We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serendipity Homestay

Serendipity Homestay
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rotorua
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Serendipity Homestay
Ranked #19 of 56 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

The one-night stay we had at Brian and Kate's place gave us a chance to experience true Kiwi hospitality at its best. The room had a beautiful view, their house has an even more excellent view, and both Brian and Kate are wonderful hosts. Breakfast was a jovial affair with healthy home-made jams and bread and fresh fruit. Best of all, the most powerful shower I've ever had!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank snoopchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Thank you so much for you kind words about your stay with us at Serendipity.
We like to think our place is "A pleasant surprise" just as you said. Exactly the meaning of Serendipity.
We enjoyed your company. Next time plan to stay longer. Kate and Brian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We enjoyed a short but heartwarming stay with Kate and Brian. Although our reservation was made only a day before we arrived, everything was prepared perfectly and we were very welcomed. The couple likes to travel and is interested in sharing experiences. We liked our talks very much!

Breakfast was great- with homemade bread!

And sleeping was like in heaven -the best beds during our NZ-Trip!

A one Million Dollar view!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank musica66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipityrotorua, Manager at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Have just found your kind review on TripAdvisor.
We thoroughly enjoyed your company and thank you most sincerely for your review. How nice if you ever return to N.Z. If so, we' d love to see you again. Kate and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Kate and Brian warmly welcomed us into their cozy bright home with a million dollar view of the lake. Our room was very comfortable, and we had everything we needed at our disposal. Our hosts freely provided much information and several recommendations of where to go and what to see both on and off the beaten path. We had their undivided attention. Breakfast was delicious with lots of home made bread, yoghurt, muesli and jams. The hot cooked breakfast was not only presented beautifully, it was delicious. Hot Cross buns were a very thoughtful touch at Easter. We were fortunate to be entertained by such well traveled hosts with great stories. We would definitely stay again and recommend Serendipity Homestay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverfox227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serendipityrotorua, Owner at Serendipity Homestay, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
My apologies for responding to your kind comments so late. After your stay with us at Serendipity, we traveled overseas ourselves and on our return I was in hospital for surgery. So everything is only now winding up.
We so enjoyed having you stay and I do thank you most sincerely for your kind comments. The memories of your lovely company are still clear. We always get the nicest of guests.
If you are ever in N.Z. again, we would love to have you stay again. Kate and Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

Brian and Kate were very helpful and gracious hosts. They provided a wonderful cooked breakfast for us, and they gave us lots of helpful information about the area. Their home is very comfortable and has a beautiful view of the whole Rotorua area from atop a hillside. They have wifi available as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Serendipity Homestay in late August. Brian and Kate were fantastic hosts and have lived all over New Zealand. They are a wealth of information and had great recommendations of places to stay and sites to see on the rest of our journey. I would highly recommend their homestay as they provide excellent service and a wonderful breakfast. The view from their home is spectacular! Thanks Brian and Kate for a great visit and great recommendations. Your home is beautiful and your hospitality is wonderful. Thank you!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayDGee08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Serendipity B&B offers the best stay I had in Rotorua. Lovely couple Brian & Kate made a great host helping us with their on-point recommendations to places to visit while I was there and made me feel at home at their homestay with superb backyard view overlooking Rotorua since their place is situated high up.

Their home-made breakfast was a great start to anyone's day and one should definitely try Brian's home-made bread which he served over breakfast.

Though my visit was a short one, it was one of the best holiday trip to date in which Serendipity B&B completes it all!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luthfi01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Wonderful homestay! Brian and Kate are fabulous hosts. Their home is very comfortable and the views are outstanding. They suggested, arranged, and even booked several outings for us during our stay, and even accompanied us to the hot springs pools outside of town and out to dinner one night. Such wonderful hospitality. We will be sure to book with them again when we come back to New Zealand. Thank you Kate and Brian!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsclc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
1.5 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#20 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
2.5 mi away
B&B @ The Redwoods
B&B @ The Redwoods
#2 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
A Panoramic Country Homestay
1.5 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
10.4 mi away
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
Lakeview Heights Farm Stay
#14 of 56 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serendipity Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serendipity Homestay

Property: Serendipity Homestay
Address: 3 Kerswell Terrace | Tihi-o-Tongo, Rotorua 3015, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Serendipity Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marvel at unsurpassed panoramic views of the city, lakes, thermal activity, farmlands and beyond. Relax on sunny decks, in the garden or the conservatory. Indulge in home comforts and home-cooked cuisine. Let us share our extensive local and national knowledge with you. We can advice you on the best to see and do in Rotorua and while exploring our beautiful country. We are close to all ammenities, including the wonderful mountain biking tracks now famous in Rotorua. A warm welcome awaits your arrival at Serendipity -- "A surprise waiting to be discovered." ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing