We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great, friendly environment with a cold beer to welcome you”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Crash Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crash Palace
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“A great, friendly environment with a cold beer to welcome you”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2011

I had a fantastic stay at Crash Palace. Chris was a great host and helped us find a lot of free and fun things to do. The other workers there were equally as friendly. This backpackers was the cleanest I have stayed at and it was overly noisy, but still a fun atmosphere. The beds aren't the greatest, but perfectly fine for the price. My favorite part? You get an ice cold beer to welcome you when you check in! Drink Speights, lose your mates!"

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flash_International
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    115
    34
    11
    5
See reviews for
8
77
122
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2010

Crash Palace, was a really enjoyable stay. The facitilies are well looked after, the staff friendly and helpful, and the location central enough to see everything, but out of the way enough to get a good nights sleep. I had a wonderful time at crash palace and was actually sad to leave, which is always the sign of a good backpackers. Keep up the good work guys

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelstaceygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

We stayed in a double room, which did come directly off the kitchen. this meant we could hear people coming and going but most people seemed quite respectful of this. The hosts were extremely friendly and keen to help organise any activities. The hostel is on the top side of the town near to the lake, but the whole area is very compact so everything is easily accessible. I'd recommend this as a budget option.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peachesandcream84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol, england
Level Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

This hostel is in an excellent location - close to all the shops and the lake.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and helped me book a couple of tours.
The room was very big and spacious but the beds were not that comfortable and were very squeaky!!!
It was a nice quiet hostel and the lounge and kitchen were clean and spacious.
There are 2 resident dogs and a cat so if you are not an animal lover this is not the hostel for you!
Overall a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2010

They wanted my passport on arrival (which I refused to hand over) and I felt was totally unnecessary. The dorm room was ok but there were 4 sets of bunk beds and limited floor space for all the bags. I had a top bunk, but the ladder couldn't be used as it was up against the wall at the end of the bunk. getting up and down was awkward to say the least.. Ths showers and toilet facilities were ok. I didn't use the kitchen and didn't really notice how clean it was. i just didn't find the place very friendly although the guy on reception was certainly ok.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarryLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oita, Japan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

My friend and I really enjoyed our stay here. We had a private room with ensuite. The room was huge! And we had our own kitchen area with a kettle, fridge and sink. It wasn't the fanciest of places, but it certainly was cheap! The bathroom was ok, sink was really small, the shower was great, but so dark! There was no light in there! The staff really make this place great, they are so friendly and relaxed and really knowledgable about the local area. There was loads of free parking, a decent sized kitchen, a big lounge area with TV and a hot tub outside on the deck. The hostel have a dog and cat, they are both really friendly and cute!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate83UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

Stayed in a dorm with friends, it was no frills but clean, tidy and secure. The hostel was quiet and spacious. There is a nice spa and outside area. In central Rotorua, close to most things, free roadside parking!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annika81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.0 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#7 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crash Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crash Palace

Property: Crash Palace
Address: 1271 Hinemaru Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crash Palace 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crash Palace provides the cheapest Quality accommodation for backpackers, Groups and budget travelers. The 1930,s character building has deep funky colors throughout. New Zealand art fills almost every space and fresh New Zealand music sets the atmosphere for an enjoyable stay. Crash is conveniently located opposite the Millennium Hotel and within 5 mins walking distance of the Main Street, I site (bus stop), Government gardens, Blue baths, Polynesian spa, and Pac N save supermarket. With high-speed Wi-Fi Internet, Lockers, 2 Kitchens and dining areas, BBQ, Outdoor Courtyard, Spa Pool, Thermal heating, and friendly service. It's the perfect place to chill and unwind a little from your travels. We offer a range of free services, Pasta and rice tea & coffee a selection of herbs and spices. Also a Free Spaghetti bolignaise on Fridays in summer and pancakes for breakfast Sunday. The hostel is located within walking distance of Pac N save supermarket, Government Gardens, Blue Baths, Museum, Polynesian Spa Pools, Kuirau Thermal Park. You are right in the city close to Rotorua's pubs, bars and markets.Look foward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crash Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing