We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place with amazing staff!”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Beautiful hotel with friendly and amazingly helpful staff! If anything, I didn't utilise the staff's knowledge of Rotorua as much as I could have.

I have to say that the Moisturiser they have available in the rooms was AMAZING!! I will definitely be looking for that in stores, and if a hotel can provide you with something as good as that, as simple as it may be, then you know they've thought good and hard about everything else :)

Would definitely stay there again :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nia9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,217 - 1,223 of 1,496 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2011

This hotel is actually an upmarket motel style place. The rooms are comfortable and well fitted, the reception area is well furnished, food very good and the service and advice was excellent. The location is perfect just a few blocks from the town centre and there is plenty of parking. But there is no hiding from the motel origins, so it can be noisy and you always have to go outside to go anywhere in the hotel. You can see from the score we liked the place, but at NZD200 per night you may expect something different than a fancy motel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JB30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

We received a very friendly welcome on our arrival and Darren could not have been more helpful with loads of advice. We were given the choice of two rooms, one on the ground floor next to the pool, and the other on the first floor. We chose the latter and it turned out to be beautifully furnished to a high standard and had a small kitchen area with toaster and microwave. Breakfast was rather pricey but there were recommended excellent places to eat nearby. A short walk to the lake and shopping area. Can highly recommend this hotel/motel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geoffnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Oh my goodness! The Regent was a bit of heaven. It was spotlessly clean, crisp and refreshing. The staff were so helpful and gracious. We plan to return for a weekend retreat. I would recommend this boutique hotel to anyone that enjoys fine accommodations. This is the first time I have ever written a review but I felt compelled to let everyone know what a great place the Regent is. Thank you Darryn!

Room Tip: We stayed in #9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AprilMLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Regent for two days in June on their Winter Warmer special. Included in this special was breakfast and internet access. We were given a room on the upper level of what is in fact a gutted and rebuilt 1950's brick motel that is a listed building in Rotorua and adjacent to the newly build lobby come restaurant. Now don’t let the 1950’s motel put you off. It is obvious that the owners have spent a vast amount of money on this hotel and it is very special, nothing is wanting. All the trappings of a five star boutique hotel and a few extra like the microwave oven and complimentary plunger coffee that you don’t get everywhere. We had a fabulous bathroom with a very special rainforest shower. The staff is friendly and helpful and the position of this hotel cannot be bettered. It is right in city centre and just fifty metres or so, to the start of a plethora of Rotorua restaurants, should you wish to eat elsewhere. I checked this hotel on Tripadvisor before booking as always and I must say, you could spend a lot extra, and get no more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TuckerFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A very good hotel with lovely furnishings, spotlessly clean. Can walk to local restaurants and conference centre, also close to lake. It is promoted as a luxury hotel, which it was. The only reason I have not given 5 stars is that we found the staff very friendly but not quite at the professional level of a top hotel. This mainly related to there being a shortage of staff at reception, as they had to cover both reception and the dining room. This is a very small point however and I highly recommend the hotel for either a leisure or business stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bung91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

excellent boutique hotel, fabulously designed and great furnishings. warm personal service and a great host in darren

Room Tip: 2 bed executive suite for 4-5 pax
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uday13867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
735 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
886 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
245 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#16 of 92 in Rotorua
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £122 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing