We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Rotorua, Rotorua District, Bay of Plenty Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

827neil
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
“Family holiday”
Reviewed 9 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We were a family group of 4 grandparents and two children and this house was a perfect base for our Rotorua holiday. The weather was cold but the house was lovely and warm when we arrived. Great location and everything we needed. Would very much like to return in the summer.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback, it is really appreciated. We hope to see you back in the Summer when it will be warmer!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meyerglm
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Very comfortable, good location and easy to deal with.”
Reviewed 17 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We stayed here late December 2015. The accommodation was comfortable and well positioned to ensure a comfortable, peaceful and relaxing stay, while still being close enough to all the major attractions of the area. Carey was good to deal with and very friendly. Thank-you for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for choosing Lake Edge on Mokoia.
Kind regards
Carey & David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue F
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
“What a fantastic view!”
Reviewed 23 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We spend three night here overlooking Lake Mokoia and could have spent three months! To sit on our veranda with the beautiful view of the lake and surrounding mountains as well as the wonderfully kept garden was a marvellous experience. We didn’t want to leave!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Dec 2015
Thank you for your valued feedback Sue. We are so lucky to have such a fabulous view! We are very glad you had such a great time and look forward to welcoming you back if you ever get a chance to return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleischy6...
San Rafael, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful vacation home with an awesome view”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

My husband, son and I had the most wonderful time in this beautiful home. Carey and David are excellent hosts and made us feel welcome and warm right from the start.
The house is very comfortable, spacious and clean. The kitchen is big enough to make delicious meals. Even though we came in winter and it was often cold and rainy the house always felt cozy. And then there is the view! How stunning to wake up every morning to a different look of the lake and it's birds.
Our son had a great time in the spacious garden and my husband loved the morning walks through the quiet neighboorhood. We all loved how close it is to shopping and tourist attractions. Thank you again for a delightful stay. We wish we could stay forever :-)

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house, the view of the lake
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2015
Thank you for your valued feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our neck of the woods. It was lovely to have you here and we were sorry we couldn't wave you goodbye on the day you left. The house, garden and the view will be waiting whenever you can make it back to visit us. Thank you for choosing our house for your holiday. Best wishes, Carey and David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trevor592...
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Great location a few minutes out of Rotorua with space for the kids to play. A most amazing view out over Lake Rotorua. Lovely little cottage with very nice furnishings.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view out over the lake.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your valued feedback. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickespec...
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“really nice location”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really nice spacious house with a million dollar view. Very private but close to amenities and short drive from the city.

Date of stay: May 2014
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again some day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
78minnie
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic, relaxing location”
Reviewed 20 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here just after Christmas for 5 nights. The house is a lovely traditional NZ bach which is very clean and comfortable. It is situated in the most beautiful location right on the edge of Lake Rotorua - the covered veranda allows you to sit and watch the lake, swans and clouds or BBQ in any weather. Very relaxing and enjoyable. The very friendly owners, Carey and David, live next door and nothing is too much trouble. The position is close to Rotorua and the surrounding attractions but allows you to stay pretty much in the county which we loved. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and are looking forward to doing so.

Date of stay: December 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The great location and the traditional bach/house
Liked least: one fairly small bathroom (we were 5 people) but it was actually perfectly adeqaute
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jan 2014
We are pleased you had such a great stay and are looking forward to welcoming you back again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.