the outdoor room are idyllic, the dining room is quite elegant and the attention to both guests and detail is amazing.

Our stay was enhanced by the activities suggested by of our hosts and they made all of the arrangements for us.

This Lodge is beautiful. Fred and Alex made it quite special for us. It was a welcome respite from our three week fast paced stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MzElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2010

My daughter and I had a great stay at the Hamurana Lodge. The house was beautiful and the staff were very helpful. The staff know how to give good service and both Fred and Alex were extremely helpful, discreet, and pleasant. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Kia Ora - Thank you so much for your wonderful comments, it was a real treat meeting both of you and letting you experience Rotorua and our estate. Wishing you a superb snowy Christmas and a wonderful start to the year 2011. Warm regards from Hamurana Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2010

Hamurana and its hosts provided myself and our team with great facilities for our 3days retreat and enabled us to move fast on our program with great facilities. The estate is also ideal when travelling with partners and lets you enjoy what's on Rotorua's doorsteps in terms of activities, all organised part of our package. Muchas Gracias

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SebaGarat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2010

Service and attention to detail second to none.
Room..perfect
Location...........couldn't be better
Liked best.........Service and customer attention, always there when needed
The chef is brilliant !
Liked the worst........Too far from England to visit every day, but will be back July 2011

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d179833g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hamuranal, Owner at Hamurana Lodge, responded to this review, 18 December 2010
Wonderful to have had the chance of hosting you and your family members during your tour of NZ. Chef Charlie is looking forward to letting you sample more of his cuisine and your next visit in July. Wishing you a superb Christmas and a wonderful start to 2011. Warm regards from Hamurana and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Tappan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2010

My only fear is that Fred and Alex will tire themselves out because they spend so much quality time with their guests and in guiding them toward fulfilling visits to spots around Rotorua. The inn is impeccable and beautiful, and the hosts truly excellent. They seem to have complete awareness of what each guest wishes to visit in the area, and they are happy to provide guidance. Breakfasts are fine and the one dinner we had there was very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moioldtappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

We were there in our honeymoon and our stay was fantastic. The staff is great, they helped us all time, they recomended and arranged the activities that we made in rotorua and everthing was great. The place is gorgeous. i would recomend the lodge specially if you go with your couple.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepesantos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
12.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
12.9 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#25 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
6.4 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing