We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best place to stay”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

I can honestly say. This is the best hostel I stayed I. My whole travels. The accommodation, staff, facilities and location within the town were all absolutely spot on. It's clean, warm and welcoming as well as extremely helpful with all day trip, activities and excursions. Would recommend to anyone who would like to stay a few nights at a friendly fun hostel with a chilled vibe to relax all.
Happy days.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Our guest blow us away with reviews like this thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate it. safe travels to you my friend hope you have a great trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
78
126
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

One of the nicest hostels I've stayed in during my 2 years of travel. The staff are great, it's clean, comfortable, cheap, ideally located, has a spa pool, free tea and coffee, and a cosy living room where folk can congregate, watch movies and play pool. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The 10 bed dorms have tonnes of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WayneKelso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Cheers for the kind words big fulla !! sorry you guys didn't win the refund during your stay. hope you have a great time in Taupo and beyond safe travels to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the hostel to some extent but wouldn't stay there again. Just was not the kind of hostel I was looking for. The owner is fairly nice, seems quite stern and emotionless when you first meet him but he was very friendly and knowledgable.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilcoop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
thanks for your review mate sorry we were not what you were looking for hope you find it ? safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Awesome hostel in a great location in Rotorua. Chris and Toni went above and beyond to make my stay the best I've had in NZ. Great deals for activities at the front desk and Chris is always willing to answer any questions. The Maori mud tour was fantastic and all proceeds go directly to the charity that Crash sponsors. It's awesome that Chris is able to give so much back to the community and still run a sweet hostel!! Hope to be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
thanks for the kind words mate hope you love the rest of your travels and find many more awesome adventures to have. safe travel man have a great time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

We arrived on Fri evening to a cheap and cheerful meal of spag bol (they even made a vegetarian version!) which was really nice after a long trip.
They charged us $22 rather than the $20 advertised, but we let it slide. We also had to go back and ask for free wifi after another guest told us about theirs - instead we were just told it was $4 per 24hrs with no mention of the free card that was advertised online. But they gave us the card no quibbles when we asked. Beware you only get one card per booking- so we only got one card (and one key!) for the two of us.
The rooms were clean, and the bathrooms and showers were perfectly adequate. We also fell in love with the gorgeous dogs and cat and the hot tub!
On Saturday we only realised there was a bar crawl every Saturday when we saw a few guys leaving, perhaps more people would have gone along (including us!) if we knew about it in advance.

All in all a good hostel, clean and friendly, but make sure you book separately if you want wifi and a key each :)

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank E B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate it. We offer free wifi with every booking. We were more than happy to honor our website deal when you mentioned it. We also have more than enough keys for every guest if you wanted an extra key you just had to ask for one. We are more than happy to resolve any issue you have on site when you stay with us. if you have little issues like this please let us know so we can help you when you are here. sorry you missed the pubcrawl we do advertise all our nightly activities on the blackboard downstairs. hope you have a great trip through the rest of the country. safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Absolutely loved our night at crash! The owner gave us all the information we needed about our Maori village visit and helped us out as best we could, even dropped us at the bus at half 7 the next morning which was massive bonus! Had a wicked stay and would recommend it to anyone going to rotorua! Thanks!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charwoods94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thanks for coming to stay with us! we appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. so stoked you had a good time with us and hope you have a great trip through the rest of the country. safe travels to you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

This hostel is amazing and I would recommend it to you all! It's in a great location right near the centre of town with a handy pak`n`save practically on its doorstep. The staff are amazing, really helpful and friendly it seemed that literally nothing was too much trouble. We wanted to go mountain biking which I would also recommend and the owner gave us a lift out there which saved us time and money (this was before we'd even checked in!). There's so much free stuff on offer such as pasta and rice as well as herbs and spices these actually save you a lot of money and make your food a 100% better! The dorm rooms are fine, clean but nothing special but what truly won us over was the hot tub and the atmosphere which was amazing! If you're looking to meet people, chill in a hot tub, cook good food or get some good advice and deals on activities this is the place for you! Also incredible price!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 12 June 2013
Wow reviews like this make it all worth while. Thanks so much for taking the time to leave us a review. it makes us proud of our hostel when we read reviews like this and i will be shouting the staff lunch today as it is these guys who keep the place clean and tidy for our guests to enjoy. hope you have a great trip through the rest of NZ. cheers Crash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#15 of 57 in Rotorua
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing