We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regent of Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$117
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$168
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$120
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$150
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$1,119
US$1,084
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$170
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$101
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PURE Motel & Guest House(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,576)
Filter reviews
1,576 results
Traveller rating
1,154
333
73
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,154
333
73
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hoteleat streetmonsoon showergreat boutiquenew zealandbedroom suiterestaurants and barswithin walking distancemineral poolthe location is perfectoutdoor poolpolynesian spastayed one nightstreatlakenzrobes
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,233 - 1,238 of 1,576 reviews
Reviewed 26 December 2011

Originally booked into Sport of Kings, took one look at their room, turned around and drove here as #1 on Trip Advisor. Amazing welcome (Darryl world-class concierge) and hotel just awesome. Decor fantastic, very chic, great bar and restaurant, atmosphere very professional yet very warm and friendly. Room was amazing, my 2 wee girls totally rapt. This place really made our stay in Rotorua amazing, we will be back for sure. You'll not be disappointed. Service is 6 star, hotel 5 star, and worth every cent, plus not exprnsive.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank duncanledwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Regent for one night in October while we were touring NZ after the Rugby World Cup. The owners were very friendly and helpful, gave us good recommendations about where to go. The rooms are attractively furnished with modern, beautiful bathrooms and comfortable beds and the whole hotel is smart and well-kept. We went out for dinner (to the Maori Experience - well worth a visit) but ate breakfast at the hotel the following morning. Breakfast is extra but it was well worth it with interesting menu choices and delicious food.

We (I mean he but I'm being kind :-) ) left our passports in the hotel safe and didn't realise till we'd reached Wellington. The hotel were very helpful in sending them on for us.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenelizabeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

Excellent boutique hotel in a central location, just around the corner from Eat street and 2 minutes walk to the edge of the lake.
From the minute you walk into the hotel the service is amazing especially from the owners Brent and Darryn on the front desk , who make sure you receive all the informational brochures for local attractions. The hotel recommended the Polynesian spa which is a 5 minute walk away from the hotel, which we really enjoyed even though it was raining .
We got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was very well appointed with a contemporary stylish decor. The bathroom was large with a seperate walk-in shower and bathtub.
The bar and restaurant is a destination on its own with outside guests coming to the hotel . We had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar before we went to dinner at the indian across the road called the Lovely India but we wished we had stayed for dinner at the hotel as the main course was not very good . The following morning the Breakfast was very good, recommended the full cooked breakfast.
I can totally understand why this is number 1 on tripadvisor and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Look no further , you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: book a one bedroom suite
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We spent two nights in Rotorua as we chose it as a base to explore the Maori culture and the geothermal valley. The hotel staffs were very courteous and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one day. We ordered salmon eggs benedict and Spanish style Omelette, both of them tasted very good and nicely presented. The studio we stayed was clean, nicely decorated, but the style is a little pretentious. And we think it was overpriced. For NZD$215 per night (breakfast was not included), I would expect something more.

Since Polynesian spa was highly recommended by the hotel staffs, we went to check it out. The lake spa was okay but I really enjoyed the massage.

There are so many Maori culture tours in the area, with limited time we had, we only went to the one called Whakarewarewa - The Living Thermal Village. It is fascinating to see that the village is actually inhabited by Maori people. We enjoyed the tour very much and it was also less commercial.

As far as the geothermal sites, we went to wai-o-tapu and Waimangu, not very impressed if compare to the Yellowstone Park. The latter is far more bigger, dynamic, colorful and with reasonable entrance fee.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay except the whole town really smells - the sulphur odor, 24x7. If I ever go back to the area, I will stay in Lake Taupo, which is about one hour south of Rotorua. We made some brief stops in the town on our way from Taronga to Rotorua. I think it is nicer and newer than Rotorua, surrounded by a gorgeous lake. And it doesn’t smell.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiger62z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

EveThank heavens we found the Regent, we have stayed in a number of the upper price ranged hotels in Rotorua, the Regent is head & shoulders above what's on offer at other hotels. Our initial stay was 2 nights & we re-booked for our return journey. The rooms are very well appointed, it has a lovely restaurant & bar. The hosts Darryn and Brent are very welcoming & can't do enough for the guests. It's location is walking distance to all the highlights, Eat Street, the main shopping areas, Polynesian Spa & the various historic buildings. This hotel deserves to be the 1st choice for anyone travelling to Rotorua, it certainly will be for us.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews