We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing what can be done with some imagination”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Amazing what can be done with some imagination”
Reviewed 7 June 2011

Stayed for a 1 night over a holiday weekend and when arrived found that I had booked the wrong weekend. But Emma managed to get us in and even gave us a free upgrade to a 1 bed room apartment. What an apartment it was to, huge comfortable bath, rainforest shower and very comfortable bed which let us have an excellent sleep, plus a nice lounge to sit and watch telly with one of the most well stocked mini bars that I had ever seen.
You can tell by the decoration that the people that converted this "motel" obviously had a flair for style, I dare say they could have done the job for cheaper but they used good quality furniture and top of the range fixture and fittings and it all comes together beautifuly.
We had a quick soak in the hot tub before our tea and nice and relaxing it was too, we had a look in the gym which was well equiped with new machines.
We went to the dining room for our tea and had a few plates of NZ tapas and a nice bottle of wine and the food may be a little bit more expensive than normal prices but the food was of first class quality and the cheese platter was to die for could have had that twice.
For the same price as what a large chain budget hotel was asking for a room you can book the Regent why would anybody stay any other place. First class in every respect.
Well done.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    275
    57
    12
    2
See reviews for
251
771
50
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

A very friendly and welcoming place with good overall service and very accommodating personnel. A few nits: no elevator for the second floor which is tough with heavy luggage; the so-called free internet allows only 100 MB a day which simply evapourates when doing email or checking web sites and added usage is very expensive. Although the sheets were high quality and clean, we had several with stains that obviously could not be removed. The restaurant was quite good but the service somewhat uneven and some prices were extremely high for the venue. Great plunger coffee in the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoadwarriorLynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormond Beach
Level Contributor
89 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Room was spacious and immaculately clean with fine ammenities. Restaurant was excellent for breakfast and lunch. Service was personal and superb with excellent recommendations for local activities and restaurants. Top notch.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkOrmondBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Just returned from a weekend in Rotarua, staying at the Regent of Rotorua.
This is a lovely hotel, right in the heart of Rotorua, minutes walk from eat street and all its restaurants and bars. Rooms are clean, quite and well appointed.. We had a room with a separate bedroom, which was very nice. Staff are very friendly and food at the restaurant 1st class.

The mineral pool onsite is worth a dip and then a cool down in the heated outdoor pool ..
Would recommend to anyone wanting a few days in the area..

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob_the_Aussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This hotel really deserve its great reviews. Not only it the hotel an eye candy but the owners are extremely nice and friendly and nothing seams to be to much trouble for them. The beds are really comfy and we only stayed 2 nights and we really wished we stayed longer since Rotorua in it self demands more time

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ontheroad67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2011

My Husband & I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, Darryn made us feel very welcome and always greeted use at breakfast with the paper and a quick chat to find out what we had planned for the day. Breakfast and dinner were exceptional and the staff were very friendly and had a good knowledge of the wines in the region. We could not believe how they have transformed an old style Motel into this Five Star Boutique Hotel. The attention to detail was amazing with all the funky accessories especially in the restaurant. We only stayed two nights but wished we could have stayed more and if we are ever in Rotorua again we would definately stay there.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynetteandbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2011

My husband and I always use Trip Advisor when booking our holidays, and find it to be a very helpful and reliable source of information. Having never written a review I felt compelled to do so for the Regent of Rotarua.

If you are looking for a place to stay amidst the hundreds of hotels/motels available in the area, you can't go past the Regent. When we arrived we were greeted by the famous Darryn, whom we felt we already knew from reading everyone's reviews. We found him to be genuinely friendly, and helpful. He went out of his way to make our experience at the hotel, and in Rotarua memorable. Every request we made was met with a smile.

On our last day, my husband went mountain biking, and I stayed behind. Darryn automatically gave me a late checkout. He said that we were welcome to the room until my husband returned as this would give him the opportunity to have a hot shower before we headed off to Taupo. It's this kind of thoughtfulness that really leaves a lasting impression, and makes me want to tell everyone about how great this hotel is.

We also found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly too. I guess this is a direct reflection on Darryn and his style of management. If the boss cares and has the right attitude, this rubs off on all the team.

The rooms are very clean, stylish and modern. And the hotel is right in the center of town. You are within walking distance of everything which is very convenient. We found the hotel restaurant to be better than the outside restaurants. We enjoyed a lovely breakfast on both days we were there.

Stay at the Regent, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#37 of 92 in Rotorua
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
1.5 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing