We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koura Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$168
US$136
Novotel
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sport of Kings Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$115
US$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$230
US$195
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$98
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
164
49
22
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
49
22
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake rotoruahot tub and saunanew zealandtea makingbeautiful lakefronttop sheetfabulous locationpremium roomb bbottled watermain buildingatticus finchbreakfast was excellentcommunal kitchencooked breakfastthe breakfast arealiving room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2007

There were two of us who were on Business in Rotorua, New Zealand and we needed a place to stay for at least 3 weeks. An associate told us about the "Swiss Lodge" so we drove out there to check it out. We learned that the new owners (David and Gina Wells) have renamed it the Koura Lodge and have significantly upgraded the rooms and the outside grounds. The folks at Koura Lodge made us feel right at home. Their newly upgraded Penthouse Suite was perfect for our needs. Separate bedrooms with private baths, fully stocked kitchen and plenty of room to spread out our work. FREE Internet connections and great breakfast in their dining room right on the lake are included. Our hosts made us feel part of their family. Being away from Home in Massachusetts for that length of time can be hard but we felt our hosts hospitality made the time go by fast and enjoyable. We have stayed there now for 3 weeks in December, 3 weeks in January and now plan on making our last 4 week trip in March.
It is a great place to stay for a length of time. Within 10 minutes from great restaurants in Rotorua and of course if you are a fisherman, just walk outside and cast a line into Lake Rotorua for a chance at some world class Rainbow Trout.
We met other folks that were staying there who wished they had booked longer stays. A good sign for those who may be traveling through Rotorua and find they want to stay longer. They have all the luxury items a romantic couple may need also. Rooms with a Jacuzzi, a hot tub and sauna set on the shore of the lake and a great selection of wines at your disposal. Koura Lodge has a helicopter landing area so an adventurous couple could fly to exotic locations around the island with a tour guide. Our hosts have plenty of experience helping guests plan some great trips. Koura Lodge is only 15 minutes from Rotorua Airport.
Overall Koura Lodge rates high in our books, providing a good balance of family friendly accomodations and private romantic getaways. Can't wait to get back there in March.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank newctrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2007

The owners, David and Gina along with their manager Nicola are outstanding. Their hospitality and attention to detail was suberb. Their helpfulness, kindness and responsiveness is unparralled. We had been traveling for several weeks in Australia and New Zealand and the Koura Lodge made our entire trip the best it could have ever been. The grounds are absolutely beautiful, the view to die for and the facilities outstanding. The breakfasts were some of the best. David is an outstanding cook. He even smoked the fresh trout we caught from the lake. When we needed advice on places to see, there was never any hestitation and their recommendations were great. We will definitley return!
I would definitely recommend the Koura Lodge to anyone who may be visiting the area.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Chiefmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2006

Amazing! The place is 100% refurnished and beautiful. The room is very confortable, clean and well decorated.
It is in front of the lake, you´ll be able to paddle with kayak, swim or just relax. Breakfast is also very good: fruits, cereal, latte, eggs and toast.
The hosts are nice and freindly. Good "TV" room. We loved it!

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AL_SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This lodge has recently changed it's name from Swiss Lodge and just about everything else. The decor is fabulous. And the rooms are sparkling. We had rooms with a spa in the bath and it was worth the few extra bucks. All the 1st class amenities you expect from a much more expensive lodge are there The owners Gina and David are relatively new to the B&B business and try very hard to please. For our taste they struggle between the close and friendly B&B operators to the professional arms length small inn operator. If you want the initmacy of eating with the owners and a wide open door 24/7 this is not your place. If you don't mind a few rules and minor add on charges (internet NZ$10 per stay) and really enjoy home baked bread and the local knowledge of natives - and probably the best looking family in New Zealand - and a real lodge feel and of course Jake the dog, than this is the place for you. In my opinion it is the best value on the lake. Well worth the few extra dollars to be minutes away from the commercial hotels and occasional wafts of sulphorous odors.
don.brown@brownchild.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2006

This lodge has recently changed it's name - Koura Lodge - and just about everything else.
The decor is fabulous. And the rooms are sparkling.
We had rooms with a spa in the bath and it was worth the few extra bucks. All the 1st class amenities you expect from a much more expensive lodge are there
The owners Gina and David are relatively new to the B&B business and try very hard to please. For our taste they struggle between the close and friendly B&B operators to the professional arms length small inn operator. If you want the initmacy of eating with the owners and a wide open door 24/7 this is not your place. If you don't mind a few rules and minor add on charges (internet NZ$10 per stay) and really enjoy home baked bread and the local knowledge of natives - and probably the best looking family in New Zealand - and a real lodge feel than this is the place for you.
In my opinion it is the best value on the lake. Well worth the few extra dollars to be minutes away from the commercial hotels and occasional wafts of sulphorous odors.
don.brown@brownchild.com

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank don b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews