We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ambassador Thermal Motel
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A friendly value”
Reviewed 28 February 2010

After checking the Novatel and Ibis, we decided on the Ambassador, and are glad that we did. The couple looking after the hotel for the owners were very friendly and informative. You have a choice of a regular pool, a hot tub or one of two mineral pools. The hotel is two short blocks from the main dining street and across the street from the lakeside park. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jakrogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    77
    15
    2
    0
See reviews for
46
60
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

The rooms are very clean. The warm mineral pool and hot tub are great on-site features. The hotel is not fancy, but includes everything you need and many rooms even have a balcony.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nzedhoneymooners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This place is nearly always booked out adn when you can arrive you can see why. Lovely staff and ownver, smapp relaxing and warm swimming pool, spa, and two mineral pools. The off road or free on road parking is a bonus. It's location is a short 5 minute walk to the famous Rotorua museum or grab a meal or do some shopping in town. Whichever way, you are so close to all the action but far far enough away to have a great night's sleep. The room was massive with enough space for a small army, the kitchen facilities were basic but enought for two nights. The balcony was a pleasant inclusion but I was disapointed that buckets were placed outside for people to smoke and put their butts in. We don't smoke and don't care to have other people's habits right at our door. Bit of a minus that seeing as it encouraged people to stand outside talking, only a bit though. Don't let this put you off a great little place. Regards the thermal pools, yes they smell and they should do. The water is mother natures and isn't like the stuff that comes out of your shower. It is cleaned regularly. Of course if you don't like it you could pay to go to one of the 'tourist' thermal springs!!!! If not accept what mother nature gives you, put a peg on your nose and get stuck in. Great bit of fun.
Definite must for a stay.

Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank majormoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, Wales
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We arrived in Rotorua without any prior arrangement for accommodation. We stopped at a few motels and the prices were quite high. We then stopped at the Ambassador Thermal Motel. We looked around a room and were also shown the facilities available and decided to stay here. We stayed here for 3 nights.

There are two mineral pools, a spa and a swimming pool. Each evening we used these facilities and really enjoyed them. The room we had included a bedroom with double bed and to single beds in the living area. There was a good size bathroom and kitchen. The kitchen included microwave, cooker etc, which allowed us to save money by cooking in the room.

Its a short drive to the town centre, where there are an ample amount of shops.

We were travelling round the world, when we stayed here so, were looking for budget accommodation that wasn't too basic. This is exactly what we got with this motel. Everything you need and the luxury of the pools facilities.

I would definitely recommend this as a good place to stay for those who are budget conscious and have to mention that the staff were extremely friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bridgendrachel86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2009

Had an overnight stay here, great welcome and lovely room. It was the only warm room we had in the whole of our stay in New Zealand! We had a studio room which was well-equipped and very clean.
The owner recommended a place for an evening meal - good recommendation and was extremely helpful in suggesting our route for the following day.
We used the spa pool on the ground floor, which was great, lovely and warm...
We ahd a very restful night, due to the wonderful position of the hotel away from the main commercial drag of the town.
We enjoyed our short stay ther and would highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank faint19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2008

We stayed here 3 nights in Dec 2008. We had a 2-bedroom and a 1-bedroom units side by side facing the outdoor heated pool. The way the apartments were prepared for us showed effort and a mindset of desiring to please the huests. I was very impressed! It may be the smallest among the 5 hotels I stayed in New Zealand, but it has the best service and care for the guests. It is located near the lakefront, the botanic garden, the i-site, as well as streets of restaurants, shops and bus-stops. We walked to the bus-stop along Pukuatua St. to take the No. 1 and No. 2 buses to Agrodome and Te Puia respectively. It was easy and no hassle. But please take note that the No. 1 bus stop just along the road outside the Agrodome. There is no proper bus-stop. I was uncertain and anxious for a while, but the bus did come and did pick us up where the earlier one dropped us. For Te Puia, it was easier and more certain as there was a bus-stop there. The Pak-N-Save supermarket is also not too far away. The checking-in and -out were done efficiently. Swim towels and packets of fresh milk were provided at check-in. The owners and staff were friendly, willing to help and advise, and prompt in attending to our needs. Our rooms were serviced daily, and the whole premise was clean and well-maintained. The mineral pools were cleaned frequently. We enjoyed the mineral pool, the SPA pool, as well as the outdoor heated pool during our stay there.
There was 1 coin-operated ($3) washing machine for guest use, and a drying room for hanging the washed clothes to be dried by the (presumably underground) heat. I did not have to queue up to use the washer, and was allowed to leave the clothes to dry in the drying room for the whole day or overnight. The kitchen area in the 2-bedroom apartment is sufficiently large, but the one in the 1-bedroom apartment is smaller and more basic. The 2-bedroom apartment has a bathroom and a second toilet, while the 1-bedroom apartment only has a bathroom/toilet. Like all the NZ apartments we stayed in, the bathrooms in the apartments are not ensuite. But the 1-bedroom apartment does have a door that can be closed to separate the bedroom and bathroom from the living room, thus creating an ensuite bathroom. However, the door cannot be locked, again like most of the other NZ apartments we stayed in. Overall, we were very happy with our stay there, and would readily recommend it to others.

  • Liked — The service
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 30 March 2012
Thank you for you comment. We are now in the process of upgrading all the units over 2012
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neutral Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

We found this motel through Lonely Planet after another bad experience with an even worse Lonely Planet recommendation "Victoria Lodge" - read my review on that! I wouldn't trust any Lonely Planet reviews for Rotorua - they need to come back and do some proper current reviews for this town!

This old old motel is located on a quiet side street not far from the Polynesian Spa. Did I mention this motel is old? The claim to fame is that they are one of few motels that actually have hot spring pools - many have spas but not hot spring pool water. Although Lonely Planet mentions they have a number of pools, really you're only going to use the one main hot spring pool. Don't get too excited, as others have mentioned, this pool is very basic and looks like it needs a good cleaning. We found the water too cool and the motel was unable to get the temperature range up during our stay.

The rooms are old old and a bit dirty. This motel is begging for renovations. Beds are too soft and lumpy and none of us had a good sleep.

It wasn't our worst stay in New Zealand but it wasn't memorable. Next time we'll stick with our chain hotels, like the Rydges. It must be due to the declining state of the New Zealand economy but these independent hotels are hurting but the prices haven't come down.

  • Liked — It was in a quiet corner of town
  • Disliked — Not clean, old, smelly and not from the hot springs
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToGoTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ryekid, Owner/Manager at Ambassador Thermal Motel, responded to this review, 23 October 2008
This Property is not upmarket, but fully renovated in 2006 complete with new interior's including beds, kitchens, drapes and carpets.
Due to maturity of Motel and location, is one of the few remaining motels with genunine mineral pools kept at a constant 39-41 degrees.
This motel has a high turnover and cleaning is of a high standard with particular care taken over the bedding such as mattress and bug protectors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.0 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Rotorua
Ibis Rotorua
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
1,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#12 of 92 in Rotorua
428 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#30 of 92 in Rotorua
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ambassador Thermal Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ambassador Thermal Motel

Property: Ambassador Thermal Motel
Address: Cnr Whakaue and Hinemaru Sts | PO Box 1212, Rotorua, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ambassador Thermal Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ambassador Thermal Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Thermal Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing