We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly good experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ambassador Thermal Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
hobart
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazingly good experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

We intended to stay in Rotorua one night but after checking in and talking with the amazingly friendly and helpful staff we stayed for two.
We wanted to visit hot water beach on Lake Tarawera and laze in warm pools. We were impressed that Judy said"leave it with me" and went online to find a way for us to get there using a water taxi. it was a wonderful experience
The mineral and spa pools at the motel were also a big attraction as was the very convenient location with a good range of eateries, local attractions and the lake within easy walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasseatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    67
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
38
55
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2011

The hotel is a little worn, but clean and an easy walk to the center of town. The hot pool is nice for a relaxing soak.

Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Mzary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

The Ambassador is in a good location just off the lakeshore and handy for everything in the town of Rotorua: only 100 yards from the Gardens and old baths, near restaurants and shops. Much better than the "motel stretch" along Fenton Street. The owners are unfailingly pleasant and helpful. The thermal and spa pools are a real bonus. Kitchens are well equipped but I have rated it Very Good rather than Excellent because the furnishings in the rooms are a bit tired and they could do with more drawer and hanging space.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

This is great family hotel. We stayed for 2 nights with our children as part of our NZ holiday. the rooms were spotless and had plenty of space and the beds were comfy. the Manager was a teriffic lady and nothing was tooo much trouble. The hotel is close to retaurants and shops (2 blocks). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Italy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

My 18 year old nephew and I stayed at this gem of a motel in June. The room was clean, comfortable and warm! Loved the free thermal bath and hot-tub pools! The balcony was a welcome spot for morning coffee. Judy and Kelvin our charming hosts, were welcoming, kind and helpful in planning our time in and around Rotorua. We stayed an extra night. A real bargain and a restful retreat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oneworldonepeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

This motel was clean and tidy with a fabulous pool which was very clean as well. The owners were very helpful. Would recommend a stay here. Close to amenities as well and there is plenty of parking.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwichik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2010

After checking the Novatel and Ibis, we decided on the Ambassador, and are glad that we did. The couple looking after the hotel for the owners were very friendly and informative. You have a choice of a regular pool, a hot tub or one of two mineral pools. The hotel is two short blocks from the main dining street and across the street from the lakeside park. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.1 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#38 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
0.7 mi away
BK's Rotorua Motor Lodge
1.2 mi away
Arista Capri Motel
Arista Capri Motel
#6 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Thermal Motel

Property: Ambassador Thermal Motel
Address: Cnr Whakaue and Hinemaru Sts | PO Box 1212, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Ambassador Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Thermal Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing