We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing”
Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Crash Palace is the place with 3 fantastic points: Place, People, Price. The owner and staff were very friendly and helpful. Chris, Karine and Jerome, were really good hosts, giving us good information of places to visit in Rotorua. Chris is also very helpful in solving problems, one incident where the powerstrip in the room was no working. He came over quickly and gave us another one. Thanks Chris!

The hostel is two or three streets away from i-Site, making it easy to locate. Around the hostel, the attractions of Rotorua are simply as close as you get it. The Polynesian Spa, Goverment Gardens and Lake Rotorua are a short distance walk away.

The hostel is massive and having no lack of activities everyday. You could visit Rotorua in the day and spent the night in the hostel watching movies, having a dip in the jacuzzi or playing a game of pool.The staff are also equally fun, planning activities which lets the other backpackers to mingle and enjoy. You could literally feel no barrier between hosts and guests, which makes the stay amazing.

The facilities were great and well maintained, the kitchen was well stocked with equipments for cooking and the bathrooms were very clean. The accomodation was also good for a long stay, with a nice big room for 4 men. Heaters were installed in each room which was a major plus point in the winter cold night.

Overall, I highly recommend to stay in Crash Palace when visting Rotorua. I even made another stay when coming back to Rotorua. Thanks Crash Palace for this incredible experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamblok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
thank you for your kind words i guess it is always the little things that make a big difference. It was no problem to replace the socket in the room. hope you have a great trip through NZ and find many more great places to stay. safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    117
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
81
126
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I had a lovely stay at Crash Palace. The owner had a very welcoming lounge made from his own hard working experience, you could feel the love of the room as it also has culture meaning. The facilities were on point as it is in winter it was warm and lovely. Overall it was wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drisanailiganoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
thanks for taking the time to leave a review we appreciate it. my wife has an amazing skill for art and design all of the art she has acquired from our own travels around nz and abroad. we have just upgraded our facilities with new carpet and find this proving to be a great investment. hope you have a great trip through nz safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hostel was a really great place to stay, we were only there for one night but enjoyed our stay. It's cool and quirky, with a lovely garden and we were lucky enough to have some sun so we could just chill out there.
The facilities were great and everyone running it was really nice.
Overall this was a clean, comfortable, well decorated and friendly place to stay in rotorua!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geepea95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
thanks for coming to stay with us hope you have a great trip through nz safe traves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puhoi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I love backpackers. Crash Palace was clean , warm and central city,Rotorua. Chris was always helpful and fun. He gives good advice on things to do. There was lots of room options for accomadation, bunk, single, double and even rooms with ensuites. The shared kitchens and bathrooms were clean and big enought to not queue for. Nice social area's. Thanks Crash Palace your awesome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyPuhoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
great bunch of ladies thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your reunion i am so stoked you guys had a great weekend.. see you next year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This property has an excellent location in the middle of Rotorua.
Bathroom areas were very clean
Stayed in the winter and found the rooms to be very warm, heaters definitely worked. Beds and pillows were very comfy.
The staff were exceptionally helpful and also do a few guided tours that you can book with them. Highly recommend the Pub Crawl. Chris the owner was very accommodating.
If looking for very good value in the heart of Rotorua you will not be disappointed with Crash Palace. We will be staying here again when we are back.

Room Tip: The 6 & 4 dorm on the ground floor are good, whereas the single and twin rooms on ground floor c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Kiwi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
thanks for taking the time to leave a review. i do have to thank mother nature for the free heat tho glad you enjoyed your stay hope to see you return cheers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 30 June 2014

i would highly recommend crash palace as a great place to stay. chris and his staff couldn't of been more helpful and everything was lovely and clean and keep this way the whole weekend we were there. the rooms were very warm and comfortable and if we needed anything chris went out of his way to accomadate us. thanks chris and your lovely staff. we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maree54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
great bunch of ladies thank you so much for choosing to stay with us for your reunion i am so stoked you guys had a great weekend.. see you next year !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Stayed here Feb 2014 for 3 nights, friendly staff, and very helpful, especially with last minute plan changes and bookings. Different themed nights which is helpful to meet new people. Beds were great as were the rooms in general and bathrooms. No complaints to be had :) Just off the main road, so not noisy at night, completely different compared to other places at times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miriw26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
crash1977, Owner at Crash Palace, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
great places attract great people.... !! thanks for the kind words hope you have a great trip through the rest of nz safe travels to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
696 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#11 of 58 in Rotorua
21 reviews
0.4 mi away
YHA Rotorua
YHA Rotorua
#5 of 58 in Rotorua
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing