We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Small Gem In Rotorua”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #9 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I recently stayed in the Regent of Rotorua and had a simply lovely time. The owners Darryn and Brent were very warm and welcoming and nothing was too much trouble for them to help you with.The rooms were beautifully decorated and very comfortable and everything you could possibly need was provided way and beyond what most hotels do.The location was very convenient also to the town. The restaurant was exceptional and the cuisine inventive and delicious and the breakfasts were diet-breakers!!!! I was travelling on my own and Darryn and Brent were such good company that I felt completely at home there.I would certainly go back and can highly recommend it to anyone who doesnt always want a big impersonal hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room on the ground floor and was very happy with it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jill_gomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,186 - 1,192 of 1,512 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

Had a 2 night stay in Rotorua with my wife and I'm certainly glad we stopped off here. The Regent is a great home base for all adventures in the area (Zorb, Luge, Off Road etc) and the accommodations are really great. Clean, modern, cozy, and friendly, the rooms parallel the personalities of it's managers, Darryn & Brent. They, along with their staff, are very informative and attentive and we really enjoyed their company. We hope to return again soon.

Best,
Gemma & Patrick

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pebo1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

The Regent Rotorua was a delightful stay for us in every way. The property is impeccably maintained, staff friendly and helpful, rooms nicely decorated. We looked forward to returning to our room at the end of our day in the area, and would consider the hotel to be the highlight of our time in Rotorua. The room was very clean, brightly appointed and well equipped. There were plates, bowls, cups and glasses for light meals taken in the room. The bed was nicely made with crisp white linens. A little seating area was adequate for morning coffee and there were chairs outside the door as well. The bathroom was spotless, shower spray forceful and red hot water, if desired. I considered the complimentary internet (100mb daily) a little light, but don't know what others in the area provide at all, if any. Were we to return to Rotorua, we would book this hotel again without checking on any others. It was that good.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong here. It's a nice place from every angle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAMES O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Wonderful hotel with a B&B feel to it. Location is good for local shops and restaurants. Rooms were beautifully decorated ample and clean bathroom. Comfortable, though soft, beds. Great service throughout. Good spa and heated pool. Breakfast was plentiful and good quality though a la carte instead of buffet and a little slow in being served. A big plus was being able to use the laundry facilities in the flashpackers next door, 2 loads washed and dried for $16.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TraveladdictMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This has to be one of the very best hotels I have stayed in ever.
The staff are friendly and helpful nothing is too much trouble they were all lovely!
My room was small but perfectly formed, decorated in crisp black & white it had everything I could possibly have needed and was very, very clean - not a spec of dust anywhere.
The bed was exceptionally comfortable and the pillows just heavenly ( a rare thing in hotels).
This is truly a masterclass in how it should be done - other hotels please take note.
I hope to return one day I absolutely loved it.

Room Tip: Choose any you like they are all fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank issyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

This is a brilliant hotel in the centre of Rotorua. Decor sleek and sophisticated and bed very comfortable. Reception staff (especially Darryn) incredibly helpful, friendly and full of recommendations for local activities. A definite place to stay in Rotorua.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2011

Staff were exquisite in friendliness and helpfulness; the room was expertly designed and decorated; location is wonderful. Thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chrisj64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
747 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#25 of 92 in Rotorua
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range: £118 - £212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing