We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Regent of Rotorua

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Regent of Rotorua
Ranked #8 of 92 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, great location”
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

We chose The Regent based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. This little hotel is a real gem. The room was very comfortable, and included robes, (always a good feature!) and the black and white decor was fun. Wifi was a bit pricey, (but there's plenty of free wifi in nearby restaurants!) We were only disappointed that we didnt reserve atime slot in their private spa.
The Regent is close to the lake, close to lots of good restaurants, the Government Gardens, and close to a beautiful public park with thermal pools where you could soak your feet in a pool fed by hot springs.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankm2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,028
    284
    57
    13
    2
See reviews for
258
781
52
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012 via mobile

In the heart of rotorua town, this absolutely beautiful and extremely stylish boutique hotel is a must stay. With ever welcoming staff and extremely hospitable receptionist Darryn, I would definitely visit the hotel again next time in Rotorua. Helpful in any situation the guest is in, Darryn is a definite asset for the hotel. Not to forget the central location of the hotel, most of the restaurants in town are just a walk away. A big plus in the hotel is the hot sulphur water bath that is free for the guests to use ! My best stay in new zealand among all the other hotels i stayed in !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shreyatantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

This hotel is really something special. The hotel has been completely renovated and is a real gem in Rotorua, having an excellent location near to the main street running through the centre of town with lots of shops, cafes and restaurants a very short walk away. The beautiful décor (just the right side of camp) with the striking black, white and green colour scheme which runs throughout the whole hotel sets the tone for this unusual, truly boutique hotel.

The rooms are beautifully appointed with lovely little touches which make it just that little bit different. Our room had a comfortable king bed, flat screen TV and two very comfy arm chairs set slightly apart from the bed area, giving the room a very spacious feel. The bathroom was modern with a wonderful monsoon shower over the bath and had a wide range of products provided. Everything was squeaky clean and there was good attention to detail.

The hotel has an outdoor swimming pool, which is apparently heated to 30 degrees, but it did feel colder than that. It was very refreshing when the weather was hot, and there are some comfortable loungers around the pool. The hotel also boasts an indoor hot tub, with mineral water from the town's hot springs. This was amazing, a beautiful 38 degrees or so, but you do have to get used to the smell of sulphur.

We ate breakfast in the hotel every day, although this wasn't included in our stay. This was quite expensive, but everything was beautifully presented and cooked to order, so I can't complain.

As other reviewers have mentioned, one of the key things that made our stay so brilliant was the amazing service provided by Darryn and his team. I don't think I have ever met anyone as keen as Darryn to make sure that you are having the best holiday possible, and I'm sure this is a genuine desire on his part. Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff here, and they all go out of their way to do whatever they can to help with any aspect of your stay. Darryn is exceptional and does deserve special mention - it's worth staying here just to have Darryn look after you!

Room Tip: If you have any issues with walking up a flight of stairs, ask for one on the ground floor as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJaneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camino, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2012

At first glance, it looks like a 1950's double storey motel, and not much more. Au contraire! The place has been completely redone with a funky black and white decor. The room was very nicely appointed, with heated mirrors in the bathroom preventing condensation. The only other place we've seen this is in Tokyo! The bed was very comfortable with feather mattress, quilt and pillows. Room had a small fridge and mini bar with coffee and tea. We were very comfortable here. Many restaurants were walking distance just around the corner.

The staff was exceptional, especially Darryn. He could not have been more helpful and friendly. He provided excellent guidance on local things to do and see. He was a gem.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We were on second floor. No complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearview3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

My husband and I and our two sons, 20 and 22, spent two nights at this lovely hotel. We enjoyed every minute. It is conveniently located and the rooms are spacious with beautiful furnishings. We stayed in the new section in adjoining rooms. Every staff member was friendly and professional, but Darryn was exceptional. He gave us tips on many activities and made us feel like honored and welcome guests in his home.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Darryn and his staff were absolutely amazing. They were all friendly and Darryn could not have been more helpful. He helped us plan a truly memorable trip and when one tour provider said no, it only made him more determined to make sure that we had the experiences we wanted. He organised everything for us and made it so easy. Beautiful clean suite, everything we needed and smiles and greetings every time we passed reception. The restaurant has beautiful food - and you can have it in room if like us you are too dishevelled and lazy to go down for dinner. Would definitely recommend and will stay again next time we're in Rotorua.

Room Tip: We had the executive 2 bedroom 2 bathroom suite which was great for parents and kids with plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

This hotel was a bit of a pleasant surprise, due to its older 'motel' style exterior, but internally the rooms and public areas were excellent and very clean. The decoration style of the public rooms was a little 'over-the-top' for our tastes but we enjoyed our short stay, especially the bedroom which was very well appointed and very comfortable. The price we paid via Trailfinders was good value considering the centre of town location and quality of the room.
We didnt eat at the Hotel as we wanted to walk around the local restaurants. We saw only one other couple eating in the hotel restaurant, whilst many of the local eateries were jammed full. Breakfast wasn't included in our pre-paid voucher for the hotel, so we also eat breakfast in town. Typically of many hotels in NZ breakfast isn't included in the room price and seemed rather expensive by UK standards.
We only stayed at this hotel for one night, but overall we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to tour the town and vist the local museum plus volcanic tourist spots. The lake is also a short walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulty climbing stairs or need help with baggage, I would suggest you ask for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wickens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.3 mi away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
689 reviews
1.3 mi away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.1 mi away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
0.2 mi away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
149 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#18 of 92 in Rotorua
820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent of Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent of Rotorua

Property: Regent of Rotorua
Address: 1191 Pukaki Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Family Hotel in Rotorua
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Regent of Rotorua 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Regent of Rotorua Boutique Hotel redefines modern hospitality with a visionary blend of classic design, luxurious facilities and bespoke service. Our philosophy is to marry personalized, intuitive service with divine rooms and suites, stunning surroundings and a smart, relaxed atmosphere. Perfectly located in the heart of Rotorua within walking distance of the eating & shopping precinct, the lakefront, government gardens and the convention centres. The Hotel offers 35 guest rooms, restaurant & bar, outdoor heated pool, natural mineral pool, mini gym, spa services, meeting rooms, unlimited free WiFi & laundry services. Our award winning restaurant can cater for up to 70 guests banquet style and meetings can be held in a choice of 3 rooms from 21sqm up to 200sqm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Regent of Rotorua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Of Rotorua Hotel Rotorua
Regent Rotorua
Rotorua Regent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing