We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great design” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great design”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

One of the best-designed hotels I have ever stayed in. The location is convenient to local restaurants (and the restaurant and bar in the Regent itself is very good). The bar and hotel area are very stylish, white, black and grey. The design of the rooms themselves is also impressive—with high quality fixtures in the rooms and bathroom. There was a nice sitting area with two designer chairs. The use of space in the rooms themselves is impressive. The host at check in was very helpful and made us feel most welcome.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Explorer126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    985
    252
    51
    12
    2
See reviews for
240
741
46
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lower Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Just spent 3 days at the Regent. Feel so appreciative of the welcome from Darryn & Brent and their amazingly gifted staff. ABSOLUTELY would not stay anywhere else when in Rotorua. The fine dining at the restaurant was 1st class in both taste and presentation and the room tastefully decorated with a great bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

We recently spent a night in a two-bedroom suite. Lovely rooms (small but stylish), bathroom was lovely (and huge), lovely quality linens, great location (close to "Eat Street"). The only problem I had was that we arrived early evening and wanted to give our baby a bath and get him to bed - unfortunately no hot water. The next morning we tried again to give him a bath but no hot water. It was something to do with the water being thermally heated. A pain but no big deal I guess - baby wasn't that smelly. ;-)

The hosts were so friendly and helpful giving us lots of brochures and information on where to eat. Would have liked to try the hotel restaurant but just didn't have time. Next time!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally_Sutherland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We spent 3 nights over Christmas in Roturua. The unique decor if our room was really impressive and give our holiday a good start. The staffs are so friendly and really make us feel at home. We had breakfast on the last day. Like a lot of other hotels, we were not expecting too much on the food. However, the food presentation and taste really took us by surprise. I had the corn fritters with bacon and guacomole. I truly enjoyed every single bite of it. Well what can I say about this hotel. It must be one of the very few where both owners and co workers must really enjoyed what they do and provide the guests with the best service. Even better than some commercial 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShowMeTellYou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Stayed for 3 nights. Owners were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful sorting out every whim with nothing being too much trouble, including a spa on Xmas day for my wife. Xmas dinner was great in a relaxed environment with good menu choice. The quality of the work done to transform this old motel building into a boutique is exceptional with one proviso more insulation should have been used because can be slightly noisey, but I do like quiet. The other minor negative is the towels need to upgraded to the quality of the other fittings.
We chose this after reading on TripAdvisor and the reviews were pretty much accurate, we were originally offered a different hotel by our travel planner and we visited it and again this had very mixed reviews and generally looked tired so for me the site worked.

Room Tip: Away from restaurant and road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Rotorua was our first stop in New Zealand and the regent was a lovely place to start with ! The location of the hotel is great, the lake , a lovely thermal park and the eat street are just a couple of steps away ! The 2 bed room suite is pretty much akin to a service apartment minus a full fledged kitchen and a washer dryer facility . The rooms and the living area are spacious, the kitchenette is handy but since we were travelling with 2 little kids we missed having a hob where we could have made a little something for them ! The room decor is very funky, clean and comfortable, totally loved it.The staff was more than happy to help with anything and everything ! All in all, a great stay !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vasundhara_Awasthi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2011

Originally booked into Sport of Kings, took one look at their room, turned around and drove here as #1 on Trip Advisor. Amazing welcome (Darryl world-class concierge) and hotel just awesome. Decor fantastic, very chic, great bar and restaurant, atmosphere very professional yet very warm and friendly. Room was amazing, my 2 wee girls totally rapt. This place really made our stay in Rotorua amazing, we will be back for sure. You'll not be disappointed. Service is 6 star, hotel 5 star, and worth every cent, plus not exprnsive.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank duncanledwith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
1.4 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 mi away
Arista of Rotorua
Arista of Rotorua
#3 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
1.6 mi away
Regal Palms 5 Star City Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing