We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Backpackers Hostel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of YHA Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YHA Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
silkeinnz2
2 reviews
“Good Backpackers Hostel”
Reviewed 1 July 2007

For a backpackers it is good value for money!
Is is also close to the city centre.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silkeinnz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    148
    57
    7
    8
See reviews for
27
113
105
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2007

This hostel is fantastic. The kitchen was imaculate, including utensils, no washing before using needed here. It was really well laid out and equiped. The living area had plenty of space. The location is great, 10 minute walk to supermarket, couple of minutes to the centre of town, the old bath house and museum is at one end of the road and at the closer end is a thermal park.
Our room was beautiful, like a small but very modern hotel room, we did have a twin with en suite as they were very busy but the dorms were well done too.
We really wish we could have had longer there just to take time out and enjoy the hostel!
They have a huge car park and will collect you from the bus depot.
The one thing they need to work on is recycling as they only do glass and plastic but otherwise...!

  • Liked — The layout
  • Disliked — Lack of recycling
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank fearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2007

I completely agree with the other reviews, it is centrally located within walking distance of everywhere(as the place itself isn't that big!), extremely clean and tidy and the common areas are well maintained. I'm not sure if it's nice simply because it's new or because they have an excellent team of staff but whichever way, it was a pleasure to stay there-cheers!
p.s. The Peasant Plucker pub does fantastic meals-ask at reception!

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2006

By boyfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights during a round-the-world trip. The hostel is excellent in all aspects, the rooms, shared facilities, location, staff (excellent knowledge of the area). We stayed in a 4 dorm hostel, the rooms all have single beds - so no noisy bunks! I would drfinatley reccomend anyone (all ages) to stay at this hostel if visiting Rotorua.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Tips/Secrets — Speak to staff for local info - they know heaps!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeB0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2006

This brand new hostel, located in the quiet end of Downtown Rotorua is the best backpackersmy husband and I have stayed in. Friendly, very new, very clean and very spacious. You can walk to everything, good parking system and a fantastic kitchen. Very funky - feels more like a hotel than a hostel. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone - if you're going to Rotorua, stay here!!

  • Liked — Very new and very clean
  • Disliked — I liked everything
  • Stayed January 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank 26yrOldAussieChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.2 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
672 reviews
1.2 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.3 mi away
Rock Solid Backpackers
Rock Solid Backpackers
#6 of 55 in Rotorua
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crash Palace
Crash Palace
#3 of 55 in Rotorua
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Rotorua

Property: YHA Rotorua
Address: 1278 Haupapa Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand (Formerly YHA Treks Backpackers)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — YHA Rotorua 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to YHA Rotorua, a purpose built backpacker hostel in the central city for your complete Rotorua experience. Rotorua’s finest lodge, YHA Rotorua offers budget backpacker accommodation right beside Kuirau Park, Rotorua’s free geothermal attraction, and only two minutes walk from shops, cafes, restaurants and beautiful Lake Rotorua. There is a wide range of backpacker accommodation to choose from: 4 bed share rooms, 6 bed bunk rooms, triple room, standard double rooms, twin/double ensuite rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your YHA Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yha Treks Backpackers Rotorua
Yha Treks Backpackers Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing