We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fred and Alex, the owners, create an amazing environment and atmosphere that you do not want to leave.”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was our first trip to New Zealand and we could not have started the trip on a better note. We arrived late to Rotorua, and there was Fred, one of the owners, waiting for us in the driveway. He could not have been more welcoming and charming, helping us to our rooms and with our bags and offering us a drink and lots of advice on what to do. We met Alex, the co-owner, the next day and he was also extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful in directing our daily excursions. The two create such a wonderful atmosphere that you do not want to leave. The whole environment is quiet, comfortable and cozy, but also elegant. Fred and Alex and their staff took the time to get to know us individually, knew our names within hours, and made us feel pampered and special. The rooms and the grounds are beautiful. We had some very humid weather; apparently, it was some of the highest temperatures in the north island ever. The rooms did get a bit hot and muggy and there is no central air conditioning (but each room has a fan that can be used). They have a nice gym, pool and tennis court. There are also friendly donkeys and dogs on site for any animal lovers. The breakfasts were terrific, with home baked breads, croissants, and wonderful jams/honey.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulietWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

308 - 314 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2011

Having recently completed a stay at Hamurana Lodge, I must say that all the prior reviews are spot on. Alex and Fred have created a lovely boutique property with absolutely top notch customer service, beautiful grounds and elegant rooms. From the moment you step onto the property, Fred, Alex and the staff make you feel right at home. They helped us uncover several hidden gems including a beautiful and secluded redwood forest walk as well as recommended several great stops on our way to and from Rotorua. They even shuttled us into town so my dad could relax and enjoy a massage at the lodge. While I could rave about this property all day, do yourself a favor and just stay here. The only downside here is that you'll never want to leave. We're already counting down the days until we can return.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Our hosts at Hamurana Lodge were the best we encountered during our tour of New Zealand. They were there when you needed them and were extremely helpful throughout our stay ,recommending and booking activities and restaurants, as well as printing helpful maps and directions. The lodge itself is set in beautiful gardens and has a lovely and relaxing pool area. The rooms are cosy and well appointed. Breakfast was fantastic with home cooked and home grown pastries and fruits.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iain1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Although the hotel was very comfortable and well appointed, what made it really special were the host/owners, Fred and Alex: they couldn't have been kinder and made me feel completely welcome. It's not cheap but if you want a real treat, I certainly recommend it.

Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
Thank LindaJane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2011

we stayed here one night on our New Zealand trip. We are sure that on a next trip, we will stay several more days ate this great location.

From the warm welcome with tea and cookies to the very personal checkout and departure, we felt treated in a way hospitality should be. The personal approach of the hosts, their friendly but at the same time discrete presence make one feel very special as a guest here.

The estate is large, well maintained and ensures that the lodge is spared from any outside noises.

The room was spacious and decorated with an eye for detail. All amenities one could need on a regular stay were in the room. Small details show that the hosts have the comfort of guest in mind.

We enjoyed the swimming pool, but had no time to use the very complete equipped workout room.

Anyone traveling in style in the Rotorua: this is THE place to be and stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Hamurana Lodge is a gem situated on the northern shores of the lake at Rotorua, a spectacular property with beautiful grounds and views across the lake and hills. Fred, Alex and the team couldn't have done more to make us feel welcome, thoroughly spoiled and completely at home with nothing too much trouble and an extraordinary ability to anticipate our every need. The kids loved the relaxed atmosphere and especially Sonny the dog, the donkeys and sheep and helping pick vegetables in the garden. Fred and Alex's local knowledge really helped us get the best out of our time in Rotorua as there is so much to do and the Lodge is the ideal base from which to explore. After tiring days of outdoor adventure we returned to delicious meals created by the talented chef Charlie from locally sourced produce. Our spacious two bedroom suite was perfect with luxurious and thoughtful touches that made for the best experience we could have had. Thanks Fred and Alex for making this such a special break.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2010

We arrived at the Lodge and were immediately greeted by Fred. Our luggage was attended to to while Fred poured us a glass of wine. Whew! what a nice introduction.

Our room was beautifully decorated. I am still talking about the heated floors in the bathroom. They are such a nice introduction to the morning.

The Lodge has a nice location, just north of Rotorua. The views from the outdoor room are idyllic, the dining room is quite elegant and the attention to both guests and detail is amazing.

Our stay was enhanced by the activities suggested by of our hosts and they made all of the arrangements for us.

This Lodge is beautiful. Fred and Alex made it quite special for us. It was a welcome respite from our three week fast paced stay in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MzElena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
746 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#42 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Address: 415 Hamurana Road | Rd7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range: £164 - £309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing