We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regent of Rotorua
Nearby Hotels
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$191
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Arista of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Prince's Gate Hotel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$558
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$470
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$138
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$118
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedarwood Lakeside(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,582)
Filter reviews
1,583 results
Traveller rating
1,157
336
74
13
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,157
336
74
13
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsboutique hoteleat streetmonsoon showergreat boutiquenew zealandbedroom suiterestaurants and barswithin walking distancemineral poolthe location is perfectoutdoor poolpolynesian spastayed one nightstreatlakenzrobes
Filter
Updating list...
1,046 - 1,051 of 1,583 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The service at this property was outstanding. The owner/manager couldn't have been more accommodating. He booked us on a tour, which we would've have missed if not for his help, upon arrival. He also upgraded us to a room that better suited our family's needs, however upon check out I discovered that I was charged for the upgrade.

This property is advertised as a Boutique Hotel, but in actuality it is little more than a refurbished motor lodge, with parking just outside the door to your room. The rooms, while lavishly (gaudily) appointed, were very cramped, dank, and poorly ventilated, not worth the nearly $200 a night rate. Breakfast was very good, but not included in the room fee and was very expensive.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
8  Thank EHock180A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The smell of the Hot springs is all over the town but you are getting used to it. The Regent is located in the center of the town. Small and very friendly hotel with good service. We stayed in a small suit which was basically a large room divided into two small rooms with too many furnitures which were not practical ( too small two coffee table Instead of one medium size that can be used by two people. ) The kitchenette was only partly equipped . It is more of a combination of a motel and hotel with parking near the room. They have five stars by the NZ tourist authority. I have a different opinion.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Ran G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

This is a most welcoming hotel. The food is very good. However, breakfast is cooked to order - very high quality but there is not the normal range of buffet items that you get in most hotels. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have just stayed in this fabulous boutique hotel in Rotorua - really personal service, gorgeous decor - dreamy sheets, superb gourmet dining, and the best breakfasts ever. The service was second to none, they really make you welcome and nothing too much trouble. Looking for a fault, thicker loo paper please and upgrade the hotel info presentation in the rooms to properly reflect one of the best hotels I have stayed in for years.Thanks.

Room Tip: upstairs was super quiet
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pippabray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Great position - rooms are well refurbished - and as long as you do not have any complaints, the service is OK. As soon as you may have a problem - it is handled courteously, but nothing is done to alleviate the problem.

Room Tip: Make sure the bed is OK!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Stephan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
w2london, General Manager at Regent of Rotorua, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2013

Thanks so much for your review. We appreciate your time. My team and I strive to look after each of our guests to the best of our ability and to deliver the best possible experience during their stay in Rotorua, so you can imagine we are very disappointed to be rated so low on service and that your perception was we did not act upon your feedback when received.

The review does not state the exact nature of the source of complaint, but does mention beds in the room tips. We have checked our front desk diary for March and found just one bed related entry where guests found our normally much complimented cloud beds a little too soft, and a guest request made to turn the mattresses over. This we can confirm was indeed actioned by our Housekeeping staff on the same day as requested by the guest and in fact (as we always try to do) Housekeeping went further to assist by removing the comforter and replacing it with a firmer one.

We may be guilty of not disturbing the guests to report their request was actioned, but we did what we could and as soon as it was requested, plus the Housekeeping staff even tried a little more in an effort to make the clients experience a good one.

We appreciate the positive comments on the room and location and again just sorry that you felt we did not deliver on the service front during your stay with us. We really did try, and our team are very sorry to have received such a harsh grade as we do strive to deliver the best experience for our guests.

The Regent of Rotorua team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews