We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #7 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Awesome stay”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

My partner & I stayed at the Regent last year in June for 5 nights & everything was just great!

My Dad booked this hotel for us as we planned to take a trip to Rotorua for a well deserved holiday from university. As my partner & I are quite young we were worried that the staff would treat us differently/not take us seriously as guests because of our age, as we've received from other hotels. But it was quite the opposite at the Regent! Their service was awesome! They catered to everything that we needed as well as going that extra mile! For example, they knew we were going to Rainbow Springs one day so they gave us some vouchers to get free fish food for the trout. To me, those small gestures mean a lot! Just in general as well the staff were very nice & very genuine!

On top of the great service, our room was nice. Very clean & very funky! Loved the decor of the room & the bathroom was very nice. We loved the monsoon shower in particular!

The location was good for us because it was right in town but only a short taxi ride away from the attractions.

If you're willing to spend that little bit extra for a good hotel, choose the Regent! It's definitely worth the money with it's lovely rooms & great service! Those two things put together make it an awesome place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    296
    59
    13
    2
See reviews for
276
800
53
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

When we pulled up to the Regent in Rotorua it looks like an average small hotel from the outside but as soon as you walk up to the front door you realize it is far from average!!When you walk up to the door you are greated with a warm & friendly welcome that makes you feel like you have arrived home .The staff are very accommodating and nothing is too much problem for them even for a noisy group like ours. We arrived quiet late but we were on QLD time so to us it was 3 hours earlier and we were ready for a few nice NZ wines. So not to upset other guests the staff opened the restaurant and bar inside to take care of us. This excellent customer service & consideration for every guest continued for the entire 5 days, the word NO is not in their vocabulary, they always offered a solution to our requests!
The rooms were very homely & had everything we required for comfort even a nice little throw on the end of the bed for those afternoon rests. My husband’s only complaint was that he would have liked a firmer pillow. The most important thing for me is always the air-conditioning which worked well & was nice and quiet (this for my hot flushes!!)
The breakfasts are great with a nice variety, my only little issue was I like my own pot of tea as the warmers with the large pots is never hot enough. In saying this I asked for a pot every day & I received it.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rotorua.
PS We went to the Black Swan lodge/ restaurant ,owned by the same people for a wonderful lunch .It's woth a visit!!

Room Tip: We were upstairs which is very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2012

These guys will go to any lengths to make sure you have an excellent stay. Cuisine is top notch! You can't go wrong booking with them. Alos check out thier new Lodge - the Black Swan. Just opened a few months ago. Stunning.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roxann h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Stayed at Regents of Rotorua 9-14th February group of 7 couples. They have it ! upmarket modern rooms, wonderful Restaurant, great bar - atmosphere and flawless service. Nothing was to much trouble. Owners Darryn and Brent are hands on making sure everything is also perfect. They make Rotorua a wonderful place to stay! We ate at their bisto 1284, service and food wonderful. We were also lucky enough to have the most amazement lunch at the newly renovated lodge "the black swan" food 10/10 service 10/10 setting 10/10. We just cannot thank you enough for our wonderful stay with you.

Room Tip: tip - do not stay anywhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Owners Darryn and Brent "GOT IT" when they purchased an old motel in the heart of Rotoruo in 2007.

It took one full year to renovate and refurbish the site and transformed it to a glamorous reminiscence of the past; a 1950's-1960's Retro Hollywood oasis.
Those were the times when traveling was still considered special and hotel guests dressed for special occasions.

The creative owners have brought romance back to travel. They have also managed to make your "home way from home" a nest for luxury and yet nurturing the child within us.
The minute you first walk in to the beautifully adorned lobby the intuitive brilliance of Darryn goes into high gear. He can surmise the needs of each guests and takes action. Although I am an independent, hands on type of person, as a solo traveller, I appreciated a little direction and advice about tours and sites in the Rotoruo area.
Darryn within seconds took action (in an unobtrusive manner) and the following 3 days were filled with activities (including all transit to and from Wai-o-Tapu, Tamaki Maori Village ,and Hells Gate) and appointments, were scheduled for mud wraps, thermal baths and therapeutic massages at the best spas in the region.
I was even given a quick call prior to the Maori evening to remind me to bring a cover because cooler temperatures were forecast . I felt pampered, safe and taken care of.

The Regent has beautifully appointed studios, 1 and 2 bedroom suites. The rooms are designed in a white and black color scheme and every square inch of space has been meticulously thought through. There is plenty of space for your bathroom and office accessories, excellent lighting and there are plenty of electrical outlets for your electronic needs. (internet use is complimentary). This was all ingeniously implemented while staying consistent with the old Hollywood theme .

The dining experience (breakfast, lunch and dinners) was first class. The menu boasts local cuisine and excellent wines and specialty drinks.

The Regent has raised the bar in all area of hotel comfort and all guests appeared extremely content and pleased at this unique establishment.

Room Tip: studios, 1 BDR and BDR suites available
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dwarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We had a great stay in the 2-bedroom unit and the kids were looked after really well by the team. The rooms were both charming and comfortable, and the food in the restaurant was superb. The team at the front desk were busy, but effortlessly managed to look after all the queries from all the guests. After some big days sightseeing (boy, there's a lot to do in Rotorua!) we were happy to return to the hotel and it did feel like our 'home away from home' for the days we were there. Great atmosphere and great staff!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTraveller88984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Having checked out of the Regent only this morning after a two night stay I feel like I have just left home! The Hotel is superb and the staff are truly fantastic especially Brent & Darryn who did a double act while checking us in and ensured out stay in Rotorua would not be dull! Having taken a year off work to travel the world in our 50's we are looking for a certain level of comfort & style and the Regent has it in spadefulls! One housekeeping issue we had was resolved in minutes. Breakfast in the Cafe Triple One Five on the corner was excellent and really good value. If there was a Regent in every town it would be our first choice.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GapYearTraveller63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
185 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#17 of 92 in Rotorua
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#6 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing