We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Pretty Good Kiwi Motel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A Pretty Good Kiwi Motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

This is a typical New Zealand motel nestled beside some seemingly flasher places, but it has features these establishments are unlikely to match. BK’s is just off Rotorua’s main motel strip on Fenton Street and a short walk to the main shopping area, restaurants and local tourist facilities such as the Government Gardens and Polynesian Pools. Our unit was very adequate with kitchen facilities, a spa bath and comfy bed. Parking was right outside the door.

The owners were very friendly and helpful. It was nice to stay in a motel that is owned by the couple that you deal with.

Overall this is a nice place to stay and it is good value.

Room Tip: Not all room have spa baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Al_paca10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you "Al_paca10" for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    245
    122
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
92
194
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2013

The staff were very helpful , friendly and gave great advice. It was spacious very clean and comfortable. Very good value for money and excellently appointed. Nothing was too much trouble and the room was very clean, plenty of soft towels.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you "Anne S" for taking the time to review your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Excellent central location. Unit spotlessly clean, and such friendly, welcoming hosts. Got to rate the shower pressure.... Awesome. A lovely contimentsl breakfast , so conveniently delivered evening before - great when on business. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 16 May 2013
Thank you "Caroline C" for your comments. Our cleaning staff do a great job with their room preperation and isn't the shower pressure fantastic. Thank You and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013

We spend 2 nights and had a wonderful stay. Place was nice, comfortable and tidy. It is located right across from the central Mall which had supermarkets & shops. Also pretty close to any food outlets of your choice. The manager was very friendly.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Thank you "Sue H" for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013 via mobile

Our stay here was fantastic. The owner, Dean, and his family and staff were the type of hosts you want when staying in a motel. Accommodating, nothing was any trouble and advice on what to see and when to see it was freely available. It's the type of place you would come back to time and time again as it is close to all amenities, close to shops and highways. Beds were comfortable and the room spotless. Recommend this place to anyone anytime.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MauricePoiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you Maurice for your review of your stay with us. We are pleased we were able to assist you while you were here, we have a good knowledge of the local area and are more than happy to share with our guests.

As we are located on a quiet street next to town our guest thing our location is great. Walk across the road to Rotorua Central Mall and into the town centre and the local restaurants.

Thank you. Dean & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

Great location, close to the town center and within walking distance of Government Gardens and the lake. Good clean room and loved the juccuzi. A welcome home for two nights. We appreciated the laundary facilities and the tourist advice from the front desk. The breakfast option enabled us to get going early to see the tourist attractions: The Thermal Wonderland is an amazing sight for anyone and the buried village was quiet and peaceful - even in the rain!

Room Tip: Choose the jaccuzi option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BLB2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you "BLB2019" for your comments. Yes we are a great location when exploring Rotorua central on foot. Kuirau Park, the lake front and the Government Gadens are all an easy flat walk through town. With recliner chairs and jaccuzi spa bath what more can one ask for to relax at the end of the day. (perhaps a bottle of wine from the supermarket across the road, sorry BYO.)

Yes we are still offering our complimentary continental breakfast when booking directly with us.

We look forward to your next visit, Thanks Dean.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2013

The three of us stayed here for two nights. The room was clean, spacious, had free wifi and car park. Friendly, jovial and helpful acting manager. Close to supermarket, food court and the hot mineral pools near Lake Rotorua.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoriaB62, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 26 April 2013
Thank you "MLian" for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our location very central to everything Rotorua has to offer. The supermarket and food court are straight across the road, very handy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Property: BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Address: 16 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Rotorua Motor Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 star plus is a modern 16 unit motel located in central Rotorua 100 meters from the town centre. One of Rotorua's newest motels all our units have extra insulation and hush glass making for quiet and modern units. Our units range from generous studios, one, two and three bedroom sleeping up to 7 guests. All our units have kitchens, recliner chairs, LCD TVs and some have duo spa baths. Local tours and attractions and be booked through reception and we are always happy to offer assistance on what to do in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bk`s Rotorua Motor Hotel Rotorua
Bks Rotorua Hotel
Bks Rotorua Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing