We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very clean lovely staff”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
mumbai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very clean lovely staff”
Reviewed 18 April 2011

spotless hostel...very nice and kind staff.... good value for money...shame no tea/coffee facilities but is very cheap and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    152
    60
    8
    8
See reviews for
29
117
109
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed for two nights and were very pleased with what we got for our money. Very clean hostel- rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. Great reception service- very knowledgable and happy to help everyone. Walkable to town centre and the free geothermal park. If you have a car (there's plenty of free parking outside the hostel) it's a very short drive to activities 'out of town' like mountain biking in the Whakarewarewa forest, the skyline luge and the Polynesian Spas (although you could walk here too). Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

From the moment I checked in I had a great experience with Treks.
I stayed in a double ensuite room and while it was small it was fine.
The kitchen faciliets were outstanding and I was very impressed with their extensive recycling system.
The hostel was clean, there's off street parking and it's in town.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others or stay their again.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were really happy we found this little place. It was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was very good. With a car park out the back it was also suitable for those travelling with a car. It was only a short walk to shops for those without a car though. This was one of the best places I stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TassieTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in a double room as our first stop on the magic bus tour north to south. The room was basic (bed, mirror, coat hooks) and clean. We found the shower`area was also clean. The hostel was very quiet and not very sociable as the common area was set away from the rooms in another building and not many seemed to be in there. We didn't cook as we only stayed one night so ate out. Would recommend Fat Dog cafe for food, especially breakfast which was 'hearty!' Not cheap though, but that was standard across NZ to be honest. Lava bar next to Base bar had good drink deals but wasn't overly busy. Rotorua is nice enough but apart from the thermal pools, Zorbibg and the Hangi night, there isn't much else going on so would not stay longer than a night.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nichi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Veksoe, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2010

Good rooms with beds that are long enough for everyone. Nice big common area with kitchen, pc's and tv. Ok for one night's stay to check out the thermal pools and the local area, but I would get bored if I was staying longer... Located closed to the hot pools which can be seen for free but it is a 10 minute walk from the bus stop.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelThelle1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2010

We were travelling around NZ and stayed in various accommodation from luxury to YHA. This was the worse. I don't think the bed sheets had been changed as there were long dark hairs in between the covers and on the pillow. I slept in pjs and a hoody! I woke the next morning to find bites around my ankles and feet. I cannot say for definite that there were bed bugs, all I can do is report what happened to me. Lets the YHA change down.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestJoManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
697 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
776 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing