We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean...”
Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2011

So important in the hostel environment, as many can be dubious. This one is also convenient (to the city sights) yet quiet (as few are). Good sized kitchen/dining, well equipped.

Our twin room (with en suite) was one of the smallest we had in hostels over a couple of weeks... (on this trip) but I've certainly been in smaller overseas, and it had enough room for our suitcases and provided hanging hooks. All good.

Friendly staff, off street parking, and there were no stairs to our room (always a bonus!!)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jqqls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (389)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 389 reviews

Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed for RWC in a private triple. Perfect for what we needed. Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cymrud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We stayed here in September 2011 for one night.

This hostel was a clean and comfortable place to stay for the night. It was within walking distance to local bars and restaurants. Plenty of showers and toilets. Only small complaint was that the dryers in the washing room were broken, but we were able to use another one around the corner. We did not use the kitchen facilities, but the area appeared large, with all the usual equipment.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamelia7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This hostel was amazing.

I arrived about an hour before check-in but as the room was ready I was allowed to go in. :D Only a short walk from the i-site/bus terminal.

Lovely clean hostel. Shared toilets & showers absolutely fine. I need clean bathrooms!! Really nice, large kitchen area and tv lounge nearby.

I wanted to head to Te Puia and asked at the desk - I was given a local bus timetable! - Yay! Much cheaper than an organised tour.

I only stayed for a couple of nights but it was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily_Garner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We've tried Base in Taupo and of course we must try out YHA in Rotorua! We already like it before we enter the hostel. It was raining and thank godness they've got a private parking for YHA customer (otherwise we would need to pay meters).

We had the 3 sharing room. Small yet nice. Clean, comfortable with great heaters, and the bed is comfortable too!

Common place like bathroom & kitchen area were clean as well, with all the facilities that needed.

Perfect location, friendly staff, great value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CasendraNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Stayed at YHA Rotorua for a few nights in May 2011. Hostel is clean and comfortable. The quad sharing dorm I was in had all single beds and no bunk beds, which is great. The hostel is within Rotorua CBD and is a short walk away from Rotorua i-Site. Good sleep on the cheap.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AccidentalTourist69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

This hostel was our second choice after walking out of the filthy, fly infested Base Hotrocks and we are so glad that we found it just round the corner.

Compared to Base, this place was clean, modern and well maintained with great staff at the front desk who were willing to sort out a few things for us. Yes, the rooms are basic and it's a tiny bit more expensive than other hostels but it's worth it for the cleanliness and better standards in general.

Definitely worthwhile booking into this place.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
722 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#36 of 92 in Rotorua
1,167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 58 in Rotorua
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range: £13 - £49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing