We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“purpose built hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, Norfolk
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“purpose built hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A purpose built modern hostel,. We had an ensuite room , very basic and small but does the job for a good price. Very strange for a new building that there were no shelves in the bathroom and no over bed lights, you have to get out of bed and cross the room to turn the light off! All the usual facilities , laundry etc. The communial kitchen superb with a longe area and TV room open till 1am. Well recommended.

Room Tip: the rooms inside the main block are a bit larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennychristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Hi Jenny,

Thanks for your feedback. We’ve recently completed the first stage of our room upgrades which included adding bedside lamps. Shelving in the rooms will be the next step. It’s because of feedback like yours that we make these changes and upgrades, so thank you for the feedback!

Haylee Bloor, Hostel Manager
YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    148
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
28
114
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Foxton, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

5 STARS FOR PETE haha..
Stayed here over the raggas weekend and loved it!! Clean rooms, tidy facilities and super friendly Pete!! haha we will def be back for raggas 2015. Thanks YHA!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank girliesrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for 5 nights in double en-suite room. Very comfortable. Excellent kitchen facilities and games / lounge. Free internet for YHA members. Exceptionally helpful staff.

Good location within 2 blocks of Fenton Street.

Free car park.

Some nighttime noise from nearby bar - but tolerable

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking 'courtyard' are noisier, but tolerable. Rooms at back overlooking car park...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jet6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hello,

Thank you for your review. We work hard here to make sure our guests have the best possible experience, so we're glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were so helpful! It's great to hear such positive feedback which let's us know we're doing our jobs really well.

Enjoy the rest of your travels in New Zealand.


Haylee Bloor
Hostel Manager, YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked a double room in Rotorua at the YHA, owing to lack of other affordable options, given that we were visiting during the Christmas and New Year break. YHA in Rotorua has probably some of the teeniest rooms that you have seen. You practically invade the room once you enter. It is completely basic, so many sure you have your own soaps, shampoos etc. YHA, like everyone else, has a communal kitchen area, which is equipped with utensils, should you need to cook. They also have a barbeque area, which was quite pleasant. The hotel is basic and clean enough. But don't come here with the expectation of luxury. It simply wasn't meant to be that. All in all, it could have been worse, so we are not complaining.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RD1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Hi there!

Thanks for your review.

We’re glad you enjoyed the kitchens, our great BBQ area and the cleanliness of the hostel. We’re sorry to hear that, despite these, you didn’t thoroughly enjoy your stay and that you found the rooms small.

Hostels are by nature budget accommodation which means what we offer is more basic than luxury accommodation. However, we’re proud of our facilities here. YHA Rotorua is a purpose-built hostel in the central city and is Rotorua’s finest lodge offering quality budget backpacker accommodation. We do plan, however, to introduce additional furniture into our rooms due to feedback like yours to ensure our guests’ stays as comfortable as possible.

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. Enjoy your onward travels.

Haylee Bloor
Hostel Manager, YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Currently travelling with my husband and generally staying in motels. After staying in a few yha' s we realised that they are a lot cheaper and have everything we need. Booked a double for the first night then moved to a 'deluxe double' for the second. I was pretty shocked when I saw the room as it was about as basic as it gets. No proper bed just a wooden frame, no side table or lamp, 1 power point in the whole room, horrible old bed linen, 1 scraggly pillow (asked for extra). As for the deluxe, same set up with the added bonus of a small tv, dirty fridge & kettle. Stayed out the rooms as much a possible & cancelled my third night. To top it off I have been bitten alive by from what looks like bed bugs (past experience 8 yrs ago so I know what they look like!). Do not stay here, whole place needs a refurb! Oh and one more thing, sleep, what sleep! You can hear every noise, voice, water running, door slamming!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hamster66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback. I’m sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.

We are in the midst of a bed replacement programme. On your second night you would have stayed in one of the new beds in the deluxe double room. I hope you found this more comfortable than your first night. We are also in the process of installing bedside lighting and more furniture in the rooms because of the feedback, like yours, that we’ve been receiving. We are always inspecting our bedding and linen to make sure it is up to standard. I will review these standards with our staff to ensure all our guests have the best possible experience whilst staying with us.

It is important that we are immediately made aware of any possibility of bedbugs so we can deal with any potential problem as soon as possible. Bedbugs are a worldwide problem in accommodation and we are very proactive with treatment (when found) and prevention. Bedbugs are the best backpackers in the world and tend to travel with guests, so ours is a constant challenge of identifying when they’ve turned up and making sure the problem is resolved as soon as possible. We do not allow guests to use sleeping bags in all YHA hostels, as sleeping bags can carry bedbugs. Suspect backpacks/suitcases are treated by our pest control company with 100% certainty.

Once again, I appreciate your feedback. We constantly work towards improving all issues that our guests raise. Enjoy your onward travels in New Zealand.

Haylee Bloor
Hostel Manager, YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montara, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2014

The staff was friendly and helpful...the premises were clean and inviting, and the room was simple but comfortable. We slept well, and it was very quiet. I liked having a door that opened to the outside instead an indoor opening. I saw many other ppl, but each was quiet and respectful. If it wasnt for the unhappy experience at the YHA Nelson, i would've stayed in Hostels only.

Room Tip: get a room with private bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otter94037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad to hear that your first ever stay in a hostel was a good experience! Thanks for choosing us! We hope to see you again at some stage when you're travelling through Rotorua again.

Haylee Bloor
Hostel Manager, YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

I can't understand all the reviews saying this hostel is of good quality. My friend and I stayed for one night late December, we even got a private room with 2 single beds - it was terrible. Not only did it smell terrible, the room was beyond basic; I almost didn't want to sit on the bed, it did not look clean at all. There was also no powerpoints in the room? I can't fathom paying almost $100 for one night and not having at least one powerpoint in the room? We were extremely unhappy with this hostel. The common room was quite nice and spacious for which we enjoyed while we sat so our mobile phones could charge as we didn't have a powerpoint in our room but that is about all. If you have any standards for sleeping quarters - you should never stay here.

Room Tip: Don't bother pay for a private room. if you are living the hostel life may as well save your mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHANZ, Manager at YHA Rotorua, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for your review. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy your stay with us and that you didn’t get the great experience so many of our other guests have had. I can assure you that our rooms are professionally cleaned every day, with fresh linen provided on the beds for each new guest. Every room in the hostel does have a power point. They are located on the wall next to the door. Sometimes the curtain can cover this if not pushed open all the way. If there’s ever anything you’re not satisfied with in your room, our reception staff are always happy to help.

Thank you for your feedback and for letting us know how we can continue to improve our hostel. Enjoy your onward travels.

Haylee Bloor
Hostel Manager, YHA Rotorua
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.4 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#5 of 55 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing