We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2012 League Nationals = GREAT STAY”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Crash Palace Rotorua is an awesome backpackers to stay at Te Mahurehure Ladies and Mens Team enjoyed the long weekend there, they make you feel well at home. Awesome friendly staff who are always willing to help. Close to everything, Great accomdation LOVED my room 7 THUMBS up and relaxing in the spa after a hard game. THANKS alot Chris XXxx hope to see you again this time next year 2013 - Im gonna miss the COOL dj set aswell

Room Tip: Upstairs ROOM 7 =) Thats my cool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atawhai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

What can i say guys thanks for taking the time to leave a review i appreciate it.. It makes it easy when you have such a great bunch of respectful people enjoying themselves. Congrats on the WIN ladies we look forward to seeing a few of you at Raggamuffin and again for the 2013 league comp.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (379)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

281 - 287 of 379 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

A very relaxed chilled out funky chic place to stay relax and listen to some good chilled beats and have a great time. awsome atmosphere lovely people highly reccomended.Deffintally going back again!!!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: I always recommend seeing rooms first but this place Is pretty rad so no need to worry folks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaela93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

looking forward to your return mate hope the girls enjoyed the rest of their trip and made it home safe.. till i see you in summer for your rafting trip be safe and keep doing what you love it was nice to meet you.. Crash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed a Crash a few nights agao, and will definitely stay again when I pass back through Rotorua!

Upon check-in we were informed that the owner (Chris) would be cooking dinner for the hostel that night (mama's special recipe spag bol!) so that was a winner to start off! The hostel looks like it has been freshly painted and decorated everywhere, and everything in our spacious 4 bed dorm appeared new - another winner! The bathrooms were big and clean, and the kitchen (not that i ever needed it as we were also provided with free pancake mix on the sunday morning!) was also clean and had everything you need. There is also a big lounge area where everyone was sitting round together watching tv and socialising - creating a warm and friendly vibe! - oh and there is a small bar with cheap drinks too to prepare for a night out! oh, and did i mention that hot tub outside?!

The location couldnt be any better, and there was nothing to complain about at all - hence this review! I defo recommend staying at Crash Palace!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks so much for taking the time to recommend us to others and writing this review. We appreciate the time it has taken you to highlight all the things you enjoyed about crash i'm glad there was so many highlights for you :) ....I want to wish you all the best on your travels and hope you have a great time traveling through our country...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Recently attended a net ball tournament in Rotorua. I was originally worried that we were booked into a backpackers. I was proven wrong, this place was beautiful, the host was amazing and accommodating. The facility was clean and well maintained and I felt at home. With the host giving us a load of local knowledge...I will be using crash palace again...

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robynaloua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2012

Thank you so much for your review its comments like yours that make my day :) we look forward to your return and wish you all the best for the coming 2013. crash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Had great time there! Nice cozy feeling, with awesome staff! The location of the hostel is easily accessible and near the city center. The hot tub looks AMAZING and smell of pancakes on breakfast mornin just brightens the day!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Jeff Thanks to you and the guys for taking the time to review our hostel it was a pleasure to meet you all. Hope you all enjoyed the activities you did :) We appreciate the feedback and wish all of you the best with you internships in Auckland hope to see you again soon. Crash.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

I had a really great time here!
I stayed 2 nights with my 4 friends and we could all stay in the same room.
The room and bathrooms are very clean, the hostel is very easily accessible and there are some great things to do in the near area.
The staff is really helpful and nice!

Too bad we didn't have time for the free pancakes and the hottub!
But maybe next time! :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mirjam415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you guys for taking the time to review our hostel it was a pleasure to meet you all. Hope you all enjoyed the activities you did :) We appreciate the feedback and wish all of you the best with you internships in Auckland hope to see you again soon. Crash.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

When I first saw the building, I thought this will be just like another hostel, but I was wrong. It has a nice and comfy feeling to it. It looks like you're going to a relative's house instead of going to live in a hostel. They have a living room with couches and TV, also a pool table. I was bummed that I didnt have the chance to try on the Hot Tub and mud mask, but everything else was nice. The room was clean as well as the bathrooms. I would definitely return and visit Rotorua one more time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jenjennilam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crashpalace, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2012

Thank you guys for taking the time to review our hostel it was a pleasure to meet you all. Hope you all enjoyed the activities you did :) We appreciate the feedback and wish all of you the best with you internships in Auckland hope to see you again soon. Crash.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £9 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing