We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Havant
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great location and value”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a tour of NZ. Great welcome the host is very helpful and the rooms are massive with 3 beds in ours for just the 2 of us. A well fitted kitchen great location for the waterfront and "eat street" where there are some great restaurants. The hotel is next to the Government gardens and museum which is absolutely fascinating, one of the best museums I have ever visited. The hotel has 3 pools including a thermal and spring pool and provide towels. If are staying in Rotorua for few days then this is a great value place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GB0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    74
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
42
59
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

The most spacious 1 bdrm we have ever stayed in! A great location close to the lake and to town. Friendly helpful owners and clean, tidy rooms. A great value for money choice. Our room had lovely big windows with views towards the lake - although with the old hospital in front. I recommend room no 7.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KHofdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nowra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2014

We stayed two nights, in a two bedroom apartment, lots of room, clean and the beds comfortable. The location was excellent, close to the lake, tourist attractions and town for dining out. It is value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington
Level Contributor
173 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We booked through the internet and lucked upon a 2-bedroom apartment that has to be one of the largest motel rooms in Rotorua. Two bedrooms - 1 double bed plus two singles in one room, double room in the other bedroom and two couches that can also be beds plus another bed in
the lounge. Full kitchen. The Motel is right beside the lake side, walking distance to town and lots of parking. There is a thermal pool, a spa and an outside heated pool.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArohaCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whakatane, New Zealand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed one night and were very impressed with the unit. It was very clean and spacious. The balcony was awesome and private. The location was awesome, there was no street noise. The beds are very comfortable. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
taranaki
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Clean very light corner 1st floor room, great to have full kitchen! Clean, tidy and comfortable. Great hot mineral pool and spa on site included. Very friendly helpful host. Comfortable beds, what else can I say?

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ber M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here and were made most welcome by Mike and Philippa - such lovely people. The location is perfect and within easy walking distance to town and close to all other attractions. The pool and thermal pools are a treat as is the ability to BBQ on the deck and simply take in the surroundings. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There were three of us and we stayed in the 2-bedroom apartment with kitchen facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsJayMurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#4 of 92 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#35 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#33 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Diana's Place Lake View Accommodation
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Thermal Motel

Property: Ambassador Thermal Motel
Address: Cnr Whakaue and Hinemaru Sts | PO Box 1212, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Thermal Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing