We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all my room mates were robbed here”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“all my room mates were robbed here”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Please be aware that this place has a security issue, over the bank holiday weekend everyone was robbed my entire back pack was taken and so was a girl from Belgium's, In the same room the day before a French girls Laptop was taken and a Kiwi guys kindel. The manager did change the lock but only after the second robbery. Crash palace do have lockers but they are not big enough for you to store your rucksack and if you are staying in a room you want to be able to leave your cloths there without them being taken, The person had a key to the room as all the windows and doors were locked. This could be a hostel guest, employee or professional thief either way it's rooms are being targeted at the moment. I checked with the police and there have been Incident reports filed as recently as the beginning of October, My advice If you want to keep your backpack don't stay here.or keep it empty and lock away all your possessions.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the ground floor your an easy target for thieves.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wkdfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Totally understand your frustration caused by this situation. we have changed the locks and the codes for the doors and this problem has stopped. We have done everything we can for you and the other guests offering to cover any costs incurred and claim on our insurance for those not covered. we are sorry this happened to you and understandably appreciate your review. Please note we take security of our guest seriously and this is the first time we have had things go missing from a room. safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
77
125
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

This place definitely has a backpacker's feel to it all the way down to the messy kitchen and vomit on the toilet seats. It was quite busy the night we were there so that might have had something to do with it. The bed was OK but not a very homely feel to the place. It was fine for the money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank spf3million
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
Cheers for letting us know someone had been sick in the toilet in your review it may have helped if you let one of our staff know when you were here so we could have cleaned it?? again with the messy kitchens ? i don't know what to do about it sorry unless we start to fine people for not doing dishes if guest use the kitchens they must clean up after themselves. our kitchens are cleaned morning and night. thanks for the review i will try to figure out what to do about the kitchens.. safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This hostel is in a good location close to a supermarket and bus stop. The German guy that checked us in was lovely and helpful but then it went downhill. The corridors were roasting hot but our room was an ice box. The kitchen downstairs and upstairs were tiny and very hard to get space to cook in them. The kitchen was dirty most of the time and only seemed to be cleaned once a week. The tea towels were wet and dirty. The fridge was overflowing and not clean. There was 2 dogs wandering around downstairs! There was only 2 female showers upstairs so had to queue each morning till 1 became available. Would not recommended staying here nearly the worst hostel we've stayed in after 8 weeks backpacking and staying in hostels. The hostel did give free pasta or rice which was a nice bonus.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helly2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
sorry you don't like our taste in music but it is far from Garage. reggae and dub is what gets played mostly maybe some funk. we are thermally heated and all rooms have heaters sorry you did not find the one in your room. I'm not sure what we can do about the kitchens i have people clean them in the morning and then again at night this is however other guest responsibility as well.
sorry our dogs offended you they are part of our family and we advertise we have them.
thanks for your review safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week in o e of the private rooms. The room had an ensuite which we weren't expcecting so that was definitely good.
The staff were very nice and helpful though reception isn't open 24 hours. We even got a lift round to our bus stop when we were leaving.
The hostel has 2 kitchens and the upstairs one is definitely better. The downstairs kitchen is too small with too many people and nobody ever washes their dishes (though not the hostel's fault). The kitchens are well equipped though there's no oven. Guests are provided with free tea, coffee, rice, pasta and other things.
I wasn't too keen on staff doing my laundry for me - I just prefer doing it myself.
The outside seating area is really nice especially as we had great weather & the hot tub is an added bonus.
There's different evening activities on each night which give the place a good atmosphere and a chance to meet people.
We really like it & would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katie-a-r-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 13 October 2013
thanks for taking the time to leave a review guys glad you had a great stay safe travels to the both of you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

This hostel is perfect for the younger travellers and people on their own, hot tub and decks with lots of funky artwork around the main area's. Not a huge hostel but an up and downstairs kitchen we only used the downstairs kitchen which wasn't massive and not well kept but clean enough to cook in! Our room was cool as it was a 10 bed but because of the shape of the room the 4 beds around the corner almost separated the area completely so you had your own space would definitely want to stay here again when I go back.

Room Tip: Like I said before the 10 bed is the biggest room but because of the shape of the room it almost fee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Its a fine balance between party and sleep :) we do like to create an atmosphere where people feel comfortable to talk with others and come down to play our evening games. This was the hostels i loved when i was traveling so i guess i have taken a little from everywhere and tried to mix it up here. 11pm is cut off time though for these activities ensuring those wanting to sleep or have early flights or buses are able to get a good night sleep. thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review safe travels to you !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2013

i have been recommend to stay there. it is the last place i have stayed for my four weeks traveling in new zealand. i really really loved there. i wont say it is the best facilities but everything just makes comfortable. the french canadian girl in reception was really helpful to book the tour for me and phoned so many different companies helping check the avilabiles. the friday night free bolognese spaghetti is just good and the free brownies were sooooooooooo yummy. after a free pool competition on saturday, we went for my last night out in NZ. everything was just so good. the free spa and the dj in lounge and very arty decoration.

Room Tip: the four bed dorm is really good but you may need ask for another blanket since nz is chilling durin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michmich0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. we rely on recommendations from other and would like to thank anyone who recommends us. have a great trip through the rest of the country safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2013

It's been over a year now since I left crash palace, but I'm still think a lot about the good times I had.
If you're going to NZ, you have to travel to Rotorua and experience Crash Palace.
Sure it's a great hostel, but what makes it so special and unique are the people there. The staff is truly welcoming and friendly and helps you out with nearly everything, they give you tips like where to go to see some cool stuff for free or where you find free wifi. They are heart and soul of this place and make it feel like home.
Not to mention, that it's the cheapest hostel in Rotorua and theyre even having free dinner on fridays and free pancakes on sunday mornings, they have a hot tub, great deals for tourist attractions, of course clean rooms and bathrooms... and so on.
Guys really, if youranywhere near Rotorua go check out this awesome hostel!
You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudithF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
And we remember you like it was yesterday doll thanks so much for your kind words my little family appreciate it. We would like to thank you for helping us through last summer you arrived as a stranger and left as part of our family and for this we are forever grateful to you. hope you are loving life and living your dream. love love your whanau at crash
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#26 of 57 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing