We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy, comfortable, clean, close and considerate.............”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Tempe, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cozy, comfortable, clean, close and considerate.............”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2011

Regent is an upscale motel located in the town center area of Rotorua, which is probably the best place to be.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judson B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,005
    267
    56
    12
    2
See reviews for
249
761
50
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We stayed at 15 different locations in New Zealand and were impressed by the great hospitality in this wonderful country. However some locations were a step above and the owners of Regent were amazing.

When we checked in they were kind enough to allow me to use a power converter (the one I purchased didn't work in NZ) and they had an ample supply on hand for travelers. This is just one example of their attention to details. They provided us with the utmost in service upon checkout. My girlfriend had accidentally left some clothing in our room upon checkout. We'd left for about four hours and one of the owners had been watching the street and saw us before we jumped in our rental car. If he hadn't seen us walking on the street and run out to greet us we wouldn't have known to go back into the hotel.

The beds, sheets, pillows, shower, lighting....are all exceptional and well designed. We really enjoyed our stay here and thank the owners for their excellent service. They know how to run a first class operation.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hawardenhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2011

We had a most wonderful stay at Regent from beginning to end. Darren and Brent made us feel most welcome when we arrived, allowing us to check in early and giving us some great and honest advice on attractions to visit in Rotorua. The service they provided us over our 2 day stay was outstanding.

The room was bright and airy and very stylish and modern. The bathroom was spacious with a monsoon shower. The bed was really comfortable too.

The pool looked stunning so I was disappointed I did not bring my bathers. We did use their indoor private thermal pool and if you can't get past the sulpher smell (not hotels fault it is the natural smell of the pool) it was really good. Left your skin feeling really soft.

The hotel is really well located to cafes and bars. We ate breakfast both mornings in their restaurant and it as really delicious and some really different choices.

I can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2011

They've done a great job updating an old motel and turning it into something elegant and contemporary. The room was beautiful and comfortable, and the staff was friendly and helpful. In a place as touristy as Rotorua, they must answer the same questions dozens of times a day, but you'd never know it. The restaurant was also terrific, and the hotel is located in the middle of the restaurant area of town.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JGBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2011

I was visiting my sister who was in Rotorua hospital for a few days and was lucky enough to find the Regent of Rotorua through Trip Advisor. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough! From the immaculate interior of the suites and rooms, (including layout, design and cleanliness) to the warm, friendly, welcoming hosts, staying at the Regent of Rotorua was an absolute pleasure. The restaurant was brilliant, and catered for anything from a quick coffee to a five star evening meal...you just don't find places like this very often. Definitely worth staying here, the Regent of Rotorua is an attraction in it's own right - visit Rotorua to stay there!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LarlieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

This is a beautiful hotel. The owners have taken a old school hotel and renovated it in with style! Very classy. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beasley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Regent. We were warmly greeted and the staff went above and beyond in helping us decide and book on activities for our stay. The room was clean, spacious, had everything we needed. The hotel is beautiful, good food AND great location. If I could go back tonight, I would.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gl0riaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#39 of 93 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing