We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just about adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Ranked #6 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“just about adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2011

even though the location is good very near to the supermarket and polynesian spa, the rooms and the amenities are just about adequate. the beds are not very comfortable

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pradeep9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bksmotel, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your review, it is much appreciated and as the new owners of this motel from April 2011 we would like to take this opportunity to respond to your review about our amenities and beds, unfortunately we cannot please everyone with bed comfort as some people prefer a soft bed and some a hard bed, we have got beds here of very high quality that are medium firmness mattresses, in the hope that they will suit most people. My husband and I have made changes to the amenities in the units since our take over so we hope that we are providing our guests with a high standard worthy of our four and a half star Qualmark rating.
We once again thank you for your honest review and we hope to see you again at our motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    125
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
93
196
23
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2010

Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Ideal location close to general shopping area and just a short distance walk to town centre. Easy to find. Friendly motel minders at the time. Had two one bedroom units, one upstairs and one downstairs, both were excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em-peedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

spent two nights in Rotorua, could have spent three lovely comfortable room, owners had great local knowledge, walking distance to town centre and shopping centre. Will stay here again when we come back to New Zealand.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeandkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingscliff, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We could walk across the road to the shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean & comfy & we had a great nights sleep. The hosts helped us with recomendations of the best things to do scenically and for fun. HIghly recommend it as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Can't speak highly enough of this motel - the best we encountered on our recent trip to the North Island of New Zealand. Booking through Wotif, we had modern and spotlessly clean queen and twin studio rooms, each featuring fully equipped kitchen areas. The bargain rate of $110 per room per night included a comprehensive continental breakfast delivered to our rooms. Better still, we were given an upgrade to a room with a huge two-person spa, Shopping centre and eateries just 50m away and friendly and helpful managers to suggest some worthwhile attractions. Highly recommended.
Carol Campbell

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenslandSandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

We chose the BK based on the reviews here even though it was slightly more expensive than some of the alternatives, and were not disappointed. The room was great, much better than your average motel room. It was spacious and clean, and the spa bath was fantastic.

On the list of small issues, the bed was a little bit on the soft side, and the bathroom could use more shelves as the other reviewer mentioned. Internet was free and fast, but not wireless so we couldn't connect with our phone, only with a laptop. Lucky for us, we had both.

Service at the front desk was just ok, surely didn't go above and beyond like other reviewers described.

I thought the location was good when I made the booking, and it is good - next to a supermarket and only 10 minutes walk from the center of town and the lake. But it's definitely not in the center and having had a car, we never actually walked to town.

Overall, the BK is a recommended choice with the biggest plus being the room itself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bg007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bksmotel, Owner at BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge, responded to this review, 6 July 2011
Thank you for your review, just wanted to let you know that we are the new owners of the motel and therefore feel it is important to inform people of the changes we are making here. Firstly we have installed wireless internet which is fast and still free.
We pride ourselves on our high standards in our units and we appreciated reading your nice comments, unfortunately we cannot please everyone with bed comfort as some people prefer a hard bed and some a soft one so they beds are middle of the range so to speak, I think in another review it said the bed was too hard, they are all the same make beds.
We hope to see you here again sometime and we can assure you we go out of our way with our guests to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
regards
Debbie & Dean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

There’s a lot to be said when a little motel gains the loyalty of over 6 Deloitte employees for over 4 months. That’s right - my husband and his co-workers have done the research for you – they have stayed at BK’s motel for over 4 months and this is my review from the 3 weeks I visited.

My husband started at the Millenium and after 5 days, switched to BK’s - why? More affordable, more space, great front desk service, great shower pressure, free wired internet and it’s where the other co-workers had already been based for 2 months.

Room: #813 (odd numbering system since it’s only a 2 level building)

Location:
Fabulous – grocery store and restaurants are a 2 minute walk, 15 minute walk to Eat Street, walk to Te Puia in 20 minutes, bus station 8 minute walk.

Bed:
Queen bed was comfy with newer white linens AND electric blanket for chilly winter nights.
I did miss having a Radio in the alarm clock.

TV:
flat screen up on corner of wall – only 11 channels but it’s all you really need while you’re on vacation. SkyMovies Channel playing all day. Other rooms (810) I saw had a TV stand instead of being placed on the wall which makes it difficult for walking traffic.

Bathroom:
Rooms 813, 816, 810 have a Jacuzzi tubs which are fabulous and spacious for 2! The bathroom does need more shelving – really only space for one person’s toiletries. Towel warming rack is a lovely touch. Negative – only 2 bath towels. You need towels for excursions and spa so it seemed we were always

Kitchen:
Everything you need to make one meal. I ended up buying some larger plastic glasses since glasses were limited and small. I hate mixing a drink in a tiny glass, otherwise it was a good little kitchen with a hot plate and microwave. Negative - carpeted area.

Internet: Free , wired, fast – excellent. No wireless – yet.

Cleaning Service:
Remember I mentioned we were staying for a long period of time. From my experience, I met 2 cleaning staff – an excellent deaf lady and an older lady and it was a toss up of who you would get each day. The older one declared she’s not supposed to do dishes yet the deaf lady would daily, so it was confusing, so we weren’t sure which day the kitchen would get completely cleaned. We felt the service should be more consistent or declare what days/whether or not we are to do our own dishes. I’m sure if you’re only staying at BK’s for a few nights this wouldn’t be an issue. Overall it was always clean enough for our purposes.

Front Desk Service:
The longer you stay anywhere the more you get to know people, so perhaps I am biased in saying this, but the service was above & beyond the call of duty. The moteliers, Greg & Gaylene had great tips of things to do around Rotorua and after 8 days I had done a lot of what they recommended on my own (considering my hubby was working all day). My husband would drop off his drycleaning to the front desk and 2 days later it would magically appear back in the closet. Since renting a bike for the 3 weeks for going to be expensive for the time I was there, I just ended up buying a cheap one from the discount store and they kindly stored it for me in their laundry room. One day Greg had to go for appointment in a town an hour away (Hamilton) so he kindly let me tag along for the ride & to check out the city. They truly do appreciate and value their guests.

We all highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ringettechick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.7 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#5 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua
0.6 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge

Property: BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
Address: 16 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#9 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#12 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B-K's Rotorua Motor Lodge, Qualmark rated 4 star plus is a modern 16 unit motel located in central Rotorua 100 meters from the town centre. One of Rotorua's newest motels all our units have extra insulation and hush glass making for quiet and modern units. Our units range from generous studios, one, two and three bedroom sleeping up to 7 guests. All our units have kitchens, recliner chairs, LCD TVs and some have duo spa baths. Local tours and attractions and be booked through reception and we are always happy to offer assistance on what to do in Rotorua. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bk`s Rotorua Motor Hotel Rotorua
Bks Rotorua Hotel
Bks Rotorua Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing