We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of our best accommodations”
Review of Hamurana Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hamurana Lodge
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Los Altos, California
2 reviews
“One of our best accommodations”
Reviewed 28 February 2011

We stayed at Hamurana Lodge in December 2010 for a few nights.

The service is absolutely impeccable and the restaurant is wonderful. We felt very much at home, and at the same time we had the luxurious feeling of staying at a hotel where everything is taken care of. We got great help in coordinating our local program. All in all - the best accommodation we had during our NZ tour.

M Mickos

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank martenmickos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    342
    42
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
52
268
16
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2011

Oh my, where to begin? I simply cannot say enough good things about Hamurana Lodge. After 12 days hiking on the South Island, we decided to take a week to travel around the North Island at our own pace. The moment we pulled up, we were welcomed with open arms from Fred and Alex. You will see their names mentioned often in reviews and there is a good reason -- THEY make this place so wonderful and your trip memorable. The moment we pulled in, hungry and tired, they went out of their way to make sure that everything was special. First, because of the availability, they automatically upgraded us to a nicer space. The first suite inside the main entrance - super fab kids. Book it! Then, even though the restaurant was not open, they ran up and put together a beautiful snack plate for us to ease the hunger pains.

I want to share a few key memories that I think you will find helpful and provide an insight to the services: 1) We decided to splurge and take a helicopter ride to White Island. Not only did the guys arrange, but worked it out so the helicopter landed on the grounds to pick us up. Having figured out our personalities (bless them), they drove us up to the hovering machine and picked us up in a very special (and unique) style! We will talk about it for years! 2) As we were visiting over the holidays, we found lovely holiday gifts in our room. Nice touch. 3) The food at the lodge is great and I highly recommend. As well, the guys will give great recommendations for city dining. 4) While the service is wonderful and may appear to be for adults only, I do want to share some an observation that has to be mentioned. We continually watched Alex and Fred think about the kids staying at the lodge. From surprises at dinner to feeding bread to the donkeys to vegetable lessons in the garden to fun movies in the room, the kids felt special. Even though we are not "kid" people, It was lovely to watch. 5) The grounds are beautiful and we loved walking around.

Told you I didn't know where to start or end. Look, stay here. You won't regret it.

PS-- Give a good rub to Sonny the dog! You'll love him.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsamczyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
1 review
Reviewed 9 February 2011

This was our first trip to New Zealand and we could not have started the trip on a better note. We arrived late to Rotorua, and there was Fred, one of the owners, waiting for us in the driveway. He could not have been more welcoming and charming, helping us to our rooms and with our bags and offering us a drink and lots of advice on what to do. We met Alex, the co-owner, the next day and he was also extremely welcoming, friendly, and helpful in directing our daily excursions. The two create such a wonderful atmosphere that you do not want to leave. The whole environment is quiet, comfortable and cozy, but also elegant. Fred and Alex and their staff took the time to get to know us individually, knew our names within hours, and made us feel pampered and special. The rooms and the grounds are beautiful. We had some very humid weather; apparently, it was some of the highest temperatures in the north island ever. The rooms did get a bit hot and muggy and there is no central air conditioning (but each room has a fan that can be used). They have a nice gym, pool and tennis court. There are also friendly donkeys and dogs on site for any animal lovers. The breakfasts were terrific, with home baked breads, croissants, and wonderful jams/honey.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulietWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

Having recently completed a stay at Hamurana Lodge, I must say that all the prior reviews are spot on. Alex and Fred have created a lovely boutique property with absolutely top notch customer service, beautiful grounds and elegant rooms. From the moment you step onto the property, Fred, Alex and the staff make you feel right at home. They helped us uncover several hidden gems including a beautiful and secluded redwood forest walk as well as recommended several great stops on our way to and from Rotorua. They even shuttled us into town so my dad could relax and enjoy a massage at the lodge. While I could rave about this property all day, do yourself a favor and just stay here. The only downside here is that you'll never want to leave. We're already counting down the days until we can return.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WC50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2011

Our hosts at Hamurana Lodge were the best we encountered during our tour of New Zealand. They were there when you needed them and were extremely helpful throughout our stay ,recommending and booking activities and restaurants, as well as printing helpful maps and directions. The lodge itself is set in beautiful gardens and has a lovely and relaxing pool area. The rooms are cosy and well appointed. Breakfast was fantastic with home cooked and home grown pastries and fruits.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iain1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Although the hotel was very comfortable and well appointed, what made it really special were the host/owners, Fred and Alex: they couldn't have been kinder and made me feel completely welcome. It's not cheap but if you want a real treat, I certainly recommend it.

Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank LindaJane21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

we stayed here one night on our New Zealand trip. We are sure that on a next trip, we will stay several more days ate this great location.

From the warm welcome with tea and cookies to the very personal checkout and departure, we felt treated in a way hospitality should be. The personal approach of the hosts, their friendly but at the same time discrete presence make one feel very special as a guest here.

The estate is large, well maintained and ensures that the lodge is spared from any outside noises.

The room was spacious and decorated with an eye for detail. All amenities one could need on a regular stay were in the room. Small details show that the hosts have the comfort of guest in mind.

We enjoyed the swimming pool, but had no time to use the very complete equipped workout room.

Anyone traveling in style in the Rotorua: this is THE place to be and stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank koenbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
7.9 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
6.8 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
4.6 mi away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Treetops Lodge & Estate
Treetops Lodge & Estate
#43 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
13.0 mi away
Solitaire Lodge
Solitaire Lodge
#22 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
6.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hamurana Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hamurana Lodge

Property: Hamurana Lodge
Address: 415 Hamurana Road | RD7, Rotorua 3097, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hamurana Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for luxury hotel accommodation Hamurana Lodge in Rotorua, New Zealand (NZ) offers executive suites along with a variety of special hotel packages for your holiday / vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hamurana Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing