We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed and central” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed and central”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Owners were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful sorting out every whim with nothing being too much trouble, including a spa on Xmas day for my wife. Xmas dinner was great in a relaxed environment with good menu choice. The quality of the work done to transform this old motel building into a boutique is exceptional with one proviso more insulation should have been used because can be slightly noisey, but I do like quiet. The other minor negative is the towels need to upgraded to the quality of the other fittings.
We chose this after reading on TripAdvisor and the reviews were pretty much accurate, we were originally offered a different hotel by our travel planner and we visited it and again this had very mixed reviews and generally looked tired so for me the site worked.

Room Tip: Away from restaurant and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    988
    253
    53
    12
    2
See reviews for
240
745
46
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Rotorua was our first stop in New Zealand and the regent was a lovely place to start with ! The location of the hotel is great, the lake , a lovely thermal park and the eat street are just a couple of steps away ! The 2 bed room suite is pretty much akin to a service apartment minus a full fledged kitchen and a washer dryer facility . The rooms and the living area are spacious, the kitchenette is handy but since we were travelling with 2 little kids we missed having a hob where we could have made a little something for them ! The room decor is very funky, clean and comfortable, totally loved it.The staff was more than happy to help with anything and everything ! All in all, a great stay !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasundhara_Awasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Originally booked into Sport of Kings, took one look at their room, turned around and drove here as #1 on Trip Advisor. Amazing welcome (Darryl world-class concierge) and hotel just awesome. Decor fantastic, very chic, great bar and restaurant, atmosphere very professional yet very warm and friendly. Room was amazing, my 2 wee girls totally rapt. This place really made our stay in Rotorua amazing, we will be back for sure. You'll not be disappointed. Service is 6 star, hotel 5 star, and worth every cent, plus not exprnsive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanledwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed at the Regent for one night in October while we were touring NZ after the Rugby World Cup. The owners were very friendly and helpful, gave us good recommendations about where to go. The rooms are attractively furnished with modern, beautiful bathrooms and comfortable beds and the whole hotel is smart and well-kept. We went out for dinner (to the Maori Experience - well worth a visit) but ate breakfast at the hotel the following morning. Breakfast is extra but it was well worth it with interesting menu choices and delicious food.

We (I mean he but I'm being kind :-) ) left our passports in the hotel safe and didn't realise till we'd reached Wellington. The hotel were very helpful in sending them on for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helenelizabeth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2011

Excellent boutique hotel in a central location, just around the corner from Eat street and 2 minutes walk to the edge of the lake.
From the minute you walk into the hotel the service is amazing especially from the owners Brent and Darryn on the front desk , who make sure you receive all the informational brochures for local attractions. The hotel recommended the Polynesian spa which is a 5 minute walk away from the hotel, which we really enjoyed even though it was raining .
We got upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was very well appointed with a contemporary stylish decor. The bathroom was large with a seperate walk-in shower and bathtub.
The bar and restaurant is a destination on its own with outside guests coming to the hotel . We had a couple of drinks in the hotel bar before we went to dinner at the indian across the road called the Lovely India but we wished we had stayed for dinner at the hotel as the main course was not very good . The following morning the Breakfast was very good, recommended the full cooked breakfast.
I can totally understand why this is number 1 on tripadvisor and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. Look no further , you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: book a one bedroom suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

We spent two nights in Rotorua as we chose it as a base to explore the Maori culture and the geothermal valley. The hotel staffs were very courteous and helpful. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant one day. We ordered salmon eggs benedict and Spanish style Omelette, both of them tasted very good and nicely presented. The studio we stayed was clean, nicely decorated, but the style is a little pretentious. And we think it was overpriced. For NZD$215 per night (breakfast was not included), I would expect something more.

Since Polynesian spa was highly recommended by the hotel staffs, we went to check it out. The lake spa was okay but I really enjoyed the massage.

There are so many Maori culture tours in the area, with limited time we had, we only went to the one called Whakarewarewa - The Living Thermal Village. It is fascinating to see that the village is actually inhabited by Maori people. We enjoyed the tour very much and it was also less commercial.

As far as the geothermal sites, we went to wai-o-tapu and Waimangu, not very impressed if compare to the Yellowstone Park. The latter is far more bigger, dynamic, colorful and with reasonable entrance fee.

Overall, we had a pleasant stay except the whole town really smells - the sulphur odor, 24x7. If I ever go back to the area, I will stay in Lake Taupo, which is about one hour south of Rotorua. We made some brief stops in the town on our way from Taronga to Rotorua. I think it is nicer and newer than Rotorua, surrounded by a gorgeous lake. And it doesn’t smell.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiger62z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

EveThank heavens we found the Regent, we have stayed in a number of the upper price ranged hotels in Rotorua, the Regent is head & shoulders above what's on offer at other hotels. Our initial stay was 2 nights & we re-booked for our return journey. The rooms are very well appointed, it has a lovely restaurant & bar. The hosts Darryn and Brent are very welcoming & can't do enough for the guests. It's location is walking distance to all the highlights, Eat Street, the main shopping areas, Polynesian Spa & the various historic buildings. This hotel deserves to be the 1st choice for anyone travelling to Rotorua, it certainly will be for us.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aussietraveladdict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
1.3 mi away
Sport of Kings Motel
Sport of Kings Motel
#2 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#8 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing