We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Motel we have ever stayed at”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2011

WOW - From the moment we walked in the door we were impressed! The service and friendliness of the two owners was just exceptional! The rooms were so grand and posh! We stayed in the newly refurbished units. There were gorgeous plush robes in the room. The shower pressure was fantastic. They even lent us umbrellas to use in the rain. The restaurant was very fancy although I did not have anything to eat there, others in the group had breakfast and were very impressed with the food. Location was brilliant, literally one minute to town. The pool was surprisingly warm even though it was winter, the outdoor shower was cool as was the mineral spa. They had excellent info about local activities etc too. The bed was sooo comfortable!! We would definately go back!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherbsfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,510)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,208 - 1,214 of 1,510 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our family of 5 spent 4 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite. The location is about 50 steps from "Eat Streat" (yes, it is spelled correctly), which is a pedestrian street lined with every kind of restaurant you can imagine.

The staff were at the desk every morning ready to offer assistance, directions and suggestions. The two managers are very friendly, professional and just seem like people that would be fun to get together with for dinner.

The decor of the hotel is very beautiful, upscale and witty! Everything in our suite was black and white, including beautiful white leather sofas. The bathrooms were completely white. When a hotel decides to use so much white, I believe that they are making a commitment to having impeccable housekeeping services. And this hotel does! The white bathrooms were immaculate including the grout.

Our suite had a kitchenette for making tea and heating up food. We are some meals at the hotel and the food was very good. This hotel was just perfect for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LynnDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

On arrival we were made so welcome. Everybody was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant in the hotel serves very good food. Our son had the best sausages ever! The bar has a good selection and a nice atmosphere to sit and relax. The rooms are very stylish and comfortable. Certainly a place we would go back to!

Room Tip: The rooms are not that big but big enough. The decor is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatMaNe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

I thought "this is an old motel which was repainted" - but much much more than repainted. The place has been completely overhauled and is very classy ... but is still a motel. The rooms are well-appointed, very, but nevertheless a bit small. The bedroom in our 1 bedroom suite was tiny, and the "wardrobe" as big as a small broom cupboard. Service is excellent - more than excellent - and there are nice touches such as the heated outside pool. For a motel, the walls are pretty sturdy and it all seemed rather quiet (but then we were staying over in winter).

Room Tip: Ask for the best room ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wudangtiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

stayed here for 2 nights on my honeymoon trip . good location , fantastic service .
special mention for the team . kudos . my recommendation for anyone visiting rotarua on leisure . the i pod docking station in the room was a killer one !

Room Tip: clean , chic and heated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank akhil_kanika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We had the pleasure of staying here on a weekend break from Sydney. We selected this place based on the reviews on TA and were not disappointed.
We called ahead and booked one of the suites, and were greeted by Darryn the host amd I presume co-owner of the Hotel.
The rooms are all freshly renovated, reasonable size, well furnished, good sized flat panel televisions I. Both the bedroom and the lounge area. It had a security safe which seemed to be lacking at some other places we stayed at.
The beds were extremely comfortable and the huge shower and separate tub were great.
As we had a short time there, we needed some recommendations to make the most of our time. Darryn was extremely helpful and gave us some great ideas We particularly enjoyed the Polynesian Spa, and if you get there, do the private pool at sun-set.... Well worth the cost.
We ate out in town at a restaurant called Ambrosia, and that was pretty good as well. The menu and dining room at the hotel looked nice, but seeing we had limited time we thought we should go exploring.
We had breakfast in the hotel's restaurant, and it was quite ok..... The only complaint was that they couldnt prepare any fresh fruit, as apparently its out of season ?..... Maybe so, but we have had some great fruit platters in Norway during winter, so where there is a will, there is a way !.
They also had a thermal hot tub in the hotel which was interesting although we did not try it.
Would we go back ..... Yes

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank howard_and_bec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

I returned to the Regent for a 2 week stay after visiting last year. After my stay last year there was no question my mind this time over where I'd book my visit. And I wasn't disappointed. Owners Darryn and Brent and all their staff really made me feel like I was coming "home" and welcomed me back like family - it was lovely! The quality of the service at the Regent is second to none. I spend about 1/3-1/2 of my year every year traveling around the world for work and staying in hotels and living out of suitcases, so I really know hotels, and never have I felt so wonderfully looked after as I have at the Regent. These guys really understand service and train their staff well!

The hotel itself is superb. It is so nicely renovated with the black/white/touch of green decor - so classy and stylish and has not dated a bit since I was last here. They remembered what room I was in and gave me the same one, which was a nice touch. The beds are sumptuous and the fact that the rooms have a little microwave, bar fridge and crockery/cutlery really helps too. (Although the restaurant is so good that I found myself eating there almost 3 meals a day!)

The hotel is centrally located, there's lots of parking, and the restaurant area is just around the corner. The staff help with booking all of the many Rotorua tourist attractions and giving lots of useful recommendations about what to do and when the best times to do things are.

The rooms are comfortable, the atmosphere in the restaurant / bar area is glamorous and relaxed, a lovely place to have a drink after a day in the hot pools, the bathrooms in the hotel rooms are just lovely, the staff are wonderful, there's a lovely little thermal spa pool to soak in and a big outdoor heated pool if you feel like a swim ... there's nothing I can critique about this place (and that's rare) ... there's nothing else like this in Rotorua and there's no where else I'd rather be, the Regent is truly special place!

(Unlike a lot of places, the photos on the Regent's website are accurate!)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swissmiss00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
744 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
891 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
252 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing