We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
taranaki
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean very light corner 1st floor room, great to have full kitchen! Clean, tidy and comfortable. Great hot mineral pool and spa on site included. Very friendly helpful host. Comfortable beds, what else can I say?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    73
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
59
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here and were made most welcome by Mike and Philippa - such lovely people. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance to town and close to all other attractions. The pool and thermal pools are a treat as is the ability to BBQ on the deck and simply take in the surroundings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There were three of us and we stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJayMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The motel is in a great location - near the centre of town, and close to the lake, but in a quiet street. We walked to Government Gardens, the Polynesian Spa and Ohinemutu (St Faith's area).

Our room was comfortable and spacious, and included a kitchen and dining table.

The motel has a swimming pool and a couple of spa pools, but we didn't use them, as went to the nearby Polynesian Spa.

I would stay here again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

The owner/managers of the hotel are lovely people and eager to help out. They'll point you in the right direction for tourist spots and help you avoid the lousy ones. This alone is worth staying here. The next best thing is it is directly across the street from the Government Gardens and all the sites there, and a few blocks from the downtown cafes and shops. Four of us stayed in their 2-room unit that had ample space, full kitchen, clean bathroom. A little thermal pool is available most of the time. The free bus to the Maori concert and hangi stops right in front of the door.

Room Tip: It is a quiet side of Rotorua so I think all rooms are okay. We were right on the street side and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ripoata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gisborne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I've stayed here three times and have had the same room every time - Room 2, second floor on the corner. It sleeps 5 and has huge windows which look out onto the street and let the sun stream in. It's lovely and warm and quiet and has a great outdoor spa pool plus a heated outdoor pool which the kids love. The service is great and the beds very comfortable and clean. There's a fantastic cafe 2 minutes walk away on the corner called "Lime". This motel is located within walking distance of the city centre and the lake front. Great value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms on the corner of Whakaue and Hinemaru St's are large, sunny and warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GisbornePartyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Huge room, great hosts, close to most everything - maybe a 5-10 min. drive to Te Puia. Our room basic yet fully functional kitchen and two beds for ~$120 NZD. Internet was an hour or so for free like most accommodations we stayed during our trip similar to this class of lodging. No A/C. Bed was comfortable and made for good night's sleep. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
370 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This motel is excellently located close to the centre of Rotorua, with shops, restaurants and visitor attractions close by. Our rooms had lots of space, including bedroom, sitting area, kitchen and bathroom, and were very comfortable. The motel also has a small pool.

Room Tip: Whole motel is in a quiet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Thermal Motel

Property: Ambassador Thermal Motel
Address: Cnr Whakaue and Hinemaru Sts | PO Box 1212, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ambassador Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Thermal Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing