We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was just so fabulous!”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 March 2011

We had a most wonderful stay at Regent from beginning to end. Darren and Brent made us feel most welcome when we arrived, allowing us to check in early and giving us some great and honest advice on attractions to visit in Rotorua. The service they provided us over our 2 day stay was outstanding.

The room was bright and airy and very stylish and modern. The bathroom was spacious with a monsoon shower. The bed was really comfortable too.

The pool looked stunning so I was disappointed I did not bring my bathers. We did use their indoor private thermal pool and if you can't get past the sulpher smell (not hotels fault it is the natural smell of the pool) it was really good. Left your skin feeling really soft.

The hotel is really well located to cafes and bars. We ate breakfast both mornings in their restaurant and it as really delicious and some really different choices.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,274 - 1,280 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2011

They've done a great job updating an old motel and turning it into something elegant and contemporary. The room was beautiful and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In a place as touristy as Rotorua, they must answer the same questions dozens of times a day, but you'd never know it. The restaurant was also terrific, and the hotel is located in the middle of the restaurant area of town.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

I was visiting my sister who was in Rotorua hospital for a few days and was lucky enough to find the Regent of Rotorua through Trip Advisor. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! From the immaculate interior of the suites and rooms, (including layout, design and cleanliness) to the warm, friendly, welcoming hosts, staying at the Regent of Rotorua was an absolute pleasure. The restaurant was brilliant, and catered for anything from a quick coffee to a five star evening meal...you just don't find places like this very often. Definitely worth staying here, the Regent of Rotorua is an attraction in it's own right - visit Rotorua to stay there!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. The owners have taken a old school hotel and renovated it in with style! Very classy. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beasley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Regent. We were warmly greeted and the staff went above and beyond in helping us decide and book on activities for our stay. The room was clean, spacious, had everything we needed. The hotel is beautiful, good food AND great location. If I could go back tonight, I would.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gl0riaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

This is a lovely boutique hotel. I couldn't believe the way I was greeted when I arrived. I was made to feel very special.
I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment which was reasonably spacious. The rooms were very clean, the decor was fresh and light. The shower was divine!!
The hotel was very quiet and very central to see Rotorua. Lots of cafe's, shops and the lake are in walking distance.
The bed and pillows were the best I have ever slept in and I am fussy! The duvet felt amazing - I have no idea what it was made of, but it felt quite different to anything I have felt before. I could go back just for the bedo
The rooms also have free internet service, which is great for business.
Some of the rooms don't get any sun, whereas some looked like they get all day sun. You may want to specify what your preference is when you book.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank di100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2011

Impossible to fault this superb hotel. Top marks on every score - rooms, food, service and especially the staff. Worth a detour

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arsewiper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing