We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic backpacker choice. Clean, modern - better than Base Hot Rocks.”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hostel was our second choice after walking out of the filthy, fly infested Base Hotrocks and we are so glad that we found it just round the corner.

Compared to Base, this place was clean, modern and well maintained with great staff at the front desk who were willing to sort out a few things for us. Yes, the rooms are basic and it's a tiny bit more expensive than other hostels but it's worth it for the cleanliness and better standards in general.

Definitely worthwhile booking into this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (388)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 388 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2011

Rocked up about 8pm having not booked, got daily rates as non YHA member and was advised it was cheaper to rent a double room ensuite than single room and only 17 NZ dollars more than a dorm - basically for £25per night I got a double bed ensuite and most lovely service from staff on duty. Then again the next day when I was being a complete eejit unable to work the telephones, the female staff member was very helpful (and didnt make me feel like an eejit!). Good facilities, big kitchen area and loungue, computers and wifi, book exchange and bookign service for vaiour things. The only downside being that the second night there was a big group of teens in who didnt really listen to whoever it was supervising them and distrubed sleep - but not really the hostel's fault!
My first experience of hostelling and on this positive went on to book the one in Napier which was as good (though smaller)

Would recommend and use YHA again. Not the 'party' kind of hostel so if thats what you are looking for then there are other places in town but this was friendly, good value, good standard accomm. Thanks Treks!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shuvalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

spotless hostel...very nice and kind staff.... good value for money...shame no tea/coffee facilities but is very cheap and good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexandrahaynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2011

Stayed for two nights and were very pleased with what we got for our money. Very clean hostel- rooms, bathrooms and kitchen. Great reception service- very knowledgable and happy to help everyone. Walkable to town centre and the free geothermal park. If you have a car (there's plenty of free parking outside the hostel) it's a very short drive to activities 'out of town' like mountain biking in the Whakarewarewa forest, the skyline luge and the Polynesian Spas (although you could walk here too). Highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2011

From the moment I checked in I had a great experience with Treks.
I stayed in a double ensuite room and while it was small it was fine.
The kitchen faciliets were outstanding and I was very impressed with their extensive recycling system.
The hostel was clean, there's off street parking and it's in town.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend to others or stay their again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We were really happy we found this little place. It was clean, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the room was very good. With a car park out the back it was also suitable for those travelling with a car. It was only a short walk to shops for those without a car though. This was one of the best places I stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TassieTraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Stayed here for 1 night in a double room as our first stop on the magic bus tour north to south. The room was basic (bed, mirror, coat hooks) and clean. We found the shower`area was also clean. The hostel was very quiet and not very sociable as the common area was set away from the rooms in another building and not many seemed to be in there. We didn't cook as we only stayed one night so ate out. Would recommend Fat Dog cafe for food, especially breakfast which was 'hearty!' Not cheap though, but that was standard across NZ to be honest. Lava bar next to Base bar had good drink deals but wasn't overly busy. Rotorua is nice enough but apart from the thermal pools, Zorbibg and the Hangi night, there isn't much else going on so would not stay longer than a night.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nichi21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
806 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £13 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing